Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 04:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Transterm - rxvt terminal configuration utitlity
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2007, 18:08    Post subject:  Transterm - rxvt terminal configuration utitlity  

Transterm is a Puppybasic-script.
It launches your favourite terminal-emulator like rxvt or mrxvt.
Then it performs some modifications, that you can alter in "settings.txt".

It will move, resize, layer, remove border.
And it sets it transparent.

It uses a modified version of "transset":
http://forchheimer.se/transset-df/

Dotpup:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/XServer/Transterm.pup
If you want to run a second one with different settings, use this addon:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/XServer/Transterm2.pup

Requires xcompmgr:
http://dotpups.de/3DCC/2.12/Xcompmgr-1.1.3.pup

Screenshot (rxvt is centered on the screen and lowered without border):


fullsize:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/WindowManagers/Icewm-Theme-VistaBlackIV-MU.jpg

Note that xcompmgr might run unstable with some graficscards.
I made the screenshot using the Icewm windowmanager.
Puppys default, JWM, might not support every option like removing the border.

Here are more utilities for transparency:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19251

Mark

Last edited by MU on Wed 18 Jul 2007, 19:13; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2007, 04:22    Post subject:  

awesome..!

now how do i kill it when i want it to go away...?

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2007, 10:06    Post subject:  

in the terminal, type:
exit

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1379
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2007, 11:09    Post subject:  

Hello MU,
I installed all your packages, but get this when I try to run "transicewmpanel".

I went to add the lines to /etc/X11R6/xorg.conf: but the folder X11R6 isn't there. I am running my TEENpup2.0.0 on my PC and I am wondering if that folder is in the original Puppy version 2.14?

Can I just copy that folder into /etc to get "transicewmpanel" working?

Can you supply a zipped file containing that folder?
transicewmpanel.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.33 KB
 Viewed   2722 Time(s)

transicewmpanel.jpg


_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2007, 11:17    Post subject:  

oh that was a typo, corrected the dotpup now.
It must be
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

This file is created, when you choose Xorg as your Xserver.
I think Puppys Xvesa does not support it, I once compiled a different Xvesa with transparency-support.
But I'd suggest to use Xorg ("Start - setup - Xorgwizard") if you do not use it yet.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2007, 12:57    Post subject:  

there was a typo in the settings.txt, so the Y position was not set.
Corrected.
Also added a second dotpup, if you want to use another one with different settings.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0450s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]