Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 06:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
CUPS in Hand (2.17 experimental feedback)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [82 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2007, 19:06    Post subject: Re: unable to pipe
Subject description: a funny thing happened on the way to ect
 

willhunt wrote:
running 217exp I tried to pipe results to several files inside /ect/
gives back error no such file ect so did ls from console and no ect directory anyone else have this problem?

Try /etc directory instead, if you have not already done so.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2007, 21:33    Post subject:  

yes I tried that whodo have you tried
Code:
 echo blank line>/ect/newfile.txt
or
Code:
 echo blank line>ect/newfile.txt
or
Code:
 cd /
ls -l
in 2.17?
_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2007, 22:00    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Here is the initial discussion regarding ipw2200 detection -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=18183

Dougal has done a lot of script tweaks but these have generally not been made public, and he's still working on them.
Maybe send a PM to Dougal to get the work-in-progress?

I have responded to that thread, requesting feedback from Beem and Jonyo, and anyone else who has got the wrong module loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2007, 22:04    Post subject: Re: feedback on modems  

Firefox wrote:
I have a Diamond Supraexpress modem on the serial port (com1)
I tried for the first time for me a multisession disc.
The pupdial did not find my modem, but after using wizard to click on the ttsy0 port it
found my modem and i was able to configure gkdial. I now runs ok.
On saving to disc and rebooting it did not remember any settings or any added programs like wvdial and gnome-ppp which I use. Is this normal for a multisession? ie new each time?

Your situation is not clear to me. On first boot, did you boot into ram only, either by using 'puppy pfix=ram' boot parameters, or by booting up on a PC that doesn't have any pup_save file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2007, 22:07    Post subject:  

duplicate info. deleted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2007, 22:13    Post subject:  

willhunt wrote:
yes I tried that whodo have you tried...[snip]...in 2.17?

Nope. I understand the subject of the thread is the experimental version 2.17, which I don't run, but I thought it might have been a simple case of keyboard dyslexia. Razz No offense intended. Embarassed

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 01:40    Post subject:  

no whodo no offense taken Very Happy just trying to find the botttom of it Embarassed
all though i've been lesdyaxi before Shocked

_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marco_Inge

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 04:34    Post subject:  

Not been able to test yesterday, I'll do it tonight and let you know.

Cheers, Marco

BarryK wrote:
Marco_Inge wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Marco, also, I'm curious what driver is working with your modem? When you start PupDial, at the top it states in bold letters that your modem is found and it gives the device, like this: /dev/something -- what is that "something"?


/dev/ttySL0

Ah, the Smartlink drive, very good. Could I bother you with one more request, type this in a terminal window:
# lsmod
... do you see any entry fo 'slusb' or 'slamr'?
... what entry is there for sound? It will be something starting with 'snd_'
(note, just drag mouse over text to highlight, it will automatically be in the clipboard)

Does sound work on your system? -- you can test, go to /usr/share/audio and click on a sound file.
The rason I ask that, is Smartlink can use some ALSA sound drivers for the modem, but in some cases it is known to clash with sound support.

Note, Smartlink has been bought out by Conexant. I hope that doesn't mean the end of the free Smartlink driver support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 06:22    Post subject:  

So sorry Mr.Barry.K I didn't go online for a while to reply to your topic:
Have you got a Thinkpad 600, 600E or 770?
(http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=18996 ) but I don't think it would of mattered as I am as GeoffS puts it
Quote:

but I don't know if I know enough to be able to help

anyway sorry to say it didn't even detect the mwave modem
here is what i could find:
in bootkernel.log
mwave: smapi::smapi_query_DSP_cfg: Worry: DSP IRQ line is 0
mwave: smapi::smapi_query_DSP_cfg: Worry: UART IRQ line is 0
mwave: tp3780i::tp3780I_CalcResources: Error: Illegal resource setting. Aborting.
mwave: mwavedd:mwave_init: Error: Failed to calculate resources
mwave: mwavedd::mwave_init: Error: Failed to initialize
mwave: smapi::smapi_query_DSP_cfg: Worry: DSP IRQ line is 0
mwave: smapi::smapi_query_DSP_cfg: Worry: UART IRQ line is 0
mwave: tp3780i::tp3780I_CalcResources: Error: Illegal resource setting. Aborting.
mwave: mwavedd:mwave_init: Error: Failed to calculate resources
mwave: mwavedd::mwave_init: Error: Failed to initialize
----------------
in bootsysinit.log
Starting Mwave modem:
Loading kernel module:failed
-----------------
when i tried modprobe mwave :
FATAL: Error inserting mwave (/lib/modules/2.6.21.5/kernel/drivers/char/mwave/mwave.ko): I/O error
-------------------------------
running elspci --list here are the results
01:00.0 030000 1023:939A <>
00:07.3 068000 8086:7113 <>
00:07.2 0C0300 8086:7112 <uhci_hcd>
00:07.1 010180 8086:7111 <PIIX_IDE>
00:07.0 068000 8086:7110 <>
00:06.0 040100 1013:6001 <>

even tried lshw :

