What versions of GTK and GLib is Puppy 1.0.5 using? (Solved)

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

What versions of GTK and GLib is Puppy 1.0.5 using? (Solved)

#1 Post by rarsa »

Does anybody have an idea of what versions puppy is using?

I am trying to compile a very simple test stub that uses gnome-menu.

It compiles OK but it complains while linking.

Code: Select all

undefined reference to 'menu_layout_load'
I am attaching the simple test program. Can someone have a look?

Prerequisites:

Download and compile gnome-menus source:
ftp://ftp.gnome.org/pub/gnome/sources/gnome-menus/2.12/

To make it work on puppy you need to disable python during configuration

Code: Select all

./configure --disable-python
Then make and make install as normal

It requires to include glib and gnome-menu libraries. Here is the compilation command I'm using (of course, replace the /root/data/tmp with the path where you extracted the gnome-menus).

Code: Select all

gcc -I/root/data/tmp/gnome-menus-2/12/0/libmenu -I/usr/include/glib-2.0 -I/usr/lib/glib-2.0/include -o test main.c
Attachments
gnome-menu-test.tar.gz
(257 Bytes) Downloaded 369 times
Last edited by rarsa on Tue 25 Oct 2005, 04:09, edited 1 time in total.

Guest

#2 Post by Guest »

i think Puppy 1.0.5 is using gtk-1.2.10 and gtk-2.6.1
see here

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#3 Post by rarsa »

Thank you,

Actually the problem was not the version of gtk or glib. I was including the wrong header in my program.

That happens when you try to use undocumented APIs.

To their credit, to compile you have to add a define MENU_I_KNOW_THIS_IS_UNSTABLE.

So, now I'm able to use the library. I will, by trial and error, figure out how to use it. I've actually made some progress.

Post Reply