Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 00:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Network wizard Beta version for testers
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 10 [138 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 02:26    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:
do zydas addapters work with wext?

Yes, according to this - http://zd1211.ath.cx/wiki/DriverRewrite in the "Status" section.
And this - http://zd1211.ath.cx/wiki/WPAConfiguration

shockwave, the bcm43xx driver is definitely compatible with wpa_supplicant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shockwave

Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 03:17    Post subject:  

tempestuous, thats what I found as well. What do you think my problem could be. I am running to other computers (ubuntu) off the same connection just fine. I have tried all the options given, but so far nothing? Any suggestions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 04:34    Post subject:  

You could try the manual setup explained here http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/wireless-utilities/wpa_supplicant_README.txt
or wait for others to report their results with the new wizard. There might be some bugs still to be fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shockwave

Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 04:51    Post subject:  

Thanks. I will look over the manual and see if that helps. I will keep checking back for help. I am really impressed and excited about linux and how far it is coming. This is a huge step forward. Its the furthest I have ever gotten with this machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 04:59    Post subject:  

EDIT: May 2nd 2007.
Ralink-patched version of wpa_supplicant seems not to work with Ralink wifi devices.
Puppy 2.14 has the latest version 0.5.7 of wpa_supplicant.
For earlier Puppies, it's available as a dotpup here -
http://puppyfiles.org/dotpupsde/dotpups/Wifi/wireless-utilities/

I just recompiled wpa_supplicant with Ralink support.
Unfortunately this support appears to be only for Ralink rt73 (USB) and rt61 (PCI/PCMCIA) drivers. It appears that rt2500 (PCI/PCMCIA) and rt2570 (USB) miss out.
I used the patch from the rt73 source code, which is slightly different to the patch from the rt61 source code, so it's possible that only the rt73 is supported with the new package. I now wonder whether this effort was worthwhile.

Anyway, we now have 1 new driver name and 2 new interface names to deal with:

-D ralink
-i rausb0 ## for rt73
-i ra0 ## for rt61

The good thing about the new package is that I compiled it against the same version of Linux Wireless Tools that Barry will be using in Puppy 2.14: version 29pre10 (libiw.so.29). So we should have good compatibility with Puppy 2.14.

Last edited by tempestuous on Wed 02 May 2007, 03:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
barriew

Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 07:40    Post subject:  

Rarsa,

Still trying to test - had other commitments last night!

I have got WEP to work, but that's not what this is about! Still can't get WPA to work. To make sure it wasn't a hardware problem I tried it in XP and had no problems.

Hereis the log from my last attempt

sh-3.00# net-setup.sh
ioctl[SIOCSIWPMKSA]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWMODE]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
WEXT auth param 7 value 0x1 - ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
WEXT auth param 4 value 0x0 - ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
WEXT auth param 5 value 0x1 -

Just to confirm that I am running a hard disk Puppy 2.12 and using a zd1211b USB adapter to a Netgear DG834G wireless router.

Barrie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 08:22    Post subject:  

barriew, it might be a problem of associated encryption modules not being loaded. Before running the wizard, try this -

modprobe michael_mic
modprobe aes
modprobe arc4
modprobe libcrc32c
modprobe crc32c
modprobe ieee80211_crypt
modprobe ieee80211_crypt_ccmp
modprobe ieee80211_crypt_tkip

EDIT: Question marks after commands now removed because they were confusing.

Last edited by tempestuous on Sat 10 Feb 2007, 09:51; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 11:33    Post subject:  

EDIT: May 2nd 2007.
Removed.

Last edited by tempestuous on Wed 02 May 2007, 03:55; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
barriew

Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Feb 2007, 04:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
it might be a problem of associated encryption modules not being loaded. Before running the wizard, try this -


This is the result!

sh-3.00# modprobe ieee80211_crypt
sh-3.00# modprobe ieee80211_crypt_ccmp
sh-3.00# modprobe ieee80211_crypt_tkip
sh-3.00# modprobe michael_mic
sh-3.00# modprobe aes ## ?
sh-3.00# modprobe arc4 ## ?
sh-3.00# modprobe crc32c ## ?
sh-3.00# net_setup.sh
sh: net_setup.sh: command not found
sh-3.00# net-setup.sh
killall: wpa_supplicant: no process killed
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: Success

Just to remind you that I don't particularly need this facility - I was just trying to help Rarsa by testing.

Barrie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Feb 2007, 10:12    Post subject:  

barriew wrote:
Just to remind you that I don't particularly need this facility - I was just trying to help Rarsa by testing.
And all the users that will need the functionallity really appreciate your testing (even if they don't realize they do)

I myself don't even need the wizard Wink

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shockwave

Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri 09 Feb 2007, 10:15    Post subject:  

I still haven't got it working. I know for sure I can connect on an open connection. Does the wizard support wpa-psk or do I need to set it as regular wpa? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shockwave

Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri 09 Feb 2007, 11:42    Post subject:  

Ok i tried it in wpa tsk and still nothing. Any ideas. Also if it doesn't now, will this eventually work with psk?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Feb 2007, 13:56    Post subject:  

shockwave wrote:
Ok i tried it in wpa tsk and still nothing. Any ideas. Also if it doesn't now, will this eventually work with psk?
Actually the current version of the wizard should work with WPA-PSK/TKIP.

So yes, it should work for yours because it is the only one supported.

It could be that your addapter does not work with any of the WPA drivers included.

Hopefully Tempestuous will have an answer.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Feb 2007, 14:32    Post subject:  

shockwave, I have no idea what you mean by "regular wpa"? Are you getting confused with WEP?
WPA-PSK/TKIP is the most basic and common form of WPA, and it definitely works with wpa_supplicant in Puppy.
There is also WPA-PSK/AES which hopefully SHOULD (?) work by adding "CCMP" to the configuration file as explained earlier in this thread - http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=95152#95152

The best way to troubleshoot WPA with your device is to take the Wizard out of the equation and run all of the setup commands manually as I mentioned earlier. Once you have things working this way, you're ready to try the Wizard again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
barriew

Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Feb 2007, 15:30    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:
barriew wrote:
Just to remind you that I don't particularly need this facility - I was just trying to help Rarsa by testing.
And all the users that will need the functionallity really appreciate your testing (even if they don't realize they do)

I myself don't even need the wizard Wink


Rarsa, I don't think I put that very well! All I was really meaning was that it is not important to get WPA working on my set-up if the wizard works for other people.

Tempetuous

An interesting aside - I tried WEP via the wizard which was OK,but could only get 11Mb not 54, and I noticed on RutilT that the link was disconnecting and reconnecting every few seconds. The laptop was a few centimetres away from the router and works fine on an open connection.

Barrie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 10 [138 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0896s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0142s) ][ GZIP on ]