Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 16:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Too-fast keyboard repeat is seriously ticking me off....!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2007, 03:23    Post_subject:  Too-fast keyboard repeat is seriously ticking me off....!
Sub_title: if it dosen't stop , i'm leaving puppy...! (Solved?)
 

ok , what the hell...?!

For some reason whenever i start to type something in firefox ( search engine , titlebar , HERE ) i get a typing run-on , example:

aaaaaaaaaa bbbbbbbbb cccccccccc


and so on , this dosen't happen all the time nor does it happen in any other browser or program...

i get a typing run-on - as well as - a mouse scroll wheel lock out where i can not scroll down at all...


WHAT THE F**K IS GOING ON HERE..? Evil or Very Mad

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2007, 03:29    Post_subject: Re: This is seriously ticking me off....!
Sub_title: if it dosen't stop , i'm leaving puppy...!
 

jason.b.c wrote:
ok , what the hell...?!

How is this Puppy's fault? Confused

What you seem to have here is a keyboard repeat error. I have no idea why it would only surface in Firefox, but it may have more to do with your keyboard driver and typing style than anything else. Have you tried selecting another driver?

Have you tried Swiftfox instead of Firefox? Same interface, faster cpu-optimised performance and more robust IMHO.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2007, 14:26    Post_subject: Re: This is seriously ticking me off....!
Sub_title: if it dosen't stop , i'm leaving puppy...!
 

WhoDo wrote:
jason.b.c wrote:
ok , what the hell...?!

How is this Puppy's fault? Confused

What you seem to have here is a keyboard repeat error. I have no idea why it would only surface in Firefox, but it may have more to do with your keyboard driver and typing style than anything else. Have you tried selecting another driver?

Have you tried Swiftfox instead of Firefox? Same interface, faster cpu-optimised performance and more robust IMHO.


Well..? , I dunno..?

Because this only ( and has only ) happens in puppy for me , i never had this trouble in any other installed system in this computer...

How do i change keybord drivers..? And to what...?

This is a rather cool keyboard and all , but the extra functions of it aren't going to work in puppy linux ( or most of the other linux's that i've tried )..

Could it be the keyboard repeat setting in my BIOS...? if so..., the it is puppy's fault - for exploiting the setting to an extreme...

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2007, 14:29    Post_subject:    

oh , and i also forgot to add that this problem now also happens in the console , NOT just firefox...
_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
Indy


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 65
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2007, 00:12    Post_subject:  

Hi, hopefully this might help.

Through Google I found someone who was having a similar problem with the keyboard in Linux (Debian) but not in Windows:

Quote:

Problems include:

1. It can't detect all my keys pressed
2. Something I did not type appears automatically
3. With a single press, the character can appear many time (like when the key is pressed and hold).
4. Directional buttons sometimes generate numbers 2, 4, 6 or 8 (the corresponding number on keypad)



The thread is at LinuxQuestions.org:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?t=490870

The fix:
Quote:

Xorg -configure should fix your problem on any distro
If you are having a problem with your keyboard keys repeating or seeming to stick here is how to fix it. This should work with almost any ubuntu kubuntu or other distros with gui's you will probably only see this problem in a gui desktop. Don't try to fix it with keyboard settings it won't help you. You probably added a new keyboard to your system or you selected a wrong keyboard option when you installed.

If you are using ubuntu or kubuntu or the sort logout then select session type terminal write the following command down before you do so that you will know what to do next. Or just open a terminal accessories-> terminal

sudo Xorg -configure

type the above command at the command line.
It will probably give you the following info

Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
and start again.

So do what is says and remove that file with the following command

sudo rm /tmp/.X0-lock
Then type the above command again

sudo Xorg -configure

Type

sudo reboot

Everything should work perfectly now.

The problem was caused by a bad xorg configuration. the Xorg -configure command automatically configures your keyboard for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0635s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]