Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 18 Nov 2018, 02:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to install devx_214.sfs; is swap necessary?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
nickdobrinich

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2007, 02:07    Post subject:  How to install devx_214.sfs; is swap necessary?
Subject description: newbie developer stuff

Dear Forum members,
I am a newbie convert to the wonderful simplicity and speed of Puppy Linux, having struggled with and cursed at various boxed versions for years.
Some new guy notes that might be helpful.

(1) The directions for getting devx_214.sfs installed on a hard disk install are correct but unclear.
(a) you have to get Puppy installed to the hard disk and GParted and the Puppy Universal Installer work perfectly for that. I created a 10 GB Linux ext3 partition and it's a good idea to allocate a 500 MB Linux swap partition while you're at it. Partitioning always has and should scare anyone who has wiped out more than 1 primary partition. Puppy didn't even hiccup.
(b) reboot the hard disk Puppy.
(c) download the developer devx_???.sfs file for the version of Puppy you're using.
(d) to install this .sfs you will have to boot from the live CD again.
While rebooting, give Puppy this boot command:
puppy pfix=ram
Otherwise Puppy will not be able to mount the hard disk as /mnt/hda2 (or something like that) after rebooting from the CD since it will already be mounted and using the pup_save.?fs file.
(e) mount /mnt/hda2 (or some name like that)
(f) then it will be possible to follow the console commands for c/c++ compiling given at: