Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 03:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to add ALSA to Puppy 1.0.4 HD install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [91 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2005, 22:06    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:

I downloaded your dotput but haven't tried installing it because I suppose it will conflict with Puppy's default sound software.


The dotpup shouldn't interfere with puppy's default sound (at least it hasn't during my testing and it was created in such a way that it shouldn't overwrite or delete any files). To resort to puppy's default sound just comment out the lines in /etc/rc.d/rc.local that pertain to alsa --at the least comment out the one that calls /etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa.

If you want to be absolutely sure you can always test it with a new pupxxx file.

jc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Wed 07 Dec 2005, 19:30    Post subject:  

I've updated the scripts in the alsa dotpup and repackaged it. For those who have downloaded the previous package, I've uploaded a small dotpup (alsacfg-xxxxx) with just the scripts.

Future fixes and additions would be via the smaller alsacfg-xxxxx packages. After the package is determined to be working for majority of people I'll merge the fixes into the full package.

jc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11017
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2005, 01:01    Post subject:  

OK I downloaded the latest dotpups from here and installed them without doing anything by way of preparation. Shocked I tried to run alsaconfig (by clicking on the gear icon) without restarting xwin and my system froze completely. Even ctrl-alt-delete didn't work. So I held in the button until the computer shut off and then restarted it. Everything seemed to be OK. All the sound applications in Start -> Multimedia seem to work, which is better than before. Smile

However, now Gizmo seemed to be broken. It did nothing when I tried to start it by Start -> Dotpups -> Run-Gizmo so I reinstalled all the Gizmo dotpups. Most of them gave the dialog box saying they were already there and did I want to overwrite the existing files, but three of them didn't:
    libstdc++6.pup
    libidn.pup
    libGconf.pup

After I reinstalled Gizmo I tried out the echo number and it seemed to work much louder than before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11017
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2005, 01:55    Post subject:  

Sound seems to work in Gizmo but afterward I have to run Start -> Dotpups -> Run Alsacfg to get the sound to work in Puppy.

There's a critical update to Gizmo Linux dated 1 Dec.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5234
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2005, 10:10    Post subject:  

Well done, jcoder24.
Apart from a lockup like Flash described when trying to run alsacfg the first time, this works great. Setup is straightforward and the configuration survives reboots.
This puts the DamnSmallLinux/Knoppix ALSA package to shame, which involves ALSA auto-detection at EVERY boot up, extending an already lengthy boot sequence.

I tried your DotPup on a different PC than I normally use, with some other audio applications that I have compiled – mpg321 and ogg123. I was surprised to find that the commandline options I normally need to pass to these applications in order to work with ALSA were not necessary. I then realised that ALSA was working in OSS emulation mode … without your extra alsa-oss library DotPup. This is confusing.

So as an experiment, I disabled ALSA’s OSS compatibility by commenting out all lines in /etc/modules.conf0 like these “alias sound-service ….oss”.
Now the applications that are not fully ALSA-compatible refuse to work - Snack and xtmix.

So what are the ramifications of this? Is there any benefit in running audio applications in true ALSA mode? CPU usage? Functionality? If anyone here knows, please explain.

For the record, Xine in Puppy is fully ALSA-compatible.
The MPlayer DotPup from GuestToo (which is actually from DSL) is missing ALSA as an option in its audio output preferences, but the SDL option will act as an interface to the ALSA driver.


One little fix needed – in the interests of size the 719KB libasound.so.2.0.0 file I supplied was taken from Vector Linux 5.0 STD beta, because the compiled version was 3.5MB. But of course, the Vector version (1.0.5) doesn’t match the version of the rest of the compiled package. And I have just discovered one problem this causes – alsamixer won’t launch.
Now that I know about the “strip” utility I can get the compiled libasound file down to the same size anyway. So I will email the correct version (1.0.10) to jcoder24.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2005, 17:37    Post subject:  

Reply to post http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=4454

krumpli wrote:

Well the installs proceeded with the only problem that my next to final message being "could not load alsa drivers".


"could not load alsa drivers" usu occurs if the oss modules are not removed before trying to install the alsa modules. You can try lsmod | grep sound to verify that oss wasn't unloaded. You can check /var/log/messages or run insmod snd-xxxx where snd-xxxx is the module for your card for more info.

What was the name of the alsa pup file you downloaded?

Quote:
Since there was no uninstall for alsa pup I attemted to remove "alsa" by deleting two alsa folders.

You should be able to uninstall the dotpup via pupget package manager. However, that wouldn't cleanup the /etc/rc.d/rc.local script.

Which two alsa folders did you delete?

Quote:
I now have problem on boot up where script shows my /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.29/modules.dep

This isn't really a problem, just a system notice.

Quote:
AND in addition there appears to be a reference in file rc.d that needs to be edited or removed since the follwing message also appears:

"Copying alsa modules into place...
/etc/rc.d/rc.local: /etc.rc.d/rc.loadalsa: No such file or directory'


I'll create a script to uninstall alsa. Untill then you can manually clean up /etc/rc.d/rc.local by deleting all of the following lines:
Code:

echo Copying alsa modules into place....

cp -r /usr/lib/modules/2.4.29/kernel/sound/* /lib/modules/2.4.29/sound > /dev/null
depmod

#load alsa
/etc/rc.d/rc.loadalsa



jc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2005, 17:51    Post subject:  

Flash

The installation doesn't require a reboot or xwin restart.

The icon should be puppy's wizard icon, so I hope that the right program ran. Maybe I should remove the menu entry?

