Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 01:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy 2.17alpha available
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 8 [108 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:25    Post subject:  

I made an encrypted (heavy) copy of my pup_save using my convert-pupsave utility and called it pup_save_crypt217A.2fs. When I tried booting this with 2.16.1, it booted fine (except for some reason my desktop icons were scrambled, not sure why). But when I tried to boot it with 2.17A, I could never get past the password prompt. In other words it always thinks I'm giving it the wrong password, even if it is the same one I gave booting with 2.16.1. So it appears something is broken there.

I checked to make sure no caps lock or anything stupid like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:36    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
1) On boot Puppy loads the rt73 module for my rt2570 usb wifi stick.

2) The bcm43xx wifi module doesn't work. Did work in 2.16.

kirk,
could you run
# lspci -m -n
Yes, I have given rt73 first-go at loading. Need to find out the exceptions to load rt2570 instead.

I have no idea what to do about the bcm43xx module. Use Ndiswrapper Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1401
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:40    Post subject:  

cb88,

Both of yours card will support 3d. The nvidia card you've got your monitor hooked up to (good choice) will need the nvidia driver :

http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_display_ia32_100.14.11.html


Also I think MU may have posted a biniary, search the forum, or use the installer from nvidia. For the driver from nvidia you'll need the devx file and run it without X running.


If you want to use the 945gm, see :

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14690


Guess you could use both.

SIDE NOTE:

epdfview Looks promising, printing from it is better. But with large PDFs it's real slow. It doesn't seem to cache any thing. So if you go foward a page and wait for the "Loading" to finish then go back to the same page you have to wait again. Also, it has no menu entry.

I agree with cb88 about using gxine for mp3s. With snack you have to kill it to stop the mp3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:45    Post subject:  

zygo wrote:
I'm online with 217 alpha live cd entirely in RAM. No HD. No pup_save. I had to use an old wvdial.conf with these lines:
Quote:
Modem = /dev/ttyS0
Baud = 115200
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 S11=55 +FCLASS=0

The original had 'Modem = ttyS0' so no modem found. It also had a smaller Baud value. wvdial gave a warning about mine being incompatible but it did connect me. The original just hung after dialing. I think it was because int string 2 was wrong. Sadly, I've overwritten the original file. Really I should test further -- it only failed once.

Another problem I've just noticed is a blast from the past. The copied item seems to be forgotten when the application it was copied from is closed. I needed to keep geany open to make pasting my quote into this forum work.

passwd no longer causes a segmentation fault. I've yet to try printing.

'Modem = ttyS0' -- that's strange, I thought that I had fixed that bug. Maybe with all the messing around, it got unfixed. Anyone else testing PupDial, make sure that line has the '/dev/' in front -- check /etc/wvdial.conf before starting PupDial -- and let me know if it's wrong.

Regarding lost clipboard info, I think it was Glipper that kept it persistent, but I had to get rid of Glipper.

Yes, 2.17exp1 used unionfs2 which caused crashes. I see from the unionfs mail list that some else has reported the same problm with the latest patch, so I'm not bothering, just using aufs.

....hmm, I wonder. Even if you boot with pfix=ram, perhaps Puppy is finding an old pup_217.sfs and zdrv_217.sfs left over on the hard drive and using that. Shouldn't do but I'm not 100% certain about that. So make sure those files are absent.

Last edited by BarryK on Mon 09 Jul 2007, 22:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:50    Post subject: Re: Puppy 2.17 alpha
Subject description: First tests
 

Firefox wrote:
Downloaded 217alpha and used standard burn - no multisession.

Upon booting from it using pfix=ram the desktop showed the contents of the dillo file and then the dillo box came up with its contents, two for the price of one.

Pressed connect and it found my modem on serial cable connected ok then booted Seamonkey. Typed www.puppyos.com and pressed return, site not found, pressed again, same thing but the modem went down and redialled itself.
I then installed my standby wvdial153 and gnome-ppp, everything webwise now ok.
WHY isnt this standard?.

Decided to install frugal (co-exist) for a change on hda1 as i`d got a lot of puppy files on hda2 and 13meg space to fill.
Went through the install proceedures putting grub on MBR. Up came Kernel panic not synching no init found.

Booted up with 2.12 disc had a look at grub menu 1st. I`d got 3 lists of puppy on my hd? two for hda1 and one for the files on hda2. edited the files to find only puppy 2.17 on hd0,0.
Rebooted -same thing kernel panic.

Decided to do a full install on hda1. cleaned disk and mbr and formated to ext3
then installed full install. Screen/desktop came up normal - no dillo file but modem connect same problem, cant get through to websites even though modem appears to be running and every second click on url it redials.
Tried cups but no printer setup for hp710c printer so no good for me,
havn`t tried listening to radio streaming media so I suspect that wont be set up either.

Firefox, you have not followed the heavily emphasised instructions for testing this alpha.
There is no Dillo in 2.17alpha, you must be using a previous pup_217.sfs file and/or a preexisting pup_save file. Booting with 'puppy pfix=ram' should fix this. Also get rid of any preexisting pup_217.sfs and zdrv_217.sfs file on the hard drive.

...but perhaps you have followed instructions, by using 'puppy pfix=ram'. In that case, it seems that Puppy is still finding an using the 'pup_217.sfs' that 2.17exp1 left behind on the hard drive. Get rid of that, and zdrv_217.sfs and try again.

