Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 05:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Toshiba laptop video probing fails [solved - work around]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
Billcnz

Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jan 2007, 02:58    Post subject:  Toshiba laptop video probing fails [solved - work around]  

Hi All,
I've been absent from the forum for a couple of months due to work pressures and missed a few of the test releases but just downloaded the 2.13beta2 to try. I find though my old Toshiba laptop doesn't like the video probing in the new xorgwizard. Is there anyway to bypass the probing and just use my pre-configured xorg.conf?

Here's where the probing gets stuck:

Probing video hardware, please wait . . .
. . . . . . . .
Calling INT 0x15 (F000:F859)
EAX is 0x5F09
Calling INT 0x15 (F000:F859)
EAX is 0x5F09

Cheers
Bill

Last edited by Billcnz on Mon 01 Jan 2007, 21:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jan 2007, 07:31    Post subject: Re: Video hardware probing not working on some older hardwar  

Billcnz wrote:
Hi All,
I've been absent from the forum for a couple of months due to work pressures and missed a few of the test releases but just downloaded the 2.13beta2 to try. I find though my old Toshiba laptop doesn't like the video probing in the new xorgwizard. Is there anyway to bypass the probing and just use my pre-configured xorg.conf?

Hmmm, that's not so easy, as xorg.conf needs to have a hardware profile
placed in it. -- see script /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin.
...if you could do that, then your old xorg.conf could be used.
The problem is, if you place it at /etc/X11/xorg.conf without the hardware profile, Puppy will reject it and run the Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billcnz

Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jan 2007, 21:29    Post subject:  

Thanks Barry,
I commented out a few lines in the file you mention and replaced the HARWAREPROFILE variable with a fixed string so I'm back in business Smile
This laptops getting a bit long in the tooth so will probably always require a bit of tweaking, (been a good one though).

edited part of /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin

Code:
#v2.13 video hardware profile (must be same as in xorgwizard)...
# DDCPROBE="`ddcprobe`"
# PROFILECHIP="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep '^oem: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2-4 -d ' ' | tr ' ' '_' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
# PROFILEMONITOR="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep --extended-regexp '^monitorrange: |^monitorid: |^eisa: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d ':' | sed -e 's/ //g' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
 HARDWAREPROFILE="trident_9525_TOS5082"




xorg.conf (relative parts only)

Code:
Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     300   230   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "TOS"
   ModelName    "5082"
   Option       "DPMS"
   HorizSync    31.5-48.5
   VertRefresh  50-70
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
EndSection


Code:
Section "Device"
Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "trident" #card0driver
   VendorName  "Trident Microsystems"
   BoardName   "Cyber 9525"
   BusID       "PCI:0:4:0"
EndSection



Code:
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection



Code:
#PuppyHardwareProfile=trident_9525_TOS5082


Cheers
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jan 2007, 06:02    Post subject:  

The 2.13-final has restored the first dialog window in the Xorg Video Wizard to the choice whether to use Xorg or Xvesa, like in earlier Pups.
So you can go into Xvesa without doing the probing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bobn9lvu


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2007, 12:22    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
The 2.13-final has restored the first dialog window in the Xorg Video Wizard to the choice whether to use Xorg or Xvesa, like in earlier Pups.
So you can go into Xvesa without doing the probing.


Barry, I am running into the same problem, BUT my Toshiba display does NOT come up in XVesa either Confused
Could you add an option to boot to prompt, so as to bypass any video setup Question
Puppy 2.10 works fine with running xorgconfig from prompt, but it does NOT work in 2.12 or 2.13.. Exclamation
How come Question
I would like to run Puppy Multimedia 2.13v3 on the lappies, but I cannot get the display to work... Confused

Bob Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cherriepuppy

Joined: 11 Dec 2005
Posts: 74
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2007, 13:14    Post subject:  

hi
this link might help

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14140

cherriepuppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobn9lvu


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2007, 13:32    Post subject:  

Thanks Exclamation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maodd

Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 12:47    Post subject:  

Thanks a lot. I was having the same problem on my Satellite Pro 4200, I had to changed the BUSID from 0:4:0 to default 1:0:0.

Also you might need to delete the auto-generated [screen] section in Xorg.conf file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0621s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]