Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 08:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Get (FCCID: M4Y-XG-300) wireless NIC to work in 2.13 SUCCESS
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
GeoffS

Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 427
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 16 Jan 2007, 06:42    Post subject:  

A couple of questions:-
Are you still using ndiswrapper or are you relying on 2.13 having the driver built in?
Is your NIC a PCI card or are you using a PCMCIA card in a laptop?
We'll keep thinking in the meantime Smile
Geoff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue 16 Jan 2007, 22:28    Post subject:  

GeoffS wrote:
A couple of questions:-
Are you still using ndiswrapper or are you relying on 2.13 having the driver built in?


I have tried both. I do not know if the driver is built in, I haven't been able to find it. I have the XP driver, so I'd say I'm still using ndiswrapper. I think. I'm learning a lot, but I still get confused and lost.

GeoffS wrote:
Is your NIC a PCI card or are you using a PCMCIA card in a laptop?[Geoff


My wireless NIC is a PCMCIA card in a laptop. Does that make a difference?

I thank everyone for their help on this problem that is now two pages long!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Tue 16 Jan 2007, 23:17    Post subject:  

if willing to use & buy a usb dongle (ebay ~ 20-30 bucks), quite sure I can get you goin wifi quick. Works A-1 for me so far on all computers I've tried (~ 5) with ver 2.12 & just worked out with ver 2.13. All running live cd. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
krumpli

Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 21:51    Post subject:  

superscienceguy,

What mfgr pcmcia card do you have? Do you know what type of driver?
I just finished a rather easy & successful pcmcia card install a few days ago.
[/url]http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14182[url]

My research beforehand led me to use Asus wl-107g pcmcia. It has ralink 2500 driver. This has a native Linux driver and is in Puppy 2.13. Purchased mine from NewEgg for 30.00. I read reviews at NewEgg that indicated the pcmcia card worked in other Linux distros.

Paul M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 05:32    Post subject:  

superscienceguy,
According to this http://www.xterasys.com/faq.htm
a device having FCC ID of M4Y-XG-300 contains the Intersil Frisbee chipset. If true, there is a native Linux driver suitable: prism54, and Puppy contains this ... but the firmware is missing. Get the firmware here http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/wifi-driver-firmware/prism54-fullmac-extras.pup
Install the dotpup, reboot, and run "lsmod" to see if Puppy has automatically loaded the prism54 module. If not, load it manually -

modprobe prism54

If there are no errors, you can now use the Network Wizard to connect to your wifi access point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jan 2007, 20:07    Post subject: That fixed it.
Subject description: It needed a firmware update
 

That was it! It needed that firmware update, after I installed that update, restarted, and ran network setup, choose the loaded the prism54 driver, and did a scan, it was done.
Thanks SO much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jan 2007, 23:07    Post subject:  

Just to clarify, that firmware is not an "update". It's permanently saved in /lib/firmware
and is loaded into your wifi device's onboard RAM each time the prism54 driver loads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]