Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
  New Forum: http://forum.puppylinux.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 15 Aug 2020, 01:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Auto DHCP not successful for Puppy 2.15CE
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
asdf456

Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2007, 12:06    Post subject:  Auto DHCP not successful for Puppy 2.15CE
Subject description: Test eth0 is successful BUT auto DHCP is NOT successful
 

Desperate help needed. I am using Compaq C500/C559 laptop with Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC. Internet connection with Windows XP works fine.

However when using Puppy 2.15CE, the error message when I tried to use AUTO DHCP, an error message of "Network Configuration of eth0 unsuccessful". Testing of eth0 is successful. When I ping 127.0.0.1 it is successful. when pinging 192.168.1.10, it is not successful.

Anone has experience or solutions?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2007, 12:46    Post subject:  

You can probably work around it by entering your network info manually using the network wizard.

I have no direct solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
asdf456

Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2007, 23:03    Post subject: Manual config failed as well  

Through Windows I had got the static IP and Gateway and DNS address. But when used those for Puppy, the connection still did not work.

I am trying to connect through my campus network and the administrators says that they do not entertain Linux queries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lcpdesign

Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 01:06    Post subject: Auto DHCP not successful for Puppy 3.01 either
Subject description: ethernet connection via Netgear ethernet PCMCIA card
 

I have the same-ish problem. Puppy spots the ethernet connection (UK Virgin Media Cable Broadband modem) and says it is active but when I try to Auto DHCP, it comes back as a failure. Same happens with Knoppix as well.
This is on a Compaq Presario 1930 laptop with a Netgear FA 410TX Ntwork card.

Auto DHCP works fine on my desktop connected to the same ethernet cable. Is it something to do with Virgin's servers not responding to the laptop for some reason? (I notice their CD installation supported only XP?Vista or Mac OSX not Win98 which is on the laptop)

Any help would be appreciated. I cannot get it (laptop with Puppy/Knoppix) working at my girlfriend's flat either and she also has Virgin Cable Broadband there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
furryfriend

Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue 20 May 2008, 15:08    Post subject:  

Switch the broadband modem off then on, it remembers the PC Network Card, Mac address (different for each network card).

OOps didn't realise this was so old, I was researching for another topic , had the same problem. This solved it.




ignore me. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jimmyhacker

Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 11:00    Post subject:  

get puppy 4.00.In puppy 4.00 it`s easy to configure ppp-oe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0543s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0230s) ][ GZIP on ]