Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 01:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to set up Dual Monitors?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 12:48    Post subject:  How to set up Dual Monitors?  

Hi,
I want to set up dual monitors but am a bit lost on how to do this in xorg.
i have the second monitor plugged into my laptop. and upon booting my system, the secondary monitor takes over and is used as the default instead of the LCD screen. this is fine, but i'd like to have both of them working as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Greystar

Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 13:41    Post subject:  

I don't think you can do 2 monitors on a laptop unless you have a pcmia video card. if your just pluging into the vga connection( I'm asuming this because it sonds this way) you are just changing from portable to a "desktop" setup. If you have a pcmia video card though you can do a dual monitor setup.(have done this under windows but not puppy)

I could be wrong since laptops are so different but both of my laptops (this one which now runs 100% puppy for the last 2 or so months and my "wifes" laptop which is a vista machine) work this way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 14:08    Post subject:  

i am able to do this in windows XP which is why i assume it's possible in Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
giac_fab

Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 15:27    Post subject:  

on my old and cheap laptop I do that simply by pressing fn+F5 ....... did you try ?????
_________________
Embarassed I know, my english is very bad Embarassed
Give a man a fish and he eats for a day, teach a man to fish and he eats for a lifetime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 15:55    Post subject:  

i have that but will that make it dual monitor of just mirror the desktop onto both monitors?

-edit-
i'm not in puppy atm which is why i cant give you a straight answer right now.
but i think what you're suggesting simply mirrors the desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
giac_fab

Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 16:13    Post subject:  

Ah ok, excuse me ......

You want to extend your desktop ......

There is a way, but only if you have an ati or an nvidia ..... try to see this post :

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14261

This procedure installs an utility that make you able to set your two monitor (on my home pc I did it)

_________________
Embarassed I know, my english is very bad Embarassed
Give a man a fish and he eats for a day, teach a man to fish and he eats for a lifetime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 17:04    Post subject:  

that's for s-video. and i dont have ati or nvidia..
this is from my xorg.conf:

Identifier "Card0"
Driver "savage" #card0driver
VendorName "S3 Inc."
BoardName "86C270-294 Savage/IX-MV"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"


-edit-
lspci seems to output something im not used to.

Code:

sh-3.00# lspci
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:7190 (rev 03)
00:01.0 Class 0604: 8086:7191 (rev 03)
00:05.0 Class 0680: 8086:7110 (rev 02)
00:05.1 Class 0101: 8086:7111 (rev 01)
00:05.2 Class 0c03: 8086:7112 (rev 01)
00:05.3 Class 0680: 8086:7113 (rev 03)
00:08.0 Class 0200: 8086:1229 (rev 09)
00:08.1 Class 0700: 115d:00d4
00:0b.0 Class 0607: 1179:0617 (rev 20)
00:0b.1 Class 0607: 1179:0617 (rev 20)
00:0c.0 Class 0401: 1073:0012
01:00.0 Class 0300: 5333:8c12 (rev 13)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2007, 18:59    Post subject:  

i found this but it only tells me that i have dual monitor support. not how to use it.

http://www.die.net/doc/linux/man/man4/savage.4.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Canadianpride

Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2007, 14:45    Post subject:  

I've been running dual monitors in puppy on my desktop for quite awhile but never tried on my laptop. This post helped me to figure out how.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=16086


Hope it helps.

Matthew.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2007, 15:00    Post subject:  

Canadianprides's link is for a system that has 3 separate graphics cards, one for each display.

