Neomagic problem with 2.13 solved

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
conradcliff
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 00:54

#16 Post by conradcliff »

Thanks so much for the help, I got through the config wizard and tried to run xwin but it comes back with /usr/x11r7/bin/xwin: line 286 syntax error near unexpected token 'fi'

I tried commenting it out and running xwin again but then the system just locks up at
"this script will run X windows for you...
0x0111 640x480x16
Starting X with video mode 0x0111 and mouse psaux...
and I have to hit cntrl-alt-del. Any idea what might be causig the problem?

Thanks again for all your help...

cherriepuppy
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 20:27
Location: uk

#17 Post by cherriepuppy »

hi

getting close now

first thing, it looks like you've commented out one to many lines of xwin. (i did the same thing first off).

next, xwin is trying to start vesa instead of xorg,
at the prompt
cd /usr/X11R7/bin
ln -s Xorg X

then try xwin

cherriepuppy

conradcliff
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 00:54

#18 Post by conradcliff »

BarryK wrote:Ah, this is a problem with the new video hardware profiling.

If you open /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin with Geany and scroll down to line 260, you will see this code:

Code: Select all

#Puppy Xorg Video Wizard...
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/Xorg ];then
 if [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
  if [ "`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`" = "Xorg" ];then
   #v2.13 video hardware profile (must be same as in xorgwizard)...
   DDCPROBE="`ddcprobe`"
   PROFILECHIP="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep '^oem: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2-4 -d ' ' | tr ' ' '_' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
   PROFILEMONITOR="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep --extended-regexp '^monitorrange: |^monitorid: |^eisa: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d ':' | sed -e 's/ //g' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
   HARDWAREPROFILE="${PROFILECHIP}${PROFILEMONITOR}"
   #find out if current xorg.conf matches this profile...
   CURRENTPROFILE="`cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep '^#PuppyHardwareProfile' | cut -f 2 -d '=' | cut -f 1 -d ' '`"
   if [ ! "$CURRENTPROFILE" = "$HARDWAREPROFILE" ];then
    #video hardware has changed. either changed monitor or booting different PC.
    #same current xorg.conf as a profiled filename...
    mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${CURRENTPROFILE}
    #if a previous profiled filename for new hardware, use that...
    [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} ] && cp -af /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} /etc/X11/xorg.conf
   fi
  fi
 fi
 if [ ! -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
  rm -f /etc/.XLOADED 2> /dev/null #not necessary, precaution.
  #1st dialog offers to use Xvesa...
  /usr/sbin/xorgwizard
  HAVEX="`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`"
 fi
fi
For now, just comment-out all the hardware-profile testing. This will prevent your xorg.conf file from getting renamed:

Code: Select all

#Puppy Xorg Video Wizard...
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/Xorg ];then
# if [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
#  if [ "`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`" = "Xorg" ];then
#   #v2.13 video hardware profile (must be same as in xorgwizard)...
#   DDCPROBE="`ddcprobe`"
#   PROFILECHIP="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep '^oem: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2-4 -d ' ' | tr ' ' '_' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
#   PROFILEMONITOR="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep --extended-regexp '^monitorrange: |^monitorid: |^eisa: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d ':' | sed -e 's/ //g' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
#   HARDWAREPROFILE="${PROFILECHIP}${PROFILEMONITOR}"
#   #find out if current xorg.conf matches this profile...
#   CURRENTPROFILE="`cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep '^#PuppyHardwareProfile' | cut -f 2 -d '=' | cut -f 1 -d ' '`"
#   if [ ! "$CURRENTPROFILE" = "$HARDWAREPROFILE" ];then
#    #video hardware has changed. either changed monitor or booting different PC.
#    #same current xorg.conf as a profiled filename...
#    mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${CURRENTPROFILE}
#    #if a previous profiled filename for new hardware, use that...
#    [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} ] && cp -af /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} /etc/X11/xorg.conf
#   fi
#  fi
# fi
 if [ ! -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
  rm -f /etc/.XLOADED 2> /dev/null #not necessary, precaution.
  #1st dialog offers to use Xvesa...
  /usr/sbin/xorgwizard
  HAVEX="`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`"
 fi
fi

