Compliling FTDI module for Puppy 2.13

Using applications, configuring, problems
Eastern Counties

Compliling FTDI module for Puppy 2.13

#1 Post by Eastern Counties »

Would it be too much to ask somebody to compile the ftdi module from the patched 2.6.18.1 kernel, so it can be used with Puppy 2.13? I tried downloading devx_2.13.sfs so that I could try to compile it myself, but its just too big a file for my dialup connection.
Thanks in anticipation
John

TheSquire

#2 Post by TheSquire »

+1

I am a Linux noob and have been working with Puppy 2.13 for 2 days. Please be gentle...

I googled for "ftdi_sio.ko" and "2.6.18" and found an RPM for Fedora Core 6. I downloaded 15 MB, extracted the file and tried to insmod it... to no avail.

insmod ftdi_sio.ko
insmod: error inserting 'ftdi_sio.ko': -1 Invalid module format

dmesg reported:

ftdi_sio: disagrees about version of symbol struct_module

So, like Eastern Counties, I'm looking for a build of ftdi_sio.ko compatible with Puppy 2.13. Thanks!

tempestuous

#3 Post by tempestuous »

Puppy 2.13 already contains the ftdi_sio module. If you can't modprobe it, you probably have some kind of configuration problem which prevents you from accessing the zdrv file.

Eastern Counties

#4 Post by Eastern Counties »

Where should the ftdi_sio module be? I've looked where the other usb/serial modules are and can't find it there. Once I've found it, I can always copy it into /usr/lib/modules and use it from there (this is what I have been doing in Puppy 1.07).

TheSquire

#5 Post by TheSquire »

Thanks for the reply, tempestuous.

A little more digging indicates that the ftdi_sio module is created/installed only when activated, similar to how usbserial.ko behaves.

At bootup using the Live CD (Puppy 2.13) or on my HD installed version (also Puppy 2.13), neither of those modules appears to be present.

But... after I issue commands:

modprobe usbserial
modprobe ftdi_sio