Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 22:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Grafpup-2.xx fourth (and final) alpha
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 21 [311 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 16:02    Post subject:  

Thanks, that answers that question and clears up a little different sccenario in my mind. I know Barry is working on fixing some bugs in grubconfig, but this is one of those special cases we are going to have to take into account sometime. I'll start looking at grubconfig and see if there's anything I can do about it, even if it's just a little warning in there somewhere.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 16:53    Post subject:  

Hi Nathan, Been playing with opera-beta. I tried installing kino. It all seemed to go well, but kino won't load from the menu. I found it in the file system and clicked it to run it, but still no go, nothing. A search revealed lots of kino files so it all seems to be there.
Also, gparted is not in the start menu. Don't know if that was intended?
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 17:59    Post subject:  

Kino more than likely missed some library dependency. I may not have gotten that information all up to date, or it might possibly be related to the updated ffmpeg. Can you run it in a terminal and let me know what it says?

Gparted is more than likely a case of a .desktop file gone missing. It should definately be in the iso.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 18:48    Post subject:  

gparted runs ok from the terminal.
Kino gets:
sh-3.00# kino
kino: error while loading shared libraries: libdts.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
EDIT: Hardware Probe doesn't run from the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 20:15    Post subject:  

Kino has a dependency on libdts, which is in the repo as well. It was the only one I didn't get lited in the database file, so with beta you will have to install libds manually using one of the package managers.

Gparted was a missing .desktop file, or rather an incorrect one that needed a quick edit. I just fixed both issues in the current tree.

I'm checking on the hardware probe now.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 21:33    Post subject:  

I booted up the beta and messed around for a few minutes. I'll try and do some more testing later tonight but have got some things to do first. Besides the missing libdts which ffmpeg depends on, I'm not sure if you wanted to remove tkConvert and replace it with rarsa's re-write called pConvert (smaller and nicer looking). I'm pretty sure I uploaded pConvert to you. What are the /usr/local/bin/play & play_cell for? Just curious if they're really necessary. I know sox's play is in /usr/bin/.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2007, 22:03    Post subject:  

yeah, pConvert got missed. I just edited the packages.txt file to do the replacement when I build the next iso.

Not sure where the /usr/local/bin/play and /usr/local/bin/play_cell files are coming from, I'll have to do a search around all the audio packages to figure out where they are coming from.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 00:13    Post subject:  

My main reason for trying was kino in the Beta . . .

I shuddered when having to put in user details to get a console BUT this is a design feature and the whole multi-user aspect and the interface are excellent.

The overall user experience and elegance of the beta illustrate what I consider the most beautiful Puppy. For those interested in working graphically, this is important. Apple is the most aesthetic and most used by graphic types for a reason . . .

I hope Nathan gets loads of feedback because this is doing so many things, exactly right for its intended audience.

woof woof Embarassed

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 00:32    Post subject:  

Thanks Lobster, I'm all warm and fuzzy now.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
SimonW

Joined: 28 Mar 2007
Posts: 60
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 04:37    Post subject:  

I have run the probedisk and probepart commands on the machine with the (troublesome) multi-slot usb card reader. The results are:

Dougal's probedisk2:
/dev/hda|cdrom|PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-110
/dev/hdc|disk|Maxtor 6Y080L0
/dev/|Direct-Access|OEI-USB MMC/SD
/dev/|Direct-Access|OEI-USB Smartmedia
/dev/|Direct-Access|OEI-USB CompactFlash
/dev/|Direct-Access|OEI-USB Memory Stick

Dougal's probepart2:
/dev/hdc1|vfat|28675962
/dev/hdc2|ntfs|131395634
/dev/hda|iso9660|0

It's already been pointed out by plinej (Jason?) that there is an improvement possible.

Nathan's updated probedisk/probepart give the following (now, with a 512Mb CF card in slot):

probedisk:
/dev/hdc|disk|Maxtor 6Y080L0
/dev/hda|cdrom|PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-110
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|OEI-USB MMC/SD
/dev/sdb|Direct-Access|OEI-USB Smartmedia
/dev/sdc|Direct-Access|OEI-USB CompactFlash
/dev/sdd|Direct-Access|OEI-USB Memory Stick

probepart:
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sda
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdb
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdd
/dev/hdc1|vfat|28675962|Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc2|ntfs|131395635|OS/2 HPFS or NTFS
/dev/hda|iso9660|PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-110
/dev/sdc1|msdos|10233001|DOS 16-bit FAT >=32M


Excellent!
I copied probedisk & probepart into /sbin and /initrd/bin then on running the Puppy Installer it offered me four choices sda...sdd for the memory card reader slots.
I think this has been fully solved now, thanks guys.

I still have a slight problem with making bootable Grafpup CF cards, ie. some cards work and some don't, I mentioned in a previous post I was getting mount errors etc. I am trying to nail down a process to get it right.

Dougal:
On the sata machine (with cf card for hd0 for boot), I ran the following:

# find /proc -name 'sda'
<returned nothing>

# find /sys -name 'sda'
/sys/block/sda
# ls /sys/block/sda
device block range removable <snip rest>

# find /sys -name '1:0:0:0'
/sys/class/scsi_disk/1:0:0:0
/sys/class/scsi_device/1:0:0:0
/sys/bus/scsi/drivers/sd/1:0:0:0
/sys/bus/scsi/devices/1:0:0:0
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/host1/target1:0:0/1:0:0:0

Phew. I didn't dive into the directories through lack of time.
This info might be redundant with the most recent probedisk/probepart from Nathan, but perhaps a useful reference. When I download an Opera build, I can copy and paste rather than retyping...

Cheers guys
Simon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 04:58    Post subject:  

Not sure how to get libdts as it still isn't listed in gpkgtool.
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 05:10    Post subject:  

msummer, Nathan's grafpup package repository is at:

http://grafpup.org/index.php?path=.%2Fpackages%2F2.0%2F
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alienx


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 141
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 07:13    Post subject:  

please, what are the squashfile extensions to be used with the latest beta ?



http://grafpup.org/modules/devx_005.sfs

http://grafpup.org/modules/jre_004.sfs

http://www.bubbleletter.org/downloads/grafpup/OOo_005.sfs

http://www.bubbleletter.org/downloads/grafpup/usr_multimedia.sfs

http://www.bubbleletter.org/downloads/grafpup/usr_web.sfs

_________________
Sorry, broken english above Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 07:29    Post subject:  

devx_oo5.sfs - OOo_005.sfs - jre_004.sfs can all be used with the beta, although jre_004.sfs will have to be renamed jre_005.sfs in order to be used. By way of explanation OOo stands for Open Office, and jre stands for Java Runtime Environment. I'll have a couple more to use in a few weeks, but I can't get all the files out at once if you know what I mean. I uploaded several gigabytes worth of files in the last couple days.

MIke - http://grafpup.org/packages/2.0/libdts-0.0.2.tar.gz is the package you want.

Simon - Do you mean the probedisk and probepart I posted as attachments here? I need to make sure what works best and really need to nail it down soon.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2007, 10:53    Post subject:  

Nathan: the CFcard might be recognised as "hda" if it's connected via a IDE adapter (one of the options Barry has in the installer).

Simon: It's great that you at least confirmed that /sys/block/hda exists...


I have created a dotpup for testing HW, which runs a bunch of tests and gives you a tarball to send me...
Do dotpups work on Grafpup? If so, please try it -- it will save all this playing around...
HW-test.pup
Description 
pup

 Download 
Filename  HW-test.pup 
Filesize  1.83 KB 
Downloaded  301 Time(s) 

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 21 [311 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0994s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0227s) ][ GZIP on ]