Tabbed Pmount

Stuff that has yet to be sorted into a category.
Message
Author
User avatar
tahaselim
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri 29 Jun 2007, 08:29
Location: Ankara, Turkey

#31 Post by tahaselim »

Having a rox button to view the files is a good idea,
but the tabs are what I have problems with.

there Must be a way of defining a default tab, recording the tab number as the default while mounting a partition would solve the issue.

But that's easier said than done :wink:

Taha Selim

User avatar
Dougal
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 13:06
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

#32 Post by Dougal »

tahaselim wrote:there Must be a way of defining a default tab, recording the tab number as the default while mounting a partition would solve the issue.
I'll have another look at the gtkdialog examples, but as far as I know there's no option of a default tab.
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

Re: Pmount3

#33 Post by WhoDo »

Dougal wrote:As for the Rox button, Pmount used to not have that, instead opening Rox automatically when the partition was mounted. This seems to have changed at some stage...
Yep. I requested that change way back, so that you didn't have to umount/mount to get a Rox window open in the event you closed it while the partition was still mounted. This was considered a usability feature for Window$ refugees who had enough trouble understanding the whole mount/umount process, much less finding the mounted partition contents in Rox.
[i]Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't![/i]
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com

User avatar
Dougal
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 13:06
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

Re: Pmount3

#34 Post by Dougal »

WhoDo wrote:I requested that change way back, so that you didn't have to umount/mount to get a Rox window open in the event you closed it while the partition was still mounted. This was considered a usability feature for Window$ refugees who had enough trouble understanding the whole mount/umount process, much less finding the mounted partition contents in Rox.
But that was one stage back, when there was a Rob button and the window opened automatically, wasn't it?

The problem now is that rox only opens from that button.

I looked again and there doesn't seem to be a way of selecting a tab in gtkdialog.
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

User avatar
tahaselim
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri 29 Jun 2007, 08:29
Location: Ankara, Turkey

Re: Pmount3

#35 Post by tahaselim »

Dougal wrote: But that was one stage back, when there was a Rob button and the window opened automatically, wasn't it?

The problem now is that rox only opens from that button.

I looked again and there doesn't seem to be a way of selecting a tab in gtkdialog.
Dougal what do you think if we gather every secondary storage device in the first tab and show HD's in the second or third tab.

First tab will include : Cdrom-Dvd, and USB (maybe Floppy, I doubt if somebody still uses one)

Second Tab : HDD drives

etc.

I know this time mounting HDD's will be a problem but its more likely that a user would like to mount a CD or a flash disk and view the contents than mounting HDD every now and then.

Taha Selim

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#36 Post by zigbert »

It is possible to select which tab to show, with changing the content of the left (first) tab. You have to make a dynamic gtkdialog-code, where each tab-code is a variable or textfile. Then do a loop before export gtkdialog, which define which device (gtkdialog-code) should be loaded first.

Code: Select all

DEVICES="hda hdc sda" #or whatever
#...
echo -e "\c" > /tmp/pmount-gtkdialog
for I in $DEVICES; do
  echo "<vbox>...gtkdialog-code...</vbox>" >> /tmp/pmount-gtkdialog
done
GTK_CODE=`cat /tmp/pmount-gtkdialog`

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#37 Post by zigbert »

Some more flesh on the bone.

Get the active device first in the devicelist, and then the earlier described loop:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash
ACTIVE_DEVICE="sda" #or whatever
DEVICES=`probedisk | cut -d "|" -f 1 | cut -d "/" -f 3 | sed -e "s/$ACTIVE_DEVICE//g"`
#...
echo -e "\c" > /tmp/pmount-tabs
echo -e "\c" > /tmp/pmount-tabs_code
for I in `echo "$ACTIVE_DEVICE $DEVICES"`; do
  echo "|$I" >> /tmp/pmount-tabs
  echo "<vbox>$I</vbox>" >> /tmp/pmount-tabs_code
done
TABS=`cat /tmp/pmount-tabs`
TABS_CODE=`cat /tmp/pmount-tabs_code`
echo "$TABS

Code: Select all

sda| hdc| hda| sdb| scd0|
echo "$TABS_CODE":

Code: Select all

<vbox>sda</vbox>
<vbox>hdc</vbox>
<vbox>hda</vbox>
<vbox>sdb</vbox>
<vbox>scd0</vbox>
Sigmund

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#38 Post by sunburnt »

This is just a comment on the state of "GTKdialog".
From the creator of GTKdialog:
GTKdialog is a very bad program that I wrote.
I agree... Unfortunately it's the only small Linux GUI builder I've seen.
Most of the other GUI builder "languages" I've seen are rather heavy weight,
or are part of a complete programming language (many fit this profile).

It'd be really nice to have a replacement for GTKdialog that's "consistant".
It'd be able to position the control objects on the window.
And it'd have a common syntax: "VisualBasic" style.
So command syntax would look like this:

list.var = FILES
list.in = /path/file
list.width = 200
list.height = 300

button.label = Do SomeThing
button.icon = pix.png
button.action = ./appExe (function) . . .
button.refresh = $FILES

I know I'm just pipe dreaming here, but we can dream...

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

Re: Pmount3

#39 Post by WhoDo »

Dougal wrote:But that was one stage back, when there was a Rob button and the window opened automatically, wasn't it?

The problem now is that rox only opens from that button.
Ah, I see. A Rox window opens on mounting, and the Rox button is only there after mounting, in case you closed that window and needed to reopen it without mounting/umounting. That is still the case in the untabbed Pmount on my 2.16 system. The change you mention must have happened after that.
[i]Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't![/i]
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#40 Post by BarryK »

Gtkdialog does allow a default radiobutton, but I don't know about anything else.

I'm not happy with a tabbed interface that, after mounting a partition, then hides the partition under another tab. That makes extra work, have to click the tab to bring it back into view.

The reason I changed it so that ROX does not immediately open, is someone requested it should be that way for consistency with MUT. I don't recall who or when, I just had the note in my notebook. And I agreed that MUT and Pmount should behave in a consistent fashion.

As to rearranging the order of tabs so that the last-used one is at the left,
I don't like that. It's moving in the direction of Microsoft's auto-adjusting menus, which I hate. The brain works by recognising patterns.

Post Reply