Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 14:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
2.16 Alpha Bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
rrolsbe

Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 11:36    Post_subject: Re: I am getting the save button
Sub_title: Booting from closed CD with USB hard drive attached
 

John Doe wrote:
rrolsbe wrote:
Looks like Puppy thinks the external USB hard drive is a USB flash.


You can specify to puppy like this:

puppy pmedia=usbhd
or
puppy pmedia=usbflash

I don't think there is anyway to tell the difference, for certain, in code. The USB class/subclass/protocol seems to be rather unrespected by hardware makers. There is a place for them, but my drives don't seem to fall in line.


Thanks for your suggestion but I am not booting from the USB hard drive I am just using it to store my pup_save configuration file. If I use either of the pmedia commands the boot process expects the boot files to be on the selected device. I agree it would be difficult to determine if the USB attached device was a USB flash, compact flash or hard drive; therefore, if there were a boot command to tell puppy my pup_save files were being stored on a hard drive attached via USB would solve this problem. I know most people do not use a USB attached hard drives and if they do, they boot puppy from the USB attached hard drive. Puppy is by FAR the most flexible Linux distribution I have tried and adding this capability would put Puppy further out in front. NOTE: Puppy works fine thinking the pup_save file is stored on a flash device it just could work better if puppy could be told the pup_save file was on a hard drive.

Again thanks for your reply!!
Regards
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 13:32    Post_subject:  

Puppy_2.16_alpha first test:

- No bugs found for now, seems quite solid, browsing among videos & audio never gave problems; new firewall version seems faster, requires only two OK's by user;

- Nice icons, grey background doesn't stress eyes - though won't raise wows from graphics enthusiasts; new background faultlessly loaded;

- Sound works well, at least on my old test-PC; Zmixer had no mute buttons, the Puppy mixer has but mutes an input device by throwing its fader to zero. It would be best then if it could keep the fader setting when muted, giving the same volume as before when un-muted, as in hardware mixers;

- Pmount seems to work well, more intuitive GUI.

More to come as testing goes further.
Anyway fine job Barry, always wondering how you manage to do all this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 16:58    Post_subject:  

Hello, Barry and all,

Above I wrote negatively about Gxine. I have just edited that out. Please disregard. I was not comparing Gxine with other players, just complaining that I couldn't get it to work. Well, I have finally got my installation fixed and it works. As usual Barry has shown good judgment in this selection.

But I like to run a tight ship, and have already dumped realplayer and the neat xfreecd I had used as bandaids. Sorry for any confusion caused.

Henry

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 19:51    Post_subject: Can't make a 216 alpha frugal installation  

1.
216 alpha is good when I take a full installation on ext2/swap partitions and on usb stick. But i was failed to make it run with the frugal install.
Is this a bug?
2.
216 alpha was not automount the my .sfs file with full installation?. How to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 21:15    Post_subject: Mini-Volume  

Just a reminder that rarsa's newest mini-volume.tcl has not been updated in Puppy 2.16a.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=8293

Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vern72023

Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 158
Location: Jacksonville Fl

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 00:03    Post_subject:  

vanchutr
I run as a frugal install off of a cf card that presents as an ide drive formatted in fat and in fact thats what i am on writing this

one change in 216 is with how it loads sfs files and it is an enhancement not a bug

there is a new program called bootmanager under system i think and you have to use that the first time you boot to specify what sfs files you want to load - its a nice, simple program and allows for a lot of flexibility and granular control

George

_________________
george
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 09:33    Post_subject: 216 frugal installation  

To Vern72023,
Thank your fast reply.
I'd installed frugal installation with grub.exe and this menu.lst

Code:

timeout 0
default 0
title Puppy RAM
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk_size=16384 PFILE=pup_216.sfs PHOME=hda1
    initrd /initrd.gz



But I was failed with this (with loadlin.exe)
Code:

vmlinuz
root=/dev/ram0
rw
initrd=initrd.gz
vga=normal
ramdisk_size=100000
init=/etc/init
lang=en
apm=power-off
nomce
noapic
noacpi
noscsi
quiet
BOOT_IMAGE=pup_216.sfs


What difference between two installations?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 11:20    Post_subject:  