As best I can tell I've commented out exactly what is done here. Does anything look wrong with what he has? Also, I typed in the:
cd /usr/X11R7/bin
ln -s Xorg X

After typing the "ln -s Xorg X" (I'm assuming it as a lower case L at the beginning) it simply tells me that the x file exists or something along those lines. Does this sound correct? Once again thanks so much for all your help, I really appreciate it. I will sing songs of the generosity you have shown me these days to my children and they to theirs and so on and so on.....

conradcliff
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 00:54

#19 Post by conradcliff »

I also just dl'd 2.10 but still nothing. :?

conradcliff
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 00:54

#20 Post by conradcliff »

I think it's time to throw this into a new thread...

cherriepuppy
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 20:27
Location: uk

#21 Post by cherriepuppy »

hi

sorry looks like i forgot a line should have been

rm -f /usr/X11R7/bin/X
ln -s /usr/X11R7/bin/Xorg /usr/X11R7/bin/X

then xwin

cherriepuppy

conradcliff
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 00:54

#22 Post by conradcliff »

Hey, thanks for the reply. I thought we almost had it this time. At first I got the same thing as before: "/usr/x11r7/bin/xwin: line 286 syntax error near unexpected token 'fi' " So I went in and commented line 286 out (not sure if I should or not really) and try again and it seemed like it was going to work this time as the screen goes blank for a split second but then it comes back with: "exited from X. type "xwin [fvwm95| jwm] to restart X blah blah blah..." when I try and type: "xwin fvwm95| jwm" t gives me : "error: could not open display"

Whata ya think? Am I just out of luck or what?

GuestToo
Puppy Master
Posts: 4083
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 18:11

#23 Post by GuestToo »

what you type is:

xwin jwm

X will not start if you have not edited the xwin file properly

cherriepuppy
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 11 Dec 2005, 20:27
Location: uk

#24 Post by cherriepuppy »

hi

when i had the error "line 286 syntax error near unexpected token 'fi " it was because i had commented out line 260 by mistake "if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/Xorg ];then "

cherriepuppy

conradcliff
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 00:54

#25 Post by conradcliff »

Well, I want to thank you for all your help so far. I really do appreciate it. You were right about that one line, 261 on my machine, I did have it commented out. I did everything all over again and once I hit xwin it asked about the keyboard and after that when it tried to run X it failed and told me that it had exited from X like it had before...curse this free laptop!

conradcliff
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 00:54

#26 Post by conradcliff »

What do you think? Is this the end for the Toshiba?

pandobud
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 12 Oct 2007, 03:47

Similar problem in Puppy v3.00

#27 Post by pandobud »

I created a new thread with similar problems for PuppyLinux v3.00 at:

"3.00 Frugal Install from-and-to HDD -- Xorg Probing Trouble"
Subject description: Install process into laptop freeze at Xorg probing stage. Previous fix suggestions didn't work out.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=146452

DaveR
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed 30 May 2007, 15:08

same problems with Toshiba Satellite 1800/1805

#28 Post by DaveR »

Well commenting out the video probing at least brought me to a prompt.
I ran "xorgconfig" and entered the data asked for using the entries from a known good "xorg.conf" generated by Xubuntu on this machine.
Running "xwin" got me "an attempt has just been made to run X at 640x480x16 but it has not worked." I managed to break out using a 3 fingered salute.

I THINK the problem lies in the version of the Trident driver incorporated in Puppy because "xorgconfig" only asked about 640X480 and wouldn't accept 32K video memory. Xubuntu runs the chip at 1024X768 as shown below:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade/i1"
Driver "trident"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 28-51
VertRefresh 43-60
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade/i1"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Anyone have any ideas for me to try?

Post Reply