*-pci
physical id: 100
bus info: pci@0000:00:00.0
version: 02
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
configuration: driver=agpgart-intel latency=64 module=intel_agp
*-pci
physical id: 1
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.0
version: 02
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pci bus_master
*-display UNCLAIMED
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: f3
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: agp agp-1.0 pm cap_list
configuration: latency=32
*-pcmcia:0
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pcmcia bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=yenta_cardbus latency=176 maxlatency=5 mingnt=192 module=yenta_socket
*-pcmcia:1
physical id: 2.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pcmcia bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=yenta_cardbus latency=176 maxlatency=5 mingnt=192 module=yenta_socket
*-multimedia UNCLAIMED
physical id: 6
bus info: pci@0000:00:06.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
configuration: latency=32 maxlatency=24 mingnt=4
*-bridge:0 UNCLAIMED
physical id: 7
bus info: pci@0000:00:07.0
version: 02
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bridge bus_master
configuration: latency=0

*-bridge:1 UNCLAIMED
physical id: 7.3
bus info: pci@0000:00:07.3
version: 02
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bridge
configuration: latency=0

00:02.1 060700 104C:AC1D <yenta_cardbus>
00:02.0 060700 104C:AC1D <yenta_cardbus>
00:01.0 060400 8086:7191 <>
00:00.0 060000 8086:7190 <agpgart-intel>
----------------------------------

and the sound card wasn't detected but thank to tempestuous who was kind enough to take the time to help me (Many thanks sir) i got it working easily in the test version of 2.17.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 06:37    Post subject:  

EZ4arabs wrote:
and the sound card wasn't detected but thank to tempestuous who was kind enough to take the time to help me (Many thanks sir) i got it working easily in the test version of 2.17.

What was the solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 09:27    Post subject: feedback on modems
Subject description: Diamond SUPRAEXPRESS on com1
 

Hi Barry

Yes I booted from a multisession disc using pfix=ram command.

The connect icon did not detect my modem. Only after using the modem wizard could I use the presented interface. I install wvdial/gnome-ppp afterwoods so that I can turn off the modem sounds.
The cups program is terrible, difficult to understand let alone setup. I still havnt managed to get hp710c printer to work - perhaps it needs compiling the pnm2ppa driver and/or foomatics in the startup routine?

Thanks for a great distro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 10:35    Post subject:  

Barry,

I've been trying to make gxine look a little sharper with DVD playback. One of the things on the gxine FAQ list is to build the kernel for 1000hz. Noticed puppy's kernel (2.6.18 & 2.6.21) is set to 100hz. Before 2.6.21 this was good because it saved battery life on laptops. But now 2.6.21 has a dyntick (aka tickless) option that effectively drops the frequency when it's not needed. Next time you rebuild the kernel you might want to consider switching to 1000hz or 300hz and enabling tickless. Before the tickless kernel some people reported a high pitched noise with 1000hz don't know if this would still be a problem.

CONFIG_TICK_ONESHOT=y
CONFIG_NO_HZ=y
CONFIG_HIGH_RES_TIMERS=y

CONFIG_HZ_300=y
CONFIG_HZ=300





http://xinehq.de/index.php/faq#SMOOTHNESS

http://www.linuxpowertop.org/faq.php

http://kerneltrap.org/node/7749
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 10:44    Post subject: Re: feedback on modems
Subject description: Diamond SUPRAEXPRESS on com1
 

Firefox wrote:

The cups program is terrible, difficult to understand let alone setup. I still havnt managed to get hp710c printer to work - perhaps it needs compiling the pnm2ppa driver and/or foomatics in the startup routine?

The release notes for 2.17exp1 state that CUPS is broken. I only got it fixed afterward, so it should be right for 2.17alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 12:14    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
EZ4arabs wrote:
and the sound card wasn't detected but thank to tempestuous who was kind enough to take the time to help me (Many thanks sir) i got it working easily in the test version of 2.17.

What was the solution?


I added the following lines to modprobe.conf that tempestuous kindly posted in that thread:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=17307
tempestuous wrote:
EZ4arabs wrote:
would this script work on puppy?
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Script_for_configuring_the_CS4239_sound_chip_in_PnP_mode

That script looks like an ugly hack to me.
This page on the thinkwiki site is more relevant to you - http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/CS4239
(but the ALSA module options are slightly wrong, because that article relates to an old version of ALSA).

Let me summarize it in Puppy-speak:
In your bios set "QuickBoot = OFF". This is VERY IMPORTANT. It's the Thinkpad equivalent of "PnP OS = NO"
ISA devices such as your sound chip will not play well under Linux otherwise.

Now run the sound wizard, choose search for "legacy" devices, select "cs4236". Hopefully this will work. If not, you need to set up ALSA manually: open /etc/modprobe.conf in geany and add these lines -

alias snd-card-0 snd-cs4236
alias sound-slot-0 snd-cs4236
options snd-cs4236 index=0 port=0x530 cport=0x538 isapnp=0 dma1=1 dma2=0 irq=5

Last edited by EZ4arabs on Fri 06 Jul 2007, 03:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 16:10    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Noticed puppy's kernel (2.6.18 & 2.6.21) is set to 100hz. Before 2.6.21 this was good because it saved battery life on laptops. But now 2.6.21 has a dyntick (aka tickless) option that effectively drops the frequency when it's not needed. Next time you rebuild the kernel you might want to consider switching to 1000hz or 300hz and enabling tickless. Before the tickless kernel some people reported a high pitched noise with 1000hz don't know if this would still be a problem.


Since you mention this... the latest kernel also hasn't got SOFTWARE_SUSPEND turned on, which would be good for laptop users who want to use the "suspend2" package for suspend/hibernate.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [82 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1063s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]