Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 19:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Tabbed Pmount
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
tahaselim


Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Ankara, Turkey

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2007, 08:01    Post_subject:  

Having a rox button to view the files is a good idea,
but the tabs are what I have problems with.

there Must be a way of defining a default tab, recording the tab number as the default while mounting a partition would solve the issue.

But that's easier said than done Wink

Taha Selim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2007, 15:03    Post_subject:  

tahaselim wrote:
there Must be a way of defining a default tab, recording the tab number as the default while mounting a partition would solve the issue.


I'll have another look at the gtkdialog examples, but as far as I know there's no option of a default tab.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2007, 20:07    Post_subject: Re: Pmount3  

Dougal wrote:
As for the Rox button, Pmount used to not have that, instead opening Rox automatically when the partition was mounted. This seems to have changed at some stage...

Yep. I requested that change way back, so that you didn't have to umount/mount to get a Rox window open in the event you closed it while the partition was still mounted. This was considered a usability feature for Window$ refugees who had enough trouble understanding the whole mount/umount process, much less finding the mounted partition contents in Rox.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 06:30    Post_subject: Re: Pmount3  

WhoDo wrote:
I requested that change way back, so that you didn't have to umount/mount to get a Rox window open in the event you closed it while the partition was still mounted. This was considered a usability feature for Window$ refugees who had enough trouble understanding the whole mount/umount process, much less finding the mounted partition contents in Rox.


But that was one stage back, when there was a Rob button and the window opened automatically, wasn't it?

The problem now is that rox only opens from that button.

I looked again and there doesn't seem to be a way of selecting a tab in gtkdialog.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tahaselim


Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Ankara, Turkey

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 07:51    Post_subject: Re: Pmount3  

Dougal wrote:

But that was one stage back, when there was a Rob button and the window opened automatically, wasn't it?

The problem now is that rox only opens from that button.

I looked again and there doesn't seem to be a way of selecting a tab in gtkdialog.


Dougal what do you think if we gather every secondary storage device in the first tab and show HD's in the second or third tab.

First tab will include : Cdrom-Dvd, and USB (maybe Floppy, I doubt if somebody still uses one)

Second Tab : HDD drives

etc.

I know this time mounting HDD's will be a problem but its more likely that a user would like to mount a CD or a flash disk and view the contents than mounting HDD every now and then.

Taha Selim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 09:45    Post_subject:  

It is possible to select which tab to show, with changing the content of the left (first) tab. You have to make a dynamic gtkdialog-code, where each tab-code is a variable or textfile. Then do a loop before export gtkdialog, which define which device (gtkdialog-code) should be loaded first.

Code:
DEVICES="hda hdc sda" #or whatever
#...
echo -e "\c" > /tmp/pmount-gtkdialog
for I in $DEVICES; do
  echo "<vbox>...gtkdialog-code...</vbox>" >> /tmp/pmount-gtkdialog
done
GTK_CODE=`cat /tmp/pmount-gtkdialog`
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 16:01    Post_subject:  

Some more flesh on the bone.

Get the active device first in the devicelist, and then the earlier described loop:

Code:
#! /bin/bash
ACTIVE_DEVICE="sda" #or whatever
DEVICES=`probedisk | cut -d "|" -f 1 | cut -d "/" -f 3 | sed -e "s/$ACTIVE_DEVICE//g"`
#...
echo -e "\c" > /tmp/pmount-tabs
echo -e "\c" > /tmp/pmount-tabs_code
for I in `echo "$ACTIVE_DEVICE $DEVICES"`; do
  echo "|$I" >> /tmp/pmount-tabs
  echo "<vbox>$I</vbox>" >> /tmp/pmount-tabs_code
done
TABS=`cat /tmp/pmount-tabs`
TABS_CODE=`cat /tmp/pmount-tabs_code`


echo "$TABS
Code:
sda| hdc| hda| sdb| scd0|

echo "$TABS_CODE":
Code:
<vbox>sda</vbox>
<vbox>hdc</vbox>
<vbox>hda</vbox>
<vbox>sdb</vbox>
<vbox>scd0</vbox>


Sigmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5009
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 17:15    Post_subject:  

This is just a comment on the state of "GTKdialog".
From the creator of GTKdialog:
Quote:
GTKdialog is a very bad program that I wrote.

I agree... Unfortunately it's the only small Linux GUI builder I've seen.
Most of the other GUI builder "languages" I've seen are rather heavy weight,
or are part of a complete programming language (many fit this profile).

It'd be really nice to have a replacement for GTKdialog that's "consistant".
It'd be able to position the control objects on the window.
And it'd have a common syntax: "VisualBasic" style.
So command syntax would look like this:

list.var = FILES
list.in = /path/file
list.width = 200
list.height = 300

button.label = Do SomeThing
button.icon = pix.png
button.action = ./appExe (function) . . .
button.refresh = $FILES

I know I'm just pipe dreaming here, but we can dream...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 20:06    Post_subject: Re: Pmount3  

Dougal wrote:
But that was one stage back, when there was a Rob button and the window opened automatically, wasn't it?

The problem now is that rox only opens from that button.

Ah, I see. A Rox window opens on mounting, and the Rox button is only there after mounting, in case you closed that window and needed to reopen it without mounting/umounting. That is still the case in the untabbed Pmount on my 2.16 system. The change you mention must have happened after that.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 20:38    Post_subject:  

Gtkdialog does allow a default radiobutton, but I don't know about anything else.

I'm not happy with a tabbed interface that, after mounting a partition, then hides the partition under another tab. That makes extra work, have to click the tab to bring it back into view.

The reason I changed it so that ROX does not immediately open, is someone requested it should be that way for consistency with MUT. I don't recall who or when, I just had the note in my notebook. And I agreed that MUT and Pmount should behave in a consistent fashion.

As to rearranging the order of tabs so that the last-used one is at the left,
I don't like that. It's moving in the direction of Microsoft's auto-adjusting menus, which I hate. The brain works by recognising patterns.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0772s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]