Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 14:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
HardInfo, system information
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 21:31    Post_subject:  

one other tiny thing for acidx.

when i generate a report and click on it in ROX the report won't open because of the space in the file name. perhaps you would consider changing the default name to 'hardinfo_report.html'?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 06:43    Post_subject:  

John Doe wrote:
when i generate a report and click on it in ROX the report won't open because of the space in the file name. perhaps you would consider changing the default name to 'hardinfo_report.html'?


That should probably be fixed in Rox... maybe the way the run action is set.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 07:46    Post_subject:  

Dougal wrote:
John Doe wrote:
when i generate a report and click on it in ROX the report won't open because of the space in the file name. perhaps you would consider changing the default name to 'hardinfo_report.html'?


That should probably be fixed in Rox... maybe the way the run action is set.

I've got exactly the same result as John Doe and my mime-type is set properly in Rox. If I remove the space in the file name Rox recognises the correct mime-type and I can open in a browser. Otherwise it just treats the file as plain text and opens it in the defaulttexteditor (geany). I'm using Rox 2.6.1 and Puppy 2.16 on this occasion.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 08:59    Post_subject:  

muggins wrote:
i compiled without library soup, upx'ed the executable & pngcrushed any .png files. i've just run it for the first time using pup2.17 & got the Segmentation fault error. it seems to work OK with 2.16.

I can also confirm that the problem is specific to Puppy 2.17 and only occurs when there is a USB device found.

I tried it without my USB stick and no problems.

I tried with my USB stick, both mounted and unmounted and the application segfaulted on selecting Storage category.

Removed the USB stick and the application ran normally again.

Hope that helps guys.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 15:01    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
I've got exactly the same result as John Doe and my mime-type is set properly in Rox. If I remove the space in the file name Rox recognises the correct mime-type and I can open in a browser.


I meant the type of quoting/params used.
Maybe
Code:
exec defaulttexteditor "$*"
or something should be used.
_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11125
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 16:35    Post_subject:  

I installed it and clicked every choice without any freezes, although the pause while the benchmarks are calculated might be mistaken for one. Smile

The info displayed, in the PCI device pane for instance, is sometimes so cryptic as to be useless (to me at any rate.) Perhaps there could be included in each pane a link to a place that tells what the codes mean.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 20:04    Post_subject:  

Dougal wrote:
I meant the type of quoting/params used.
Maybe
Code:
exec defaulttexteditor "$*"
or something should be used.


thanks Dougal. i tried that in both

/root/Choices/MIME-types/text_html
and
/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser

i'm toying with mozstart now:

Code:
# mozstart test test.html
test test.html
file://test test.html
Error: Failed to send command: 500 command not parseable
#
# mozstart test_test.html
test_test.html
file://test_test.html
#
# mozstart test%25test.html
test%25test.html
file://test%25test.html
#


The variable needs URL encoded. I'm working it out now. Just can't get this perl to pipe into a shell variable:

Code:
echo 'Text to be encoded /*$$[]' | perl -MURI::Escape -lne 'print uri_escape($_)'
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 20:30    Post_subject:  

got it:

in mozstart change
Code:
COMTAIL="$@"

to
Code:
COMTAIL="`echo "$@" | perl -MURI::Escape -lne 'print uri_escape($_)' | sed 's/%2F/\//g' | sed 's/%3A/\:/g'`"


also @ Barry, double check

/root/Choices/MIME-types/text_html
and
/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser

i think the first one had "$1" instead of "$@", that will need changed.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2007, 21:11    Post_subject:  

for anyone that grabbed this right away. i tacked 'sed' on the end, 30 minutes later, for it to "really work".

i get jumpy posting code sometimes Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
acidx

Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2007, 10:31    Post_subject:  

John Doe wrote:
1-if a node is selected and it's parent node is collapsed one is unable to switch to another node.


Confirmed here.

John Doe wrote:
2-Computer->Operating System->Current Session->Desktop Environment (Specifically the "WindowManager" part)

works under JWM but under ICEWM nothing shows up.


Some window managers won't set their names, so that gdk_x11_screen_get_window_manager_name() will return them. If it's unknown, this function will return "unknown" (which probably happens under IceWM).

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
acidx

Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2007, 10:35    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
The info displayed, in the PCI device pane for instance, is sometimes so cryptic as to be useless (to me at any rate.) Perhaps there could be included in each pane a link to a place that tells what the codes mean.


This is because lspci in Puppy does not contain the database files (for space reasons), which are required to convert those cryptic numbers to text like "Ethernet Controller" or "FooTek 9182 Plus".

Since lspci allows one to specify the database, I might include one in hardinfo (and make it up datable, as the benchmarks currently are). Or even better, use libpci directly...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2007, 11:21    Post_subject:  

scanpci also uses a shared library with the database in it:

# ldd /usr/X11R7/bin/scanpci
linux-gate.so.1 => (0xffffe000)
libscanpci.so => /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/libscanpci.so (0xb7ecf000)
libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb7eaa000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb7d9e000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7f91000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
acidx

Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2007, 15:09    Post_subject:  

BarryK, the problem with scanpci is that it requires root privileges.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
acidx

Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2007, 15:40    Post_subject:  

John Doe wrote:
1-if a node is selected and it's parent node is collapsed one is unable to switch to another node.


Fixed in subversion revision 155.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1472
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 10:39    Post_subject: Hardinfo crashed pc  

Hardinfo crashes Precise 5.7.1 with kernel 3.9.11pae on my desktop pc with nvidia display if the default driver chosen by xorgwizard is used - nouveau.

Hardinfo also crashes Slacko 5.6.5.2 with kernel 3.10.21

Slacko 5.6 with kernel 3.4.52 does not crash

If the modesetting driver is chosen it doesn't crash

Quote:
Vendor : NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer : GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a/integrated/SSE2/3DNOW

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0939s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]