Puppy 216 is not supposed to need a ramdisk parameter ... so root=/dev/ram0 and ramdisk_size=100000 should not be necessary

i think init=/etc/init should be init=/sbin/init ... i think the kernel uses /sbin/init by default, so that parameter also may not be necessary

the BOOT_IMAGE=pup_216.sfs parameter may also not be necessary
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 21:15    Post_subject: 216 frugal installation  

Thank Guesto for your fast reply (instructions)
I'd found some strange thing:
1. I must put the vmlinuz, initrd.gz and the pup_216 on the C: root (C:\)
2. And I edited the option.txt like that:
Code:

vmlinuz
root=/dev/ram0
rw
initrd=initrd.gz
vga=normal
ramdisk_size=16380
init=/etc/init
lang=en
apm=power-off
nomce
noapic
noacpi
noscsi
quiet
PMEDIA=idehd
BOOT_IMAGE=pup_216.sfs

3. Now my pup216 ran successfully (I'd added the line 'PMEDIA=idehd'
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2007, 01:00    Post_subject:  

Where in a full install do you place .sfs files? The boot manager shows the openoffice.sfs installed and the ignore box is not checked.

I placed openoffice.sfs in / just as the pup_save and zdrv.sfs were atomatically placed there.

The openoffice.sfs was downloafed from Barry's site and md5sum checked after download. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fudgy


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 86
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2007, 03:19    Post_subject:  

i had alook at aufs wh-files, and it looks like a big step foreward to me ! Please have a look at the attached file if you like to.

## partview broken ? ##
Code:
sh-3.00# partview
Error in startup script: child process exited abnormally
    while executing
"exec /bin/losetup-FULL /dev/loop1 | grep "/pup_save" | cut -f 2 -d "(" | cut -f 1 -d ")" | cut -f 4 -d "/" "
    (procedure "df_check" line 11)
    invoked from within
"df_check"
    (file "/usr/sbin/partview" line 84)


## bootmanager issue ##
bootmanager only shows *_216.sfs files (e.g. not kde.sfs)

## feature request: bootcode ##
can we please have an official cheat code PUPSAVE=ext3,hda3,/pup_save1.3fs
also: EXTRASFS=ext3,hda3,/kde.sfs ? too many people hacking initrd.gz ...

Very polished outfit... are we going mainstream ? I personnaly think it's now time to give something back to the hard working 'hobbyists' in the form of ... uuhhmm ... money ?

-fudgy
aufs.txt.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  aufs.txt.tar.gz 
Filesize  730 Bytes 
Downloaded  352 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2007, 12:16    Post_subject: Multisession and burniso2cd  

Flash wrote:

Quote:
The iso I downloaded might be corrupted, but I thought I'd report this to see if anyone else is having the same problem with 2.16a multisession.


burniso2cd has been problematical on my system for the last 2 or threee versions of Puppy. Does not seem able to burn a normal ISO far less deal with multisession. I tried Gcombust - was OK with ISO but not OK with multisession.

I now use Xcdroast. It seem to work OK. This is the debian dotpup from Mark Ulrich's puppyisos server. Other versions including the standard version installed via petGet are missing dependencies and do not run.

Wonder if burniso2cd needs some attention.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2007, 06:31    Post_subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
Puppy 216 is not supposed to need a ramdisk parameter ... so root=/dev/ram0 and ramdisk_size=100000 should not be necessary

i think init=/etc/init should be init=/sbin/init ... i think the kernel uses /sbin/init by default, so that parameter also may not be necessary

the BOOT_IMAGE=pup_216.sfs parameter may also not be necessary

G2, 2.16alpha uses a cpio initramfs and the init script is now at /init. And yes, /init is the default so no need to specify.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2007, 06:39    Post_subject:  

I'm back from the mini-holiday, and have made lots of notes on issues raised in this thread -- will get going on it!

The reports on GParted puzzles me.... it wouldn't be an upgrade problem by any chance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1515
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2007, 10:33    Post_subject: Gparted issue  

Glad to have you back. I enjoyed your trip report and pix.
When I encountered the show-stopper with Gparted, I had booted from CD with pfix=ram so I could operate on the entire drive. No update/upgrade involved.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0976s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0124s) ][ GZIP on ]