Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 00:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Get (FCCID: M4Y-XG-300) wireless NIC to work in 2.13 SUCCESS
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan 2007, 17:53    Post subject:  Get (FCCID: M4Y-XG-300) wireless NIC to work in 2.13 SUCCESS  

Puppy 2.0.2ce --> Then Puppy 2.13
In the first screen of the wireless wizard it said that it appears that I have Perl. Then in the first ndiswrapper screen it says it says the file /mnt/home/user_devx.sfs - which has Perl - must be loaded. I can't find that file in /mnt/home. I even did a file search and did find it. I have Perl directory in the /usr/lib, but not in /mnt/home.
Maybe above is the problem, BUT here is the question. When I follow the steps on the ndiswrapper screen I get this; ( I did put the files from the XP drivers folder in a directory. I am running this by right-clicking in that window and choosing XTerm here.

#ndiswrapper -i wlannic.inf
Installing wlannic
#ndiswrapper -l
wlannic driver installed, hardware present
#modprobe ndiswrapper
#iwconfig
lo no wireless extentions

The wireless NIC I got from geeks.com. It doesn't have a brand name, but its FCC ID: M4Y-XG-300 is the same as SMC 2802W and Xterasys XW-2422G and XW-2422G.

Last edited by superscienceguy on Sun 21 Jan 2007, 20:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan 2007, 18:18    Post subject:  

try doing "ifconfig -a" and check if your wireless device shows there.

If it does: use the device name to bring it up.

for example

ifconfig eth1 up

and then try iwconfig again.

An alternative would be to use a more recent version of Puppy (2.13)

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to

Last edited by rarsa on Sat 13 Jan 2007, 13:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan 2007, 18:49    Post subject: new version  

Can I upgrade to a newer version or is it a complete reinstall?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan 2007, 18:50    Post subject:  

If it does use the device name to bring it up.

I know you put an example, but I'm so knew I don't even know which part of the example was the device name.

Can you explain "bring it up?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan 2007, 19:07    Post subject: Gpccard PCMCIA monitor  

When I click on Gpccard PCMCIA monitor nothing happens. I can't tell if it's not a function part of the OS or if there are no PCMCIA devices available. The lights have have never come on on this NIC. Also, should I have PNP enable or disabled in BIOS?
Lots of questions, I know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jan 2007, 11:57    Post subject: Can I update?  

rarsa wrote:


An alternative would be to use a more recent version of Puppy (2.13)


Can I upgrade from the Puppy I have or do I have to do an entire install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jan 2007, 13:56    Post subject:  

superscienceguy wrote:
If it does: use the device name to bring it up.


Sorry, I assumed that you knew that you can get help for almost any command with the option -h or --help. e.g. ifconfig --help.

Now you know that when someone gives you a command you don't know you can always get help for it and know how it works.

The "ifconfig -a" gives you a list of the available interfaces.

lo, eth0, wlan0, ra0, etc. The names may vary depending on what devices you have.

superscienceguy wrote:
I know you put an example, but I'm so knew I don't even know which part of the example was the device name.
The device name in my example was "eth1".

superscienceguy wrote:
Can you explain "bring it up?"
It means, execute the command I gave you replacing the device name with the device name you figure out by executing "ifconfig -a"
_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jan 2007, 16:55    Post subject: ifconfig -a outpu  

I upgraded to Puppy 2.13 since the last post. I have an ethernet NIC installed so I can get on these forums while I'm trying to configure the wireless NIC that I want to use mostly.
Thanks for your help about "help." I can learn stuff, but sometimes need a little prodding. My dislike for Microsoft helps motivate me to learn Linux.
See below, please!
sh-3.00# ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:C0:9F:00:AD:AD
inet addr:192.168.10.6 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:941 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:804 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:509651 (497.7 KiB) TX bytes:123291 (120.4 KiB)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0x800

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

I assume lo is the wireless NIC, but I can't interpret any of that stuff. Furthermore I was running Puppy 2.0.? until you suggested that I upgrade. When I as trying to install the wireless NIC on 2.0.? I was doing all of that ndiswrapper stuff. I have NOT been prompted by 2.13 to run ndiswrapper at all and therefore I have not. Perhaps that is the problem.

Also see this, in case it is helpful, please.
sh-3.00# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

Please let me know what you can. I think I will try the ndiswrapper with the XP driver just to see if that will help. I'll be watching for a reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2029
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jan 2007, 19:08    Post subject:  

In a console try:

ifconfig eth0 up

then:

iwconfig

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jan 2007, 17:36    Post subject:  

This is what I get. Let me know if anyone can help more!

sh-3.00# ifconfig eth0 up
sh-3.00# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

sh-3.00#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jan 2007, 17:47    Post subject:  

See 'WiFI Up' on this page:

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/ShellScriptsExamples

I seem to recall ndsiwrapper named the connection wlan, not eth.

And if you have a network card plugged in also, your wireless will most likely be eth1 not eth0 if it's named that way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marksouth2000

Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jan 2007, 18:19    Post subject:  

superscienceguy: some points for your attention.

The "10 base" entry in the ifconfig entry for eth0 shows it is a wired 10baseT connection.

PnP should be turned off in the BIOS for preference.

"ifconfig" on its own should show all active interfaces, "iwconfig" on its own should list all interfaces and show if they have wireless extensions.

PCMCIA wireless cards under Linux typically do not light up until the interface acquires a lock on an AP and/or an IP address. It depends on the exact driver, but that's how most work.

Cheers,
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jan 2007, 19:23    Post subject: additional error message  

Thanks Mark and John. I thought I might pass this informaiton along as well. When I click on RutilT I get an error window with this message:

Critical error :
Can't find any wireless network interface.
Do you have the wireless extensions compiled in your kernel?
Code : 130

I don't know what it means, perhaps it is messed up because nothing else is correct in the wireless world on this machine.

I guess I mislead myself into thinking that if I had the XP driver I could use ndiswrapper and all would be well. I read many posts on this forum before I started and so I chose a wireless NIC that had an XP driver. Then it was suggested that I update to a newer version of Puppy, which I did. I haven't seemed to get any further along in this process for awhile.

I am about to go read the wibsite recommended in the last post.

Thanks to all for helping free myself from Windoze!
You know, even though I can't figure out how to install Open Office or Firefox OR get my wireless NIC to work, I still like enjoy telling people I use Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jan 2007, 19:29    Post subject: I don't know enough for this to be help, I guess.  

John Doe wrote:
See 'WiFI Up' on this page:

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/ShellScriptsExamples


Thanks, but I don't know what the WiFi Up section is telling me on this page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
superscienceguy

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jan 2007, 19:42    Post subject: W.A.G. results  

This is what I get when I run WAG after using modprobe/ndiswrapper to use the XP driver provided with the wireless NIC.

wireless card active
wireless card not responding

no module loaded
dhcpcd running
wifi-beta not installed

could not find interface in /proc/net/wireless
ap test failure

no wireless networks detected
error when scanning

I wish I knew what the interface in /proc/net/wireless was and what the ap test failure meant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0900s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0124s) ][ GZIP on ]