Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 01:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
booting from CD- cannot find puppy on boot media
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
sgtmattbaker

Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 22:19    Post subject:  booting from CD- cannot find puppy on boot media
Subject description: the CD works on my older machine...
 

I downloaded barebones puppy (the flash drive I have is only 64MB) the latest version. I didn't any of the ISO and copied the image to a CD-RW. I then put the CD in my drive shut down my 5-year old Dell and then rebooted and it loaded the puppy cd and went into the desktop and worked fine. My old Dell cannot boot from a USB flash drive so once I got puppy booted from the CD I chose to install it to Puppy but I made the mistake (was it a mistake?) of installing as a superfloppy. I then took the USB to my new computer which has a Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi-AP edition motherboard with a Intel P965 Express northbridge and a Intel ICH8R Southbridge. I tried to boot from the USB flash drive but the PC just acted like there was nothing on the flash drive and went straight to Windows. I then put the cd in and I got the error

cannot find puppy on idecd boot media

then some lines of something else then

something then Kernel Panic!

I edited the .sys file that has the PCMDIA line of text in it and changed it from PCMDIA=idecd to PCMDIA=none.

I booted and I got the same everything except instead of idecd boot media it was idehd media. In Windows to get my DVD/CD drives working correctly and allowing them to burn discs I had to go to the device manager to SCSI and RAID controllers, expand it and click on JMicron RAID controller and choose to update the driver. After the driver is upgraded the SCSI and RAID controllers section disappears and Standard Dual Channel IDE Controller shows up under IDE ATA/ATAPI devices. The JMicron RAID controller is a PCI-e to SATAII/IDE controller so I am thinking that since it controls the DVD/CD drives that maybe puppy thinks that the DVD/CD drives are SATA.

Please help I really want to start using puppy! Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 22:48    Post subject:  

Type error:
not:
PCMDIA=idecd
but:
PMEDIA=idecd

But I have no idea, if that might be the issue here.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 23:08    Post subject:  

In the replies to your previous postings, several users have suggested that you copy the four Puppy files from the CD to your hard drive. Have you done this yet? Assuming that your HD is formatted NTFS, the best procedure is to make an extended partition and a 2 GB FAT32 logical volume. It will then be visible to both Windows and Puppy. A good tool for doing this is the Gparted live CD available here:

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=115843&package_id=173828

Once you have Puppy on board your HD, there are two choices for booting it.
1. Calling GRLDR from your XP boot.ini file. If you search the forum, you will find discussions on how to set this up.
2. Booting off a GRUB CD. Report back if you want to try this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sgtmattbaker

Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 23:55    Post subject: I don't want to do anything to my Windows drive :(  

I really would rather not do anything to my Windows drive. Putting Linux files make me have to completely reinstall Windows. this is really bothering me... argghhh Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjs

Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2007, 00:32    Post subject:  

Why do you think you have to re-install winDOS if you copy some Linux files on your HDD??? If this would be true you would have to re-install it whenever you save a file under winDOS. While this may be required due to the amount of viruses the Puppy files don't contain any and winDOS just treats them as a file it ignores.

Please note the difference between copying a file and installing!

Juergen

_________________
-- in a world without fences and walls who needs Windows and Gates? --
>>> winDOS free since 1998 <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
sgtmattbaker

Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2007, 01:08    Post subject: I really don't want to partition my Windows drive--  

can I do it with an external HDD? I am partitioning my external hard drive (300gb) for Ubuntu. The first will be 12gb for ubuntu, 2nd is 270mb for swap, 3rd is 15gb for FAT32, and the rest is NTFS. I am having some problem that if I format the FAT32 and NTFS partitions on the external I can boot ubuntu anymore it is really frustrating.
Is there anyway I can "burn" the iso for puppy right to the flash drive??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjs

Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2007, 01:54    Post subject:  

Run Puppy from CD/DVD and use the universal installer (select USB FLASH). This can be done on any PC if your "target" doesn't have a drive.

All your target PC needs is a BIOS which allows you to boot from the USB FLASH.

Juergen

_________________
-- in a world without fences and walls who needs Windows and Gates? --
>>> winDOS free since 1998 <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0551s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]