Assuming your laptop doesn't have two graphics cards.
You need to explore the savage driver specific options in your device section.

http://www.die.net/doc/linux/man/man4/savage.4.html
<edit>
On reflection that doesn't seem to be very helpful. What happens if you create two device sections using the same PCI id and then have 2 screen and monitor sections, one for each of them.
</edit>
<edit2>
Arrrgh, I just had to try, didn't I.
I've just tried to get this to work on my thinkpad x30 and am so far not succeeding. I'd managed to resist the temptation to try this until now. Now my laptop feels broken. I just booted into windows for the first time in 3 months and honestly hoped that XP wouldn't be able to make it work either because my graphics card is flaky. Unfortunately it worked, windows 1, linux nil. Though the score did even when XP forcibly put the laptop into standby when I know the battery had 30 minutes left.
The last time I tried to setup dual monitors with a matrox p650
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=443742315&t=14592
it took me about 4 hours. I must stop myself from playing again!
</edit2>

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2007, 17:55    Post subject:  

yeah ever since i messed with xorg, my window manager has been different and not as cool. BUT KEEP PLAYING!!!!

I really do wish someone could come up with a simpler solution to video for the linux platform. but i know that might not be very simple.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2007, 18:18    Post subject:  

I just tried this but it didnt seem to work. i also tried this version with two different copies of the device section and named the devices card0 and card1 but no luck. maybe it would help if lspci in linux was a bit more specific?

Code:

#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"

# This loads the GLX module
    Load       "glx"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
    Load       "xtrap"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option "DontVTSwitch"


 Option "Xinerama" "true"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

    Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     320   240   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "GWY"
   ModelName    "EV700"
   Option       "DPMS"
   HorizSync    30-70
   VertRefresh  50-85
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize 330 240 # mm
   Identifier "Monitor1"
   VendorName "SNY"
   ModelName "0"
   Option "DPMS"
   HorizSync 30-70
   VertRefresh 50-85
   #UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
EndSection

Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
          ### Available Driver options are:-
          ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
          ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
          ### [arg]: arg optional
          #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
          #Option     "HWCursor"              # [<bool>]
          #Option     "SWCursor"              # [<bool>]
          #Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
          #Option     "Rotate"                # [<str>]
          #Option     "UseBIOS"               # [<bool>]
          #Option     "LCDClock"              # <freq>
          #Option     "ShadowStatus"          # [<bool>]
          #Option     "CrtOnly"               # [<bool>]
          #Option     "TvOn"                  # [<bool>]
          #Option     "PAL"                   # [<bool>]
          #Option     "ForceInit"             # [<bool>]
          #Option     "Overlay"               # [<str>]
          #Option     "TransparencyKey"       # [<str>]
          #Option     "ForceInit"             # [<bool>]
          #Option     "DisableXVMC"           # [<bool>]
          #Option     "DisableTile"           # [<bool>]
          #Option     "DisableCOB"            # [<bool>]
          #Option     "BCIforXv"              # [<bool>]
          #Option     "DVI"                   # [<bool>]
          #Option     "BusType"               # [<str>]
          #Option     "DmaType"               # [<str>]
          #Option     "DmaMode"               # [<str>]
          #Option     "AGPMode"               # <i>
          #Option     "AGPSize"               # <i>
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "vesa" #card0driver
   VendorName  "S3 Inc."
   BoardName   "86C270-294 Savage/IX-MV"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection



Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen1"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=S3_Incorporated__M7GWY1b62
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2007, 18:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
Taken from the Savage video driver man page

Option "UseBIOS" "boolean"
Enable or disable use of the video BIOS to change modes....

Note: Use of the BIOS is required for dualhead operation. Default: on (use the BIOS).




interesting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2007, 19:01    Post subject:    

I notice in the above xorg.conf that the driver is listed as vesa. I presume this is after you have tried it. I noticed that the i810 driver in mine was being replaced by vesa when xorg failed to start because of a conf file like yours but with 2 driver sections.
I will not be sucked in Smile
I will not be sucked in Smile
I will not be sucked in Smile

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laserbeak


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2007, 21:14    Post subject:  

Yeah!! i just noticed that!!!
i wonder why it would do that. it probably explains my issues with my Desktop manager

Do it!! Twisted Evil
Do it!! Twisted Evil
Do it!! Twisted Evil
Do it!! Twisted Evil
Do it!! Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0945s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]