Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 07:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Wbar: a fancy launchbar (using Imlib2)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 00:15    Post_subject:  

@Prit1: These options are really terrific!! I never would've given it a second thought that wbar could've done all these fabulous things until I read the above post by you and then saw your fantastic screenie in the screenshot thread. Truly remarkable! Cool

Thanks so very much for posting all of the above per my request in the other thread---I really appreciate this more than you'll ever know. I've been really thankful for having wbar as it's made my computer work a lot easier for me. Now with these settings? Far more stunning as well.

Thank you once again Prit1!

Amicalement/In Friendship,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 01:18    Post_subject:  

@Eyes-only:

Am glad this helps you. Even I really love the wbar. Thanks should go to the folks on this thread who revealed this application and provided all the required information.

The only thing I am yet to make out is how to make wbar appear automatically on startup. Right now, I have to click on the desktop for the wbar to appear.

Anyone knows how to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 02:16    Post_subject:  

prit1 wrote:
@Eyes-only:

Am glad this helps you. Even I really love the wbar. Thanks should go to the folks on this thread who revealed this application and provided all the required information.

The only thing I am yet to make out is how to make wbar appear automatically on startup. Right now, I have to click on the desktop for the wbar to appear.

Anyone knows how to do this?


Hi Prit1,I had it working in icewm by placing these lines


<Swallow name="wbar">
wbar -pos top &
</Swallow>

in the /root/.icewm/startup about mid way and worked for me that way
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 11:11    Post_subject:  

Thanks Ttuuxxx. I will try this. If I remember, I was trying to use the startup script and it kept hanging my system. I will try again. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 17:13    Post_subject:  

Hi Prit1,

In all of my "starticewm" files (I have 5 distros installed and use IceWM on each) in "/usr/bin" I have the following line now placed in the coding:

Code:
sleep 1 ; wbar -above-desk -bpress -balfa 0 &


...and wbar starts up just fine. You may want to add the "-pos top" parameter in there somewhere though if you want wbar on top. I run mine on the bottom as I have a "fake gnome-look" to my IceWM in most cases.

Depending upon your processor speed as well you may want to change the "sleep" parameter to make it either 2 or 3, depending upon whether wbar gives you just an iconic menu, or comes up in a windowed background. You'll see what I mean I think. Wink

I start wbar this way in about all of my window managers or desktop environments (I run a lot of different ones), along with a lot of other programmes that run for me in the background, like conky, numlockx, ROX pinboard/desktop (when outside of Puppy), etc.

I hope this has helped?

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 17:30    Post_subject:  

@Eyes-only: I will give this a try. Is this the same in JWM also? I understand the wbar commands and options, but just the location of where it should be invoked from.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 18:06    Post_subject:  

Hi Prit1,

Well... unfortunately in Puppy there's no real "startjwm" file. Sad Myself, I seldom ever use JWM, instead preferring IceWM, KDE, or Fluxbox over JWM anyday.

Now in Puppy, unlike most other distros which install and use JWM, Barry has placed the window manager in "/usr/X11R7/bin/" it would seem (someone correct me if I'm wrong, please?), so it would be a case of going in there and making a simplified "startjwm" file which points to JWM which holds all these start up commands that you have.

If you do this, however, then you'd have to remember that the way to restart JWM would no longer be "xwin JWM" but instead "xwin startjwm", see what I mean Prit1?

So someone else here must have an easier way as I'm known for taking the "most unconventional route" whenever I do something. Sad But then and again, I work with a lot of other distros besides Puppy which I fix over for my own use as well and this is basically how I have the "startjwm" on my other distros.

Sorry if I'm now not much help and have compounded and confused the issue.

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 18:12    Post_subject:  

Here Prit, this is an example (and for anyone else who's interested) of what I have in my "startjwm" file in Linux Mint Daryna 4.0. This file is found in "/usr/bin" and after being made is set to "executable" as it's a script file:

Code:

#!/bin/bash
#File made by Eyes-Only as a hack to start screensaver, numberlock, and lefthanded mouse in Linux Mint.
#November 27, 2007

if [ -f /root/.xset.sh ];then
 #this is created by /usr/bin/gxsetshell...
 eval "/root/.xset.sh"
fi

rox -p /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROXdesktop

numlockx &
southpaw &
conky &
wbar -above-desk -pos top -bpress -balfa 0 &

exec /usr/bin/jwm


Of course, to those who've coded for Puppy some of that will look mightily familiar. But Puppy is where I teethed. LOL!

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 18:16    Post_subject:  

@Eyes-only.

When I was using -above-desk as a wbar option in JWM, I get WBAR on the task list. To remove this I stopped using this option.

Dont you see this on your task list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 19:18    Post_subject:  

Sorry it took me a bit to reply here as I was off in another section and forgot I had email Prit. Embarassed

It's been awhile since I've used JWM so I'm trying to think... I've never used wbar in Puppy with JWM so I couldn't say, I only use it with IceWM, KDE, and Fluxbox in Puppy, sorry.

Seems so the last time I used it in Linux Mint I didn't get wbar showing on the taskbar---but I DID get conky showing there, which perplexed the life out of me because I have the taskbar setting turned off in the conky configuration file like Pizza showed a long time ago. But no, I don't seem to recall wbar showing in Linux Mint. Of course, we're comparing two different distros here, so just because it didn't show in Mint doesn't mean it shouldn't show in Puppy and need yet another way to be hidden, see what I mean? (Phew! My English is bad tonight I think!)

I hope this somehow helped?

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2008, 15:58    Post_subject:  

i installed a version from gslapt it comes with
very nice icons
it works fine and i put it into MU -autostart programm
the only thing i don't like that wbar starts before backgruond is set
so it has black background
is there a way to avoid this?

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2009
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2008, 16:11    Post_subject:  

you can always start it from .xinitrc right before
#exec $CURRENTWM

mine:
Code:
sleep 3 ; wbar -above-desk -pos top -balfa 0 &
sleep 3 ; /usr/local/bin/remind &
#exec $CURRENTWM
#v2.11 GuestToo suggested this improvement...
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
exec jwm

###END###

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Meshica7


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2008, 20:45    Post_subject:  

Hello folks!

Please excuse my lack of Linux knowledge,but I would like to get the bar running on my machine and have not a clue on how to start it.I downloaded the tar and extracted it to my documents folder but have no idea of how to start the program! A walk through would be greatley appreciated. Very Happy

Thanx!

Juan
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2008, 16:56    Post_subject:  

Made wbar into a .pet package (overwrites any .wbar in /root , so backup if you dont.)
Needs imlib2 to work.

wbar-1.3.3.pet
md5sum

imlib2-1.4.1.pet
md5sum

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Mon 05 May 2008, 16:37    Post_subject:  

Wow! This is GREAT Wolfpup! Thanks for making this a lot easier for many of us! Thumbs up!


Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0917s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0100s) ][ GZIP on ]