As for the system freezing I'm at a lost, if only we had some logs. It would be nice to see what happens with a 'clean' pupxxx file.

The Gizmo scenario is a bit weird. I'll run some test tonight and try to compile an updated gizmo package.

NB To verify that alsa is loaded you can run /etc/rc.d/rc.alsa status.

jc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
krumpli

Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Florida USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2005, 20:51    Post subject: HOW to add Alsa to Puppy HD install  

It appears that the topic was moved to this forum.

The two pup files downloaded were (from this forum):
alsa-1.0.10-1207a.pup and alsa-oss.pup. The oss pup did show in the removal list when you went to the package manager, but the alsa did not appear. I must also mention that I do not recall seeing the alsacfg pup listed above the oss pup in this forum. I actually downloaded the pup by clicking on a link in the forum that connected to rapid upload and was then shown the alsa pup to download. In addition it was unclear which should be run first. My procedure was to run the alsa extraction first and then the oss extraction and finally the alsacfg script.

Afterwards when I rebooted my boot script had a new portion added at the end that started with grep and some instructions, but can provide no more info since the screen was scrolling too quickly.

Sorry to say that I do not recall what the two folders were that I deleted but can add that they both had alsa as the whole name or part of the name..

There also was an issue in the forum with removing the oss drivers first. BUT it appeared to me (my interpretation skills as you can see are weak) that one of the installation scripts did the removal.

In my PM with Flash he stated he could not find where the download for either alsa or oss went onto his filesystem. I did not have this problem. Both downloads were in the expected folder. Both extracted well. Then I ran the command alsacfg from the rxvt console window (and yes there was a menu added to the start menu that most likely would have done the same). Finally when the alsa config was nearing completion the notice that "could not load alsa drivers".

On a closing note I most likely did not fare to well with my reading comprehension either since you will note that this forum heading has to do with adding Alsa to a Puppy HD installation and I am using Puppy as a live cd option 1 ( I do have a gig of ram) so maybe/most likely therein lies the problem.

Thanks again,
PaulM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11017
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Dec 2005, 00:53    Post subject: Re: HOW to add Alsa to Puppy HD install  

krumpli wrote:
...In my PM with Flash he stated he could not find where the download for either alsa or oss went onto his filesystem....

Just so nobody can claim I caused more than my fair share of confusion, at that time I think I had only tried the alsa pupget; I had not yet tried jcoder24's alsa dotpups. I still have no idea where the OSS files are, but jcoder24's alsa dotpups seem to work without requiring me to, so I'm a happy camper. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 01:09    Post subject:  

Removed alsa-oss package as it appears not to be needed.

Uploaded new/updated files to original post.

Changes
- Updated libasound (for version consistency) in the original package and provided it as separate package.
- Updated the run-alsacfg menu entry to run in the foreground in a rxvt console.
- Added some error checks to configuration and startup scripts.
- Created rmalsa to uninstall alsa.
- Backup /etc/modules.conf on boot so that alsa can be easily reconfigured at any time.

jc

Last edited by jcoder24 on Sun 11 Dec 2005, 02:11; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11017
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 01:14    Post subject:  

Hey jcoder, thanks. Should it work ok with 1.0.7a do you think?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 01:17    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Hey jcoder, thanks. Should it work ok with 1.0.7a do you think?


It should. I'll test it and post my results.

**EDIT** Works fine in 1.0.7a

Last edited by jcoder24 on Sun 11 Dec 2005, 02:09; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 01:39    Post subject: Re: HOW to add Alsa to Puppy HD install  

krumpli wrote:

Finally when the alsa config was nearing completion the notice that "could not load alsa drivers".

Next time run lsmod before you run alsacfg and post the details here. Note what happens while alsacfg is running especially the part that reports if any OSS drivers were found. Also, post the contents of /etc/alsa.conf if it exists.

Quote:
On a closing note I most likely did not fare to well with my reading comprehension either since you will note that this forum heading has to do with adding Alsa to a Puppy HD installation


The package should work for both hard drive and live cd 'installations' of puppy. However, the package is still in the testing phase and there may be something about your system that I may need to pay more attention to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11017
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 13:16    Post subject:  

I downloaded the alsa dotpup package and installed it in 1.0.7a, apparently without a hitch.

In the alsa thread in the Add'l S'ware forum,
tempestuous wrote:
...I originally added ALSA to my version of Puppy because I noticed that with my ESS ES1879 and OSS that music playback was the wrong speed … just slightly. With ALSA the playback speed was perfect. I have since discovered that the playback speed problem occurs when you are dual-booting with Window$ - the Window$ driver initialises the card in some way that causes a problem for the OSS driver.
Though cold booting straight into Linux + OSS there’s no problem and the speed is perfect.

Could the fact that I run Windows 2000 and the Puppy Live CD on the same computer (which has the i815T chipset with onboard audio) explain why Gizmo records my voice so that it plays back at about half speed in 1.0.6? Seems unlikely since Gizmo did it even after I installed ALSA in 1.0.6. I haven't tried Gizmo in 1.0.7a yet; waiting for jcoder to make a package with the latest Gizmo Linux files. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5234
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 23:56    Post subject:  

Flash,
I think you have a different problem to the one that I described.

Any firmware initialisation of your sound card is lost when you power down.
So your sound card is "free" of any effect of the Windows driver when you cold boot to the Puppy CD.
The problem I described happens when you boot into Windows first, then reboot into Linux without fully powering down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [91 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0988s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]