Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 20:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to add ALSA to Puppy 1.0.4 HD install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jan 2006, 14:57    Post_subject:  

Anonymous wrote:

downloaded said files and got error message installing it said "either files are corrupted or did not go into own folders as is normal


Try downloading the files again. If they fail send me a pm and I can email them to you.


richiew wrote:
when I rebooted it no longer works.
....
The error says that there is no space left.


How are you running puppy HD, CD with pup001 or Multisession?

If you are running a HD install, then the files should exist and would only be overwritten not requiring additional space.

If its a CD or Multisession puppy then the files would be going into your ramdisk. Since it worked the first time from CD then the only thing I can think of is that maybe something is causing the ramdisk to be used up more than the first time you tried. Are you running a 'pristine' puppy or a remastered one? What other packages have you installed? How big is the ramdisk and how much space is left?

If you are running from CD try a new pupxxx file or a fresh multisession CD and let us know what happens.

~~~~~~

I tested alsa today with puppy 1.0.7 multisession CD. Rebooted and alsa worked without any tinkering. Can someone try it again with a fresh multisession cd and post their results?

Flash
Are you talking about the multisession or the HD puppy? If multisession then (based on my results) it isn't necessary. For HD install the rc.loadalsa should look like this after the edits:

Code:

#----- if alsa is installed
if [ -f /usr/sbin/alsaconf ]
then
   #----- if alsa is configured
   if [ -f /var/lock/subsys/alsasound ]
   then
      rm /var/lock/subsys/alsasound
   fi

   if [ -f /etc/alsa.conf ]
   then
      #---- try to remove oss modules

      echo "Searching for OSS drivers...."
      OSS_MOD=`lsmod | grep soundcore | gawk '{ print $5 }' | sed 's/[^a-zA-Z0-9]//g'`

      if [ ! -z "$OSS_MOD" -a "$OSS_MOD" != "snd" ]
      then
         echo "Found OSS driver $OSS_MOD"
         rmmod `lsmod | grep $OSS_MOD | grep -v core | gawk '{ print $1 }'`
         sleep 2
      else
         echo "No OSS drivers located."
         sleep 5
      fi

      #---- backup modules.conf in case we want to reconfigure alsa

      if [ ! -f /etc/modules.bak ]
      then
         cp /etc/modules.conf /etc/modules.bak
      fi
      echo "Loading alsa...."

                #------ start alsa

      cat /etc/alsa.conf >> /etc/modules.conf
                /etc/rc.d/rc.alsa start

        else
                echo "PLEASE run alsaconf from a console to configure alsa."
                echo "pausing for 10 secs...."
                sleep 10
        fi
fi

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jan 2006, 15:10    Post_subject:  

This is long post. Can you tell me how to install alsa and configure it in brief ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jan 2006, 22:20    Post_subject:  

jcoder24 wrote:
Instructions

1. Download & install alsa-1.0.10-1211a.pup
2. Download & install alsacfg-1.0.10-1226.pup
3. open console and run alsacfg
4. Follow onscreen instructions.

NB. If you want alsa to load on boot you must answer Yes to "Do you want to modify /etc/modules.conf?"


If you're running a HD install see above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2006, 03:05    Post_subject:  

OK I did that. I am not on HD install, and these are the troubles I am having. Immediately after install sound is working. I have also selected yes when asked to modify /etc/modules.conf. But after reboot there is no sound. Some messages show at bootup ie copying modules ... then some error messages but they are too fast for me to read, and I am not able to find them anywhere in /tmp/xrerrs.txt of /var/log/messages or /var/log/Xorg.log. After X has started I have to run alsacfg after every boot to have sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
jcoder24-guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2006, 10:33    Post_subject:  

next time you reboot run /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa and report what happens.

jc
Back to top
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2006, 12:03    Post_subject:  

Code:

# /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa
Searching for OSS drivers....
Found OSS driver i810audio
Usage:
rmmod [-aehrsvV] module ...

  -a, --all     Remove all unused modules
  -e, --persist Save persistent data, do not unload module
  -r, --stacks  Remove stacks, starting at the named module
  -s, --syslog  Use syslog for error messages
  -h, --help    Print this message
  -v, --verbose Be verbose
  -V, --version Print the release version number
Loading alsa....
Starting sound driver: snd-intel8x0 Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.29/modules.dep
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
      You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o failed
/lib/modules/2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
      You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
/lib/modules/2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o failed
/lib/modules/2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod snd-intel8x0 failed
done
ERROR: Could not load ALSA drivers
#


however when i run alsacfg the my card is detected and the module gets loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
richiew

Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Lincs. Uk

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2006, 10:55    Post_subject:  

Sorry, I shoudl have included that details before.

WIth regard to my installation I am tempted to say 'none of the above'. I used the WinXP installer (although I have Win2000) since I was having trouble getting the PCMCIA CDROM to work. I think this makes it a HD install but with the charateristics of a CD.

Anyway. The questions you were asking about Ramdisks seemed to be getting to the heart of the issue so I decided to look at the output from df (see below). I wonder whether this issue is linked to anothe one that I posted elsewhere regarding the /lib/modules/ directory 'disappearing'. The first output of df is whne the machine has booted. This remains the case until the aforementioned directory disappears, the the result changes to the second use of df.

I have installed OpenOffice (/usr_more.cfs) and also Pearl (in order to get Wireless netowrking running).

Something odd is happening somwehere, but I do not know what.

Thanks for taking the time to reply.
df.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.26 KB
 Viewed   2179 Time(s)

df.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2006, 23:04    Post_subject:  