Last edited by BarryK on Mon 09 Jul 2007, 22:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:52    Post subject:  

FYI I tried the same as the above just using a straight copy in Rox of the pupsave. Same effect, won't accept password in 2.17A, minor problem of scrambled icons in 2.16.1. Confused

I did an md5sum of the downloaded file OK. Is there a way to check the md5sum against a burned CD just to make sure the burn went all right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 21:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
epdfview Looks promising, printing from it is better. But with large PDFs it's real slow. It doesn't seem to cache any thing. So if you go foward a page and wait for the "Loading" to finish then go back to the same page you have to wait again. Also, it has no menu entry.

kirk, would you mind going to the epdfview site and provide this feedback? I have received an email from the author and he has seen what we are doing and has expressed an interest in improving epdfview. For a start, he has stated that he will look into supporting Postscript (we currently open a Postscript file in epdview by piping it through 'ps2pdf'.
I'm sure that he could also figure out a bit of caching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 22:01    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
I did an md5sum of the downloaded file OK. Is there a way to check the md5sum against a burned CD just to make sure the burn went all right?

The 'burniso2cd' program has a md5sum option to check the burn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 22:04    Post subject:  

Er, it looks like I didn't follow instructions either. I took the concern about the pupsaves to be that the pupsave might be trashed (therefore it should be backed up), rather than that I shouldn't use an existing pupsave. What's up with that? Why can't we use a pupsave?

I guess I will play with it booted to ram for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 22:09    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
Er, it looks like I didn't follow instructions either. I took the concern about the pupsaves to be that the pupsave might be trashed (therefore it should be backed up), rather than that I shouldn't use an existing pupsave. What's up with that? Why can't we use a pupsave?

I guess I will play with it booted to ram for now.

Well, I'm just bein cautious for now. The main problem is the pup_217.sfs and zdrv_217.sfs left over from testing 2.17exp1. You have to make sure they re gone from your hard drive, otherwise they will totally screw things up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 22:45    Post subject:  

I never tried 217exp1 so don't have those files. BTW my machine is a Thinkpad A21m, a fairly old laptop.

I tried pfix=ram, these are the snags I noticed:

1) the country selection - USA has several lines. Are you trying to pick up the time zones as well as the country, with one selection? Some of the USA zones are not "standard", for example USA-Indiana-east, or whatever that was. The 48 states have eastern, central, mountain and pacific for the time zones IIRC.

2) I selected xvesa as I always do with pfix=ram. It seemed to jump around a lot longer than it used to in earlier revisions, and if you click too soon your selection, it hangs. Mouse cursor still moves but I can't click anything on the screen any more.

3) As someone already noted, you get two welcomes. I'd dump the desktop one, which is missing stuff at the bottom anyway. I like a desktop to be a desktop, with no graffiti scribbled on it. Smile

4) I tried to set up the printer from the setup icon on the desktop; it first printed out something about "usage for xdialog" and then stumbled through the script without having made a selection. Just noticed if I invoke it from the menu button it works better (woops, that is in 2.16.1, I have to reboot and check).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1401
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 22:55    Post subject:  

Just to confirm what Paul posted. Encrypted pup_save files won't mount when booting. I made an encrypted pup_save in 217a and rebooted. Wouldn't take my password. Booted another save file. And was able to mount the encrypted pup_save from command line. Also mounted using the losetup and mount commands from /initrd/bin.

Got to sleep and then work Sad

Also, The Clock is an hour off. If the keyboard selection is also setting the time zone, we have daylight savings time. Never had to set the time before though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 23:29    Post subject:  

5) I wonder if it is possible to integrate the CUPs thing into the old Puppy printer setup. Or at least, in the old printer setup, suggest to the user that CUPs be tried if no satisfaction was gotten with the older printer setup. That way people won't get too confused that there are two ways to set up the printer.

6) I have a Canon pixma ip1700 printer. The website pointed at by the CUPS setup suggests using the ip2200 driver, and points me to the Canon site. It also mentions getting a ppd file. I found no ppd file there, nor a driver. The Canon site had a download package of rpm files. So my first brush with CUPS makes me want to just drop the idea of printing in linux, and go back to "sneakernet", printing on my wife's Windows machine. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2007, 23:50    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
So my first brush with CUPS makes me want to just drop the idea of printing in linux, and go back to "sneakernet", printing on my wife's Windows machine. Rolling Eyes


I have yet to get a very vanilla Canon BJC-2010 to print from Puppy, though I'm sure other flavors of Linux would fare just as poorly. Ongoing problems with printers, wifi and stubborn (read as Redmond-loyal) peripheral manufacturers stifles the adoption of Linux as a serious desktop tool by many potential users.

-aj

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2134
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2007, 02:16    Post subject:  

2.17A won't boot in Virtualbox 1.4, stopping at "creating unionfs...".
Boots ok in VMWare and Qemu. I have yet to try it on bare hardware.

EDIT: trying to do frugal install (co-exist) with the universal installer also higlights the same bug that exist in 2.16.1, namely:
1. kernel line points the root to /dev/hda1 instead of /dev/ram0
2. there is an extra "ro" parameter, what's it for?
2. initrd line is missing
see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=126165#126165

If this is not corrected, it will cause kernel panic upon rebooting if it's not fixed.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 [108 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0987s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]