Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 00:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How To: Remaster LiveCD from LiveCD without pain :-)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
zeke7237

Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 11:14    Post subject:  

Nope, lotsa space. The errors are coming when copying stuff into the "image-new" which is the image file mounted on /dev/loop2

Maybe I'm just doing this wrong? I burned a current Puppy CD, moved it onto usb device, configured as I wanted it, now trying to move configured Puppy from usb back to CD. Is there a better way to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alienx


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 141
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 12:02    Post subject:  

zeke7237 wrote:
Maybe I'm just doing this wrong? I burned a current Puppy CD, moved it onto usb device


maybe is it

zeke7237 wrote:
now trying to move configured Puppy from usb back to CD. Is there a better way to do this?


I dont know nothing about Puppy on usb devices, I even dont have one Rolling Eyes

_________________
Sorry, broken english above Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 13:40    Post subject:  

I have a pup001 on my hard drive (1.0.6). I did the PupGet for Open Office and a few other things. I selected the remaster script from the menu (I did not select the fast option). Selected a remaster directory on my thumb drive. Created a 110MB ISO, burned it to CD. All I get is the kernel panic no init found with the remasterd CD.

Any ideas where I went wrong?
Back to top
zeke7237

Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 15:28    Post subject:  

So ..

I have had success with the 0.4 script only by commenting out the FSSIZE calculation and manually setting the size. It was calculating 122M, but the copy would fail out of space. I manually set 150M and it went fine, resultant iso boots ok.

Now I tried to put that remastered Puppy on USB, and I get the "init not found" error ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kelewax


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Nigeria

PostPosted: Sun 20 Nov 2005, 04:35    Post subject: Remaster live Cd from NTFS  

I have a windows xp on a single patitioned hard disk which is NTFS I have upto 3 GB of free space on the NTFS harddisk, Is it possible for me to copy a new pup001 file to C:\ and enlarge from windows then boot into puppy mount the new (renamed) pup001 and use to to remaster live cd.

If not then is there a way I can avoid patitioning my harddisk and still keep my windows xp while I remaster a live cd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alienx


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 141
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2005, 08:05    Post subject: Re: Remaster live Cd from NTFS  

kelewax wrote:
I have a windows xp on a single patitioned hard disk which is NTFS I have upto 3 GB of free space on the NTFS harddisk, Is it possible for me to copy a new pup001 file to C:\ and enlarge from windows then boot into puppy mount the new (renamed) pup001 and use to to remaster live cd.

If not then is there a way I can avoid patitioning my harddisk and still keep my windows xp while I remaster a live cd?


your idea is good

you can enlarge pup001 (as big as possible) and copy pup001 to something like pup777

then you create a folder like /mnt/my-remaster

and do

mount -o loop pup007 /mnt/my-remaster

start the remaster script and choose /mnt/my-remaster as your remater folder

I suppose that will work , lets test it and tell us Wink

_________________
Sorry, broken english above Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 22 Nov 2005, 11:15    Post subject: Thank you  

Hi,

Just want to thank you for your great work.

I'm not a computer guy, don't know anything under the hood about this amazing Linux and Puppy, yet I have managed to create many remasters veeery easy without any problems, using your script.

Thank's again !
Back to top
OzzyBB


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Lima, Peru

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2005, 03:09    Post subject: I had a problem with the Standard 1.0.5 script  

Hello all,

Last Monday I did create my first custom Puppy CD. However, it didn't go as I expected. The desktop icons came out with my Spanish language captions, but my Spanish language Firefox and Open Office 2.0 didn't make it into my custom CD. How do I make sure they make it to the ISO file?

By the way, I'm using Puppy 1.0.5 with the standard script on a 1250 MHz AMD machine with 256 MB RAM, 40 GB HDD (with Win XP and suSE partitions) and a LiteOn CD burner.

Also, a side effect was that I lost my Freedoom and my Lucent windmodem driver installations.... I still haven't got around to try and use the pup001 backup file, before resorting to install them again. I'll let you know how it goes.

Warmest greetings from Peru,


Oswaldo Bellido
"OzzyBB"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Alienx


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 141
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 09:47    Post subject:  

hi all !

I'm temporarily busy with lots of works and could not study the new versions of Puppy and update the script

please, someone do it ! Wink

_________________
Sorry, broken english above Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fox7777


Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 132
Location: Lacey, WA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 13:52    Post subject: Re: Remaster LiveCD from LiveCD without pain  

With Alienx we remastered Puppy 1.0.7 to include Open Office (from PupGet) plus Firefox 1.5 and Thunderbird 1.5 (from Mozilla.com). This combination is really ready for prime time and it is surprising it is not yet more widely adopted (but then we thought the Seahawks should have gone to the Superbowl a long time ago too). Apparently you do need to follow the instructions and export the iso to a ext2 or ext3 folder but then we were able to copy that folder over to reiserfs in SUSE 10 and burn the CD with K3B. You can use this remastered CD to update Puppy on other computers and remaster another CD with even more advanced features!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 14:36    Post subject: Re: Remaster LiveCD from LiveCD without pain  

Fox7777 wrote:
With Alienx we remastered Puppy 1.0.7 to include Open Office (from PupGet) plus Firefox 1.5 and Thunderbird 1.5 (from Mozilla.com). This combination is really ready for prime time and it is surprising it is not yet more widely adopted...

Sounds like a winner!

Is it available for download anywhere?

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fox7777


Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 132
Location: Lacey, WA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 14:58    Post subject: Re: Remaster LiveCD from LiveCD without pain  

We wish there were somewhere you could just download it ready to go but it is pretty easy to do the Alienx remaster. We also wish something like MOTV could be included so you could get HDTV and perhaps an option to network other computers while acting as a router.

pakt wrote:
Fox7777 wrote:
With Alienx we remastered Puppy 1.0.7 to include Open Office (from PupGet) plus Firefox 1.5 and Thunderbird 1.5 (from Mozilla.com). This combination is really ready for prime time and it is surprising it is not yet more widely adopted...

Sounds like a winner!

Is it available for download anywhere?

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
xrq_9/11/2001
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2006, 04:55    Post subject:  

The title of this thread " Remaster LiveCD from LiveCD without pain "
but as you might of noticed that there are more than few of us who don't have a CD burner and boot puppy from dos.
Is it possible to remaster from the installed ?
yes ,there are few topics that teaches how to backup/restore by using DD or other methods like just saving the pupXXX but what about those who installed it then added/removed packages and set it just the way they needed it?!
how about creating iso from the installed?!
can it be done?!
Back to top
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2006, 19:56    Post subject:  

It's definately possible. And thanks for mentioning it. I'm going to add this feature to HackyRemaster the next time I work on it.

I don't know how to do it with the scripts that are already availiable though, mainly because I've only used HackyRemaster (which I know can't quite do it yet).

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
xrq
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2006, 03:10    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:
It's definately possible. And thanks for mentioning it. I'm going to add this feature to HackyRemaster the next time I work on it.

I don't know how to do it with the scripts that are already availiable though, mainly because I've only used HackyRemaster (which I know can't quite do it yet).


Thanks WizKid Very Happy ,would appreciated if you (or anyone willing to help) if you used Alienx simple remaster-cd


BTW here is a classic game just for you Friend (if you have the dosbox installed):
http://www.dosgames.com/dl.php?filename=http://www.copysoft.com/ftp/pub/Skunny/PIZZA.ZIP


Thanks again
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0817s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]