bombayrockers
I've figured out the problem. The oss modules are not being removed for your sound card which I think is the same as Flash's. Apparently I forgot to update rc.loadalsa when I made the last change to alsacfg. ** Edit ** I've updated alsacfg.pup with the changes highlighted in red below, once they test ok for HD install and the i810 card (ie Flash's & bombayrockers' card) I'll repackage the full package with the updates and other changes below.

Changes for new packages are:
1. Fix oss module(s) detection and removal in rc.loadalsa. (tested with live CD & pup001 with emu10k1 driver)
2. Add checks for HD install to allow for faster booting. (needs testing)

3. Add oss compatibility modules.
4. Gzip all modules to save space (currently modules take up ~5 - 7 MBs).


richiew
I'll have to spend a bit more time investigating your problem. Maybe someone that has used perl and the openoffice usr_more file can help shed some light. Meanwhile, providing a link to the other post you mention may help as well.

jc
alsacfg-1.0.10-0124.pup
Description  Additional fixes and speed improvements for HD installation
pup

 Download 
Filename  alsacfg-1.0.10-0124.pup 
Filesize  5.99 KB 
Downloaded  464 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
richiew

Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Lincs. Uk

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jan 2006, 16:28    Post_subject:  

jcoder 24

Thanks for your time.

Here is the link:

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=33921#33921

(Looking back, my typing is really really bad!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jan 2006, 20:57    Post_subject:  

Updated alsacfg.pup see above
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11082
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 21:39    Post_subject:  

Thanks jcoder. I still have to run alsacfg when I start (1.0.7, live CD, pup001 file on hd) but that didn't work before, so you're on the right track. Smile

Skype works, after running alsacfg. (Must install this dotpup along with the download from Skype.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jc-guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 21:44    Post_subject:  

Flash:

Try running /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa instead of alsacfg on start up and post your results.

jc
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11082
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2006, 23:20    Post_subject:  

Quote:
# /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa
Searching for OSS drivers....
Found OSS driver i810audio
Usage:
rmmod [-aehrsvV] module ...

-a, --all Remove all unused modules
-e, --persist Save persistent data, do not unload module
-r, --stacks Remove stacks, starting at the named module
-s, --syslog Use syslog for error messages
-h, --help Print this message
-v, --verbose Be verbose
-V, --version Print the release version number
Loading alsa....
Starting sound driver: snd-intel8x0 Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.29/modules.dep
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including inva lid IO or IRQ parameters.
You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/p ci/snd-intel8x0.o failed
/lib/modules/2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including inva lid IO or IRQ parameters.
You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
/lib/modules/2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod /lib/modules/ 2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o failed
/lib/modules/2.4.29/2.4.29/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod snd-intel8x0 failed
done
ERROR: Could not load ALSA drivers

After all that, the Snack Tone Generator works, but at the low level indicating to me that OSS is what's making the noise; its default level is much louder when alsa is working.

There's something else. When alsacfg reports the soundcards it finds, there are two instances of them. Might that cause confusion?
alsacfg_snd_cards.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.01 KB
 Viewed   2105 Time(s)

alsacfg_snd_cards.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2006, 03:17    Post_subject:  

The cards showing up twice doesn't prevent alsaconf or alsa for working. Each entry is a duplicate of the other and it doesn't make a difference which one you select. It usu. happens if you run alsaconf or alsacfg more than once. I was planning to 'hack' alsaconf some more to correct this once all of the persistence issues were resolved.

The problem looks to be the same oss not being 'uninstalled' issue. The thing is that the same script (/usr/local/bin/rmoss) is being called in both rc.loadalsa and alsacfg to uninstall oss so I can't figure out why it's wouldn't work.

Run these test and let me know what happens.
1. Verify that /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa contains a line that says /usr/local/bin/rmoss.
Code:
grep rmoss /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa


2 If not, reinstall alsacfg.pup and verify the line exists now. Once it does, run /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa. If that works reboot and see what happens.

3 If it does contain the line then run /usr/local/bin/rmoss. If rmoss gives the same errors as you posted above replace the code in rmoss with the one below, rerun rmoss and post your results.

Code:
#---- remove oss modules

echo "Searching for OSS drivers...."
OSS_MOD=`lsmod | grep soundcore | sed 's/.* / /' | sed 's/[^a-z\-\_A-Z0-9]//g'`

if [ "$OSS_MOD" = "sound" ]; then
   OSS_MOD=`lsmod | grep sound | grep -v core |  sed 's/\(.*\[\)\(.*\)\(\]\)/\2/' | sed 's/[\ ]/\ -e /g'`
fi

if [ ! -z "$OSS_MOD" -a "$OSS_MOD" != "snd" ]
then
   echo "Removing OSS drivers..."
   echo `lsmod | grep -e $OSS_MOD | grep -v core | gawk '{ print $1 }'`

   for mod in `lsmod | grep -e $OSS_MOD | grep -v core | gawk '{ print $1 }'`
   do
      echo $mod
      rmmod $mod
   done
   sleep 2
else
   echo "No loaded OSS modules found!!!"
   sleep 5
fi


If I can't get the oss modules removal working for all soundcards then I would have to look into preventing oss from starting. However, Barry has started working on ALSA for Puppy2 so depending on how soon a 'stable alpha' is released my efforts may no longer be need.

jc
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2006, 04:20    Post_subject:  

jc,
when the next pre-alpha of puppy2 comes out, there are bound to still be issues with getting it working properly, where your experience and help will be invaluable.

By the way, I've just edited the Developer News page, as it was yourself that proposed the modification to the path of modinfo, not Tempestuous.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1066s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0086s) ][ GZIP on ]