Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 08:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Need drivers for Gigafast USB Wireless G - ZD1211 (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2006, 22:50    Post subject:  Need drivers for Gigafast USB Wireless G - ZD1211 (Solved)  

I just got a Gigafast USB Wireless G for Christmas. I was hoping it would work with the built in ZD1211 driver, but it didn't. (Yes, it is using ZD1211, but I'm not sure whether it is ZD1211 or ZD1211b). I downloaded a dotpup called "zd1211-r83" and installed it. Still, it did not work. I even gave a go at compiling the driver that came with it, but I couldn't get that to work either (I simply couldn't get the settings right for it to compile properly, but I really don't know what I'm doing when it comes to compiling). Nearly every link I found for a precompiled driver was dead. I can't even get the windows drivers to load in ndiswrapper. I would appreciate it if someone could repost the compiled drivers (both the original and b so I can try both) or help me get through the compiling process.
In case it matters, I am trying to use it on both puppylite w/zdrv 2.12 and regular puppy 2.12.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath

Last edited by SirDuncan on Mon 12 Mar 2007, 12:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2006, 23:58    Post subject: Re: Need drivers for Gigafast USB Wireless G - ZD1211  

SirDuncan wrote:
I downloaded a dotpup called "zd1211-r83" and installed it.

That dotpup came from here http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/drivers-for-Puppy-2.00-and-2.01/
As the name of the download location suggests, that driver is compatible with Puppy 2.0 and 2.01 only.

For Puppy 2.12 go here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=82613#82613
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2006, 16:28    Post subject:  

I downloaded and installed the dotpup. I then tried to run the commands that kirk said made it work for him (on the same forum you linked me to). All I got was this:

sh-3.00# modprobe firmware_class

sh-3.00# modprobe ieee80211softmac
FATAL: Error inserting ieee80211softmac (/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/net/ieee80211/softmac/ieee80211softmac.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

sh-3.00# modprobe zd1211rw
WARNING: Error inserting ieee80211softmac (/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/net/ieee80211/softmac/ieee80211softmac.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
FATAL: Error inserting zd1211rw (/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/zd1211rw/zd1211rw.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

So, it is still not working. Am I possibly missing some dependency? Or is there some config file somewhere?

I haven't tried it on regular puppy, just puppylite, so if it is a dependency problem it may work on the full version. I'll let you know after I try it. Thank you for your help so far.

EDIT:
I tried it on regular puppy, and it doesn't work there either. I get the same error messages.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2006, 00:05    Post subject:  

The ieee80211softmac is failing to load because it depends on the ieee80211 module. Do this -

modprobe firmware_class
modprobe ieee80211
modprobe ieee80211softmac
modprobe zd1211rw

Look at my later reply in that thread to mark2 for more detailed answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
barriew

Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2006, 10:39    Post subject:  

I got my ZD1211B adapter to work by compiling the Linux driver supplied with the adapter. If you didn't get this with yours, I can send it to you if you wish.

Barrie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2006, 21:48    Post subject:  

That sort of did the trick. I'm not getting error messages now, but as soon as I use "modprobe zd1211rw" the light on the adaptor goes out (meaning that the adaptor is not transmitting or recieving). I now have the network interface showing, but it can't talk to the adapter. So now I'm kind of stumped. The adapter definitely should be working at this point.

Barrie: I tried compiling it myself, but I really don't know what I'm doing. Thus, I failed. Thanks for the offer though.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jan 2007, 09:01    Post subject:  

After "modprobe zd1211rw" check "dmesg" for clues about what happened.
And I just remembered that the firmware might need to be shifted from /lib/firmware/zd1211 to /lib/firmware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jan 2007, 11:24    Post subject:  

I can send you the driver when I get home. I have that exact USB adapter and it has always worked great with Puppy.
_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
amish

Joined: 24 Sep 2006
Posts: 616

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jan 2007, 13:03    Post subject:  

this is great, and i'm about ready to purchase a usb wireless device. i can always/will check the hw subforum, but can anyone in this thread (who is obviously familiar) recommend a really GOOD / easy usb wireless device? i'll try to get the "best" one recommeneded by a puppyuser. the ones i've seen look like little thumbdrives, but i have no aversion to the little usb boxes with a "large" antenna on them- i just want to know what works well with puppy.
_________________
sadly, it is not possible to separate politics from free software. free software - politics = unfree software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 01:55    Post subject:  

Sorry that I didn't upload the driver today but I noticed that you are using 2.12 and I have it compiled for 2.02.

I will compile it for 2.12 tomorrow.

Cheers.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 11:53    Post subject:  

Tempestuous: I will try that when I get back home (I don't have the adapter with me since it isn't working with linux yet).

Rarsa: Thanks, if I can't get Tempestuous' drivers to work, yours will be greatly appreciated.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 21:25    Post subject:  

Well, I get it to connect to the router, but I cannot get out to the internet or scan the network. I tried both DHCP and static IP.
dmesg is giving me this:

//REMOVED due to taking up too much space.

I can't really see anything in that mess, but I don't know what to look for. The only line I see that looks like it might be an unexpected error is this 'ieee80211softmac: no version for "struct_module" found: kernel tainted.' I don't what it means or what to do about (or I would have done it, obviously), but maybe you (or Rarsa) do.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath

Last edited by SirDuncan on Fri 05 Jan 2007, 11:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jan 2007, 00:15    Post subject:  

If you get to connect to the router then it is not a driver or HW problem.

It may very well be a problem with the specification of the DNS.

Check your /etc/resolv.conf file to see if it is pointing to valid DNS servers.

In my case it contains my router's address as it does the proxy for the DNS it gets from the ISP
Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1
I've also had it pointing to the two DNS servers provided by my ISP.

Usually on the "status" page on your routers configuration pages you'll see the DNS addresses provided by your ISP.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jan 2007, 06:42    Post subject:  

rarsa may be right about network config issues, but I have seen cases where wifi adaptors PARTIALLY worked after failing to load their firmware.
That's why I wanted you to check your dmesg. But I think your dmesg output is incomplete. The default line buffer in rxvt is not displaying enough lines. Launch rxvt with a larger line buffer, like this -

rxvt -sl 1000

Now run dmesg. Look for anything related to "softmac" and "firmware".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jan 2007, 20:17    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Launch rxvt with a larger line buffer, like this -

rxvt -sl 1000

Now run dmesg. Look for anything related to "softmac" and "firmware".

Even better.
Code:
 dmesg > dmesg.log
and then upload the dmesg.log file.

Pasting the full dmesg in a post makes the thread very difficult to follow.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0756s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]