Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 15:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Dotpup requests
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2005, 09:33    Post_subject:  Dotpup requests  

I have made three Dotpups so far
This one might be a little beyond me (did try a while back)

Knotplot - which is pretty pschedelic . . .
http://www.pims.math.ca/knotplot/download/

Who is up for it?

This program repels coakroaches and mosquitos via your mobile phone. Is there one for Linux that works on fruit flies? (working on an infestation using non lethal aromatherapy sprays at the moment - not only are the fruit flies leaving unharmed, they are feeling very chilled)
http://my-symbian.com/7650/applications/applications.php?fldAuto=1039&faq=2


What program would you like to have dotpupped?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2005, 23:42    Post_subject:  

byond- http://byond.com
Where you can make your own games / play others.

I can copy the files manually, but whenever i do that, i keep on getting errors that it's not installed right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
doopdoop

Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 48
Location: Magdeburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2005, 00:28    Post_subject: Re: Dotpup requests  

Lobster wrote:

This program repels coakroaches and mosquitos via your mobile phone. Is there one for Linux that works on fruit flies? (working on an infestation using non lethal aromatherapy sprays at the moment - not only are the fruit flies leaving unharmed, they are feeling very chilled)
http://my-symbian.com/7650/applications/applications.php?fldAuto=1039&faq=2


I don't know, if the above thing really works, but here is a simple signal generator which does basically the same thing, although you have to find out which frequencies work.
http://linux.maruhn.com/sec/siggen.html

BTW: It would be a little bit ironic to scare away dogs with a Puppy making high frequency tones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2005, 00:34    Post_subject:  

If this truly is the place to request dot-pups, then I would strongly, from the bottom of my heart request that some smart bastard try and port VLC for Puppy....

It really is the superior media player as far as I'm concerned, I've even got it to play full-srceen in Win98 (where nothing else would)....

Yes, it's really large, I know.... but I can hope, right? I tried to compile it, but I don't know what I'm doing... I could do small uncomplicated apps like dillo, but vlc requires so much, I just keep getting lost....

Eventually, eventually I will figure it out...

In the meantime there's Bladehunters xfree86 release! Mplayer seems to play fine on it, but I can't help thinking how much nicer it'd be to have VLC Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RahulA
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 10:33    Post_subject: Need an application to view webcam  

Hello,

I have a webcam (IBM NetCamera).
I have installed the drivers for this camera under puppy and dmesg shows me the camera to be detected and working on /dev/video0.

Now what I need is an application to view this camera.

I tried many ways of installing the applications like xawtv, streamer, camE, motion, camorama etc. but could not successfully view the camera. They all say no video grabber device found, or /dev/video0 initialization failed.

Somehow I am quite sure this is application level problem as driver level everything is working fine.

Can some one please provide an application package to me (with guidelines to install) to view the camera? I would be highly obliged if some one could do this for me.

Thanks and Regards,
Rahul
Back to top
seldomseen


Joined: 30 May 2005
Posts: 40
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 14:40    Post_subject:  

Hmm ... a dotPup of jpilot would be a groove ... a sackful of dependencies involved (pilot-link and others). Is it doable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 18:31    Post_subject:  

Is their a version of "modem lights" not dependent on Gnome or KDE that would place a modem indicator icon down in tray when connected to internet. I know Gkdial has the B/s in and out in its window but dont want it on desktop once connected.

The 'Torsmo program has network up and down, but apparently doesnt work with modem (shows no traffic ever) and also takes screen space.

Hmm some distributions have the little moving graph in corner of desktop, but again rather have something in the tray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 18:59    Post_subject:  

you can monitor ppp0 if you edit the torsmo config file
you can right click my latest wrapper and select whether to use the built in eth or ppp config files

icewm has a nice traffic up/down graph on the task bar, for eth and ppp ... also a cpu load graph ... i find them very useful

Puppy has the wmnd dock app ... works with fvwm95 or fluxbox ... works with icewm if you run icedock (or just run it and let the wmnd window float)

gkrellm has network activity monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 19:19    Post_subject:  

FVWM has a little red plug in the tray when connected to the internet ( using GKdial ).
Icewm, as GuestToo said, has an activity monitor for online usage in the tray. Depending on which theme you're using though. On the truecurve theme this monitor is almost invisible unless you tweak the colours a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 20:16    Post_subject:  

Yes see the little red plug, but it doesnt show modem activity, just that modem is connected. I have instances of when I may be connected to my isp, but if I bring up the gkdial box, there is no activity, I am dead in the water. I've seen other activity monitors, but still liked the old Gnome modem lights which KDE then made a version of. Immediate feedback without getting in the way, just like watching lights on an external modem. Did a search and couldnt find any independent version of modem lights.

As to ICEWM, well I just like FVWM95 better, always have. Just a personal preference.

I looked at GKrellm and its that moving graph thing. Again a space waster for me. I am jealous of my browser screen space, dont want extra bars or trays or pods or whatever competing for space. Dont want to switch back and forth from browser to desktop.

The little plug thingy would be fine if it had the modem lights or revolved or twisted side to side or something when there is in and out activity. Matter of fact thats what modem lights was, a little icon in the tray that mimicked the modem activity as you would see on an external serial modem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 22:34    Post_subject:  

Ok, played some with Torsmo. Got it down to just displaying "Up: k/s - Down k/s". How can I keep it on top of all windows automatically or to display down in tray somehow or up in middle of blue bar at top of Dillo. I dont know, still awfully bulky
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 22:58    Post_subject:  

wmnd is smaller, and runs in it's own window
i think you can edit fvwm95rc to make the window always-on-top (it's trivially easy to do in icewm)

here's a ppp graphical monitor http://www.rastersoft.com/pppmonen.html ... not quite what you want ... there's a ready to run binary file in the package
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 03:56    Post_subject:  

Maybe you can try this.

To have Torsmo running on top of all windows, first it has to have it's own window rather than running on the destop.

Edit /root/.torsmorc
change "own_window no" to
own_window yes

Now if you use icewm,
Edit /root/.icewm/winoptions
add this line:
torsmo.layer: OnTop

Torsmo should now be on top of all windows.

To add an icon tt the tray and never create a task pane button:

Edit /root/.icewm/winoptions
add:
torsmo.tray: Exclusive

more:
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/wm
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/icewmwinopt
Back to top
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 04:00    Post_subject:  

it's me above Mr. Green
_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 08:30    Post_subject:  

Thanks Puppian, but I dont use icewm, I like fvwm95.

I did finally chop torsmo down to size I think I can live with. It's location after little finessing is fine with Dillo and Opera, but interfers with google box on Firefox. I can live with it though and it does what I want. Will post screen shot of it one of these days.

Works fine on my old laptop with barebones 1.0.4. though I have to figure how to force it to stay on top. But on my desktop with Puppy 1.0.1, the Torsmo configuration file doesnt seem to be able keep changes made. On reboot, changes gone and back to default. Some little bug I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0886s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]