Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 13:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Mini-volume icon gone from tray after installing IceWM
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
comic

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2007, 07:44    Post subject:  Mini-volume icon gone from tray after installing IceWM  

Everything was well until I decided to install Icewm into puppy linux. After the installation my mini-volume and freememory applet were gone from the tray.
I installed latest version of freememaplet and used startup script to recover it to tray. So that went well.
But I still have this nagging problem that I can't get my mini-volume back in the tray where it belongs.
I added something to the startup script so the mini-volume appears in the left corner above when linux starts up but that is very annoying, and I just can't seem to get it back to the tray.
Please HELP!

Here's my startup script:

#!/bin/sh
# this script is executed by starticewm when IceWM starts

killall icesound
icesound &

killall icewmtray
icewmtray &

# dockapps, we must kill each to
# avoid multiple starts when switching a theme

killall icedock
icedock &

# icedock needs a moment to start, so delay the apps
sleep 2

killall mini-volume.tcl
mini-volume.tcl &
killall volume.app
#volume.app &
killall wmfishtime
#wmfishtime &
killall wmix
#wmix &
killall wmpower
#wmpower &
killall wmsm
#wmsm &
killall wmtop
#wmtop &
killall wmweather
#wmweather-starter &
killall wmxmms
#wmxmms &

###################################################################
# you can choose to use the tray of icewm, or the external xystray
#
# uncomment what you like
#

#killall xystray
#sleep 2 && /usr/local/xystray-trayicons/run-xystray &

killall freememapplet-tray
sleep 2 && iu_nice -n 19 /root/my-applications/freememapplet_tray_puppy215ce/freememapplet-tray &

killall blinky
sleep 2 && /root/my-applications/blinky-0.8-icewm/src/blinky -bg "" &

killall mini-volume
sleep 2 && /usr/sbin/mini-volume.tcl -bg gray90 -mixer /usr/sbin/pvolume-mixer.tcl &
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2007, 08:27    Post subject: Re: Mini-volume icon gone from tray after installing IceWM  

comic wrote:
I can't get my mini-volume back in the tray where it belongs.

In IceWM, the mini-volume doesn't go in the tray in the same way as it did under JWM. There are a number of ways to do it, but IMHO the best way is to add the following to your /root/.icewm/toolbar file
Code:
prog "Volume" mixer pvolume-mixer.tcl
You can do that by choosing Edit QuickLaunch Menu from the Quick Launch Menu folder on your taskbar.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
comic

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2007, 12:45    Post subject:  

WhoDo thank you for your reply. But that solution only enables me to start mini volume quickly. I would like however to have that icon in the tray all the time just like with the default puppy JWM.
Does this mean that with the IceWM this is disabled. Doesn't anyone have a solution for this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2007, 17:52    Post subject:  

comic wrote:
I would like however to have that icon in the tray all the time just like with the default puppy JWM.

If you put it outside the Quick Launch Menu folder you will get the icon on your taskbar, all the time, just like in JWM. Place the subject line right at the very end of the file, and restart X. Here is a screenshot of my taskbar to show what I mean.


comic wrote:
Does this mean that with the IceWM this is disabled. Doesn't anyone have a solution for this?

Not disabled, just not ported or not ported properly. Someone with more programming ability and time than me has to use the eggtrayicon support in IceWM to port mini-volume so it can be started in the system tray.

You might also consider looking at the second option outlined in the EZpup Help page on the wiki. It's flaky, but it will give you what you want ... maybe.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 16:07    Post subject: pvolume-mixer.tcl in Icewm tray
Subject description: A solution that works
 

I also had the same problem and solved it by using the alltray utility. Alltray will let you choose an icon and let you put any application you want in the system tray area, including pvolume-mixer.tcl Attached is alltray0.66.tar.gz that works in Puppy 2.xx. You can run gunzip on a copy of the downloaded file in, for instance, your /tmp dir and then copy the /tmp/usr dir to /usr with rox. There is documentation in the archive that should get you started.

