Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 20 Oct 2017, 10:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy Database
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 18 [267 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 07:54    Post subject: newer version needs Qt5.  

newer version needs Qt5. I think training with Qt4 version until somebody compiles QT5 is a good idea. Some prefer compiling than adding data in already existing database. That does not make such a progress. Exclamation
What database do you need ? Your home furniture, your car repairs, Your friends and their phone, Your customers, your pending posts in the forum, everything is already available, but needs some work . Barry Kauler asked some help from everybody about the pets, but our Puppy builders are so occupied to build their own puppies from Woof Ce.
Post scriptum :
If furthermore you run our wonderful Polar Qt005 build with so much care by Pemasu, no Qt SFS had to be added.
Nevertheless, i will feed back when my version 2.1 ready. I hate Dropbox.

To be done with Xenialpup 7.0.2.
Version 2.0
===========

[New Features]
- #11 #12 #16 New fields for web links and email addresses

[Improvements]
- Migration from Qt4 to Qt5 (User interface library)
- Updated Dropbox certificates (Old ones are valid until August 2016)
- Implemented database version checking and upgrading on format change
- Updated about dialog to include github project link
- Compiler warning fixes

You Tube Demo
Kittel.jpg
 Description   Marcel Kittel
 Filesize   74.01 KB
 Viewed   232 Time(s)

Kittel.jpg

Symphytum.jpg
 Description   My personal database for pets (For Puppies, i use OSMO, considering Puppies as persons)
 Filesize   71.72 KB
 Viewed   597 Time(s)

Symphytum.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Tue 04 Apr 2017, 13:33; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2649
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 10:22    Post subject:  

I have a version 2.0 in my Fatdog64-700 repo. It does need the qt5-common package as well. http://smokey01.com/fd700/packages/ Are there any difference between 1.2 and 2.0? I didn't notice any.

Pelo did you say you have a version 2.1 of symphytum coming?

BTW thanks for the tip on TreeSize. I like it but it's a bit unstable when clicking on the Reload or skip directories buttons.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 12:26    Post subject: Exploring for Symphytum newer version for linuxian colleage
Subject description: Version 2.0
 

Exploring for Symphytum newer version for linuxian colleages caring of having on self latest version.
personnaly i have been using version one for three years without trouble. I entered some records for my own usage.
With Xenialpup 7.0.2 the final answer is that a driver is missing. Symphytum 2.0 refuse to restore my backup done with version 1

For people still having Windows beside Puppy Linux, taste Windows version to see what you could miss running version one with Puppy Linux.
I believe i was the only Puppy passenger having run Symphytum in the forum. Perhaps it's no worth loosing time..
Xenialpup still has some trouble with desktop. Everybody is busy.. in the electronic bulk.

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Fri 17 Mar 2017, 20:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 12:43    Post subject: i just took a glance at your fatdog 64 repository.  

i just took a glance at your fatdog 64 repository.
With Puppy i decided to run only 32 bits.
Smokey01, i want to thank you here for your works. How often i found happiness in your stores Smile
A database manager, again, a new one is born in QT5 PPM Xenialpup... you should not miss databases to fulfill in 2016 !
Screenshot Table created in five minutes importing data from .packages (tahrpup). You can do the same with OSMO (rename columns thru file .mo)
DB browser.png
 Description   I prefer Symphytum, for the fun.
 Filesize   46.32 KB
 Viewed   505 Time(s)

DB browser.png


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 05 Mar 2017, 05:03    Post subject: Symphytum is no longer free.  

Symphytum is no longer free. you must pay for it, at least for Windows version (checked yesterday)
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1908

PostPosted: Sun 05 Mar 2017, 07:49    Post subject:  

Has everyone else given up on Portabase now? It may be more limited than other databases but I still use it, and perfectly contentedly. (BTW, yes it can import .csv files - that was how I created the data files I use in it now).
_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, OpenSUSE 42.3, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8 and AntiX 17 beta 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar 2017, 21:10    Post subject: ToOpPy Linux, a Precise Puppy 5.7.1. portabase as Database  

Argolance has included POrtabase in its brand new ToOpPy Linux, a Precise Puppy 5.7.1.
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1424
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar 2017, 21:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
Has everyone else given up on Portabase now?


Looks like Portabase hasn't been updated in about 4 years. Old isn't necessarily bad but looks like it's no longer being developed....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1908

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2017, 20:26    Post subject:  

Thanks for your replies. Portabase for Debian doesn't look like it's being actively developed either (it's still at version 2.1).

I'm only dimly aware of ToOpPy Linux but I may check it out if I get the time soon.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Slackel 7.0 Openbox, OpenSUSE 42.3, Vector Standard 7.2 RC1, Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Devuan 1.0.0, Stella 6.8 and AntiX 17 beta 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 17 Mar 2017, 20:25    Post subject: portabase is one of the worse  

portabase is one of the worse, IMO, CSVpad does better Smile
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 20:59    Post subject: Symphytum topic in Business section  

Symphytum topic in Business section Take a glance here
deb.jpg
 Description   Trouble With That Version
 Filesize   46.38 KB
 Viewed   170 Time(s)

deb.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2649
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 06:27    Post subject:  

@musher0, some time ago you posted about fields.awk pet.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=874741#874741
I just tried this again in Fatdog64-710 and it failed to add or modify a record. I'm pretty sure the attached is you original pet you provided. I couldn't find it from your post so I have attached it below.

I'm not sure if this is a Fatdog problem or I missed it before. After pressing enter on the last field when adding a record the terminal closes. Have you experienced this?

Cheers
fields.awk-1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  fields.awk-1.pet 
Filesize  160.01 KB 
Downloaded  21 Time(s) 

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10958
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 08:18    Post subject:  

Hi Smokey.

I must confess I haven't used Ian's fileds.awk in a while.

I just tested it again. I changed the word "Duo" to "Duet" in the little CD.txt
database that's included in the pet, without any problem.

But fields.awk refused to edit anything before I selected an editor. I chose
leafpad as editor, and after that I was able to do what I wanted. Ian has
set the default editor to vim, we have to change it, we don't have vim on
Puppy.

Tell me how it goes?

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2649
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 09:40    Post subject:  

@musher0, found the problem.

I had a directory called tmp in /root that was created by another app. This prevented touch from creating a file called tmp in /root.

It's working again. Better yet my modified version is working.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10958
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 10:11    Post subject:  

Excellent ! Smile

Modified version ?

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 18 [267 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0589s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]