Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 09:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
TP 770X sound problem
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2007, 00:58    Post_subject:  TP 770X sound problem  

This very embarrassing to ask but maybe its an age thing or language thing or both or my mind stopped working.so I need your help gentlemen in applying what is posted in this page:
http://tinyurl.com/26tsc7 ( I looks like the url is too long to show as link )
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki
Problem_with_broken_sound_on_ThinkPad_600

-first which puppy version is recommend (kernel wise)?! regarding this issue:
Quote:

This is reported to work at least with kernel 2.6.9, 2.6.13 and 2.6.15.

On the 770x using kernel 2.6.16/2.6.17


- would this script work on puppy?
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Script_for_configuring_the_CS4239_sound_chip_in_PnP_mode


I would be very grateful if you took the time to help me.
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2007, 03:31    Post_subject: Re: TP 770X sound problem  

EZ4arabs wrote:
would this script work on puppy?
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Script_for_configuring_the_CS4239_sound_chip_in_PnP_mode

That script looks like an ugly hack to me.
This page on the thinkwiki site is more relevant to you - http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/CS4239
(but the ALSA module options are slightly wrong, because that article relates to an old version of ALSA).

Let me summarize it in Puppy-speak:
In your bios set "QuickBoot = OFF". This is VERY IMPORTANT. It's the Thinkpad equivalent of "PnP OS = NO"
ISA devices such as your sound chip will not play well under Linux otherwise.

Now run the sound wizard, choose search for "legacy" devices, select "cs4236". Hopefully this will work. If not, you need to set up ALSA manually: open /etc/modprobe.conf in geany and add these lines -

alias snd-card-0 snd-cs4236
alias sound-slot-0 snd-cs4236
options snd-cs4236 index=0 port=0x530 cport=0x538 isapnp=0 dma1=1 dma2=0 irq=5
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 01:37    Post_subject:  

Thank you tempestuous for taking the time to help me.
sorry to say neither worked.
it seems sound on tp770x is a problem for many and takes some work to get it working:
http://www.baiti.net/tp770x/sound.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 02:47    Post_subject:  

The link you provided refers to the old OSS audio drivers, not ALSA.

Adding ALSA module entries to /etc/modprobe.conf is definitely the correct way to load ALSA modules, but I just read here that it fails with a TP770X - http://www.debianhelp.org/node/6061

So, as that link suggests, try to load your ALSA module manually once you are fully booted, like this -

modprobe snd-cs4236 port=0x530 cport=0x538 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=0 isapnp=0

... and you did set your BIOS as I suggested, right? If you don't know how to get into your BIOS settings, read this -
http://alsa.opensrc.org/Thinkpad_Simple_Boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 22:22    Post_subject:  

Mmm, no outcome.

You may be interested to know that your Thinkpad's MWave winmodem is supported under Linux.
You need Mwave-2.0-ACP-modem.pup and Mwave-modem_README.txt from -
http://puppyfiles.org/dotpupsde/dotpups/Internet/Winmodem-drivers-for-Puppy-2.00-and-2.01/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2007, 11:00    Post_subject:  

Hello Friend
First I would like to thank you for not giving up on me,but that is nothing new as I've been following your work and the way you help users till the problem is fixed and the same goes for each and everyone in the forum that never looks down on new users no matter how ignorant they are. Embarassed
I managed to get the sound working in 2 way:
-before you posted the second reply I loaded puppy from dos using grub for dos and didn't have to do anything as the speaker icon appeared after loading.
-the seond way is as you suggested to do it manually and the problem is that i had to do that everytime I boot puppy.
I noticed in the boot process several lines trying to load sound drivers (Ace97 +cs46xx+and then cs4232 which suggested in the last part to try using
cs4236 instead or cs4210 which both when trying :
modprobe snd-cs4236
modprobe snd-cs4210
error was modual not found or error instering it no such device.

sound never been essential for me since i started using puppy,just recently when my work decided to go fancy and started to use flash /flv presentations/work related objects instead of pdf.
as for the modem the funny thing is that when i was setting up puppy a while back i expected to have a problem with that internal modem but it was so easy to setup after searching the forum and dotpups.
by the way even when i got the sound working on frugal install there was no sound playing flv files on gxine nor mplayer so i used this script ( http://www.jeroenwijering.com/?item=flash_video_player )and it works fine except i can't make it full screen like gxine or mplayer.

once again Thank you sir for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2007, 07:41    Post_subject:  

EZ4arabs wrote:
the problem is that i had to do that everytime I boot puppy.

Just add those commands to /etc/rc.d/rc.local
Then they will be run every time you boot up.

EZ4arabs wrote:
error instering it no such device.

That's because the snd-cs4236 and snd-cs4210 modules are the wrong ones. They won't load because they are incompatible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2007, 00:58    Post_subject:  

Thank you very much for your help Sir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sanjoeel

Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2007, 10:04    Post_subject:  

Editing my modprobe.conf file solved my Thinkpad 380XD no-sound problem as well. Thanks! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0712s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]