With kind regards,
vovchik
alltray0.66.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  alltray0.66.tar.gz 
Filesize  67.38 KB 
Downloaded  699 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 17:34    Post subject: A less CPU-intensive solution
Subject description: gaumix or aumix
 

I just replaced pvolume-mixer-tcl with gaumix since I noticed that pvolume-mixer was consuming an inordinate number of CPU clock cycles. You may wish to do the same, or give pvolume-mixer a very low priority - something that I will now try.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 02:41    Post subject: Re: pvolume-mixer.tcl in Icewm tray
Subject description: A solution that works
 

vovchik wrote:
Alltray will let you choose an icon and let you put any application you want in the system tray area, including pvolume-mixer.tcl Attached is alltray0.66.tar.gz that works in Puppy 2.xx. You can run gunzip on a copy of the downloaded file in, for instance, your /tmp dir and then copy the /tmp/usr dir to /usr with rox. There is documentation in the archive that should get you started.

Hmmmm....seems to require the Gnome libraries, vovchik. I downloaded and installed as per instructions and I get a missing glibconf error when attempting to run.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 05:38    Post subject:  

i have alltray 0.69 installed, which does not seem to have any gnome dependencies
alltray69.tar.gz
Description  alltray 0.69 executable
gz

 Download 
Filename  alltray69.tar.gz 
Filesize  33.71 KB 
Downloaded  698 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 05:55    Post subject: WhoDo, you're right
Subject description: Missing gnome libs
 

Dear WhoDo,

Sorry, you're right. The required gnome libs are:

    libgconf-2.so.4
    libORBit-2.so.0
    [list=]

    I had installed MU's 8MB Gnome dotpup long ago and did not run into dependency problems as a result. Yesterday evening I tried to run alltray on another machine with Puppy 1.07 - and without MU's gnome package - and ran into the dependency problem you have described. I'll now try to install only those two libs on the 1.07 Puppy and will report the results. Otherwise, alltray is a very nice and useful little program. Shall I upload the libs and appropriate symlinks?

    With kind regards,
    vovchik

    PS. The two required libs take up about 500k unpacked, which is quite a bit of overhead if HD space is at a premium (not so in my case).
[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 08:45    Post subject: Re: WhoDo, you're right
Subject description: Missing gnome libs
 

vovchik wrote:
Otherwise, alltray is a very nice and useful little program. Shall I upload the libs and appropriate symlinks?

Not on my account, thanks, vovchik. I downloaded GuestToo's 0.69 version and it works without any dependencies. Thanks for your efforts anyway.

@GuestToo: I downloaded your later version of alltray and it works as you said it would. I'm not sure how that will help with the Pvolume issue, but we'll see. Thanks again.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 10:04    Post subject: No CPU problems with this
Subject description: pvolume as menu
 

Dear WhoDo,

I have discovered that, by making a menu entry in alltray and running absvolume, you can avoid excessive CPU use. The mixer item appears when you right-click the speaker icon. Just an idea...

With kind regards,
vovchik

Code:
alltray --skip-taskbar --geometry 100x100+830+30  --menu "mixer:pvolume-mixer.tcl" --icon /root/my-documents/icons/mini-speaker.xpm absvolume&
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2007, 16:08    Post subject:  

Hi WhoDo,

I put the code: prog "Volume" mixer pvolume-mixer.tcl, in the end of the Quick launch config file. Now i have a large icon that says "Volume", from it i can launch the mixer, but i want to change the large "Volume" button for a small icon, like the screenshot of your taskbar. How i do it?.

I would'like to put the shotdown button too.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2007, 19:07    Post subject:  

clarf wrote:
Hi WhoDo,

I put the code: prog "Volume" mixer pvolume-mixer.tcl, in the end of the Quick launch config file. Now i have a large icon that says "Volume", from it i can launch the mixer, but i want to change the large "Volume" button for a small icon, like the screenshot of your taskbar. How i do it?.

I would'like to put the shotdown button too.... Smile

You need to resize the actual icon to 24x24. The icons live either in /usr/shared/mini-icons or /usr/shared/midi-icons. The ones in the latter are usually 48x48. Rename the old icon to mixer48.xpm and then resize the original using mtPaint or GIMP.

To get the shutdown button you need to add the following code:
Code:
prog "Shutdown" exit wmpoweroff

Don't forget to resize the exit.png as above, too.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2007, 10:48    Post subject:  

Hi WhoDo thank you for the suggestion, but my problem was not related to the icons size.

After some research i found that the word "Volume" appear in the taskbar, because my Icewm didn't found a icon called mixer. In the code: [prog "Volume" mixer pvolume-mixer.tcl], the third word "mixer" is the icon name, if not found then the word "Volume" will be show. Then i fixed it, just making a copy of a related icon called mixer in /root/icewm/icons.

The same thing for the Shotdown button, now i need some good looking icons like yours... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0853s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]