Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 21:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
pdq print recovery?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
JohnMc

Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 15:57    Post_subject:  pdq print recovery?
Sub_title: printrc file corrupted.
 

I am having a problem with the pdq/xpdq package. Somehow the printrc file has been corrupted. So even if I rerun setup the 'add printer' in the xpdq program won't complete.

Any suggestions as to a workaround so I can get printing working again?

(And yes I know, use cups, but I would rather not this time around.)

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 23:18    Post_subject:  

One way to corrupt the printrc file is by using a printer name containing a space. You can fix this just by taking /etc/pdq/printrc into a text editor.

If there is some other problem, you can get a clean copy of the file in /initrd/pup_r02/etc/pdq/printrc .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JohnMc

Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sat 23 Dec 2006, 12:17    Post_subject: pdq problems  

rcrsn51,

I just sucked a working copy of the rc file out of the directory you suggested and just redid Xpdq again. Worked like a champ!

Thanks for the suggestion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 21:38    Post_subject:  

I know this thread is stoneage...

But..

I just tried to print from Xdialog and got this error
Code:
cat /etc/pdq/printrc: no such file or directory


Printer sucked through a page though.. blank

hmmm......

(lupu-503)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 22:10    Post_subject:  

If you look at the help for Xdialog, it tries to print using a script called lprshell. It still exists in Puppy, left over from the pre-CUPS era and uses pdq as the print server. However pdq and its components are long gone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 23:02    Post_subject:  

Thanks rcrsn51

I have downloaded and compiled pdq.. it's circa 2006 so I assume is no longer maintained. It compiled fine, I just need to figure out how to use.

OTOH, it might be better to compile in different printing support into Xdialog (if possible) as I am shifting to using that a lot more. In fact I think a shift to Zenity as the main bash/gtk app in Puppy may not be too far off as Xdialog and Gtkdialog are getting old.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 23:07    Post_subject:  

If you check the ./configure messages, you should see references to missing GTK. This is because pdq is a GTK1 app that was never upgraded to GTK2. This means that you don't get the xpdq frontend needed to set up a printer.

But why would you bother with pdq at all? You just need to modify the lprshell script to pass the print job on to CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 23:28    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
You just need to modify the lprshell script to pass the print job on to CUPS.

The simplest thing to try would be replacing /usr/bin/lprshell with a symlink to /usr/bin/lp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 23:31    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If you check the ./configure messages, you should see references to missing GTK. This is because pdq is a GTK1 app that was never upgraded to GTK2. This means that you don't get the xpdq frontend needed to set up a printer.

But why would you bother with pdq at all? You just need to modify the lprshell script to pass the print job on to CUPS.


Hehe.. I'm not bothering with pdq.

I have the Xdialog source and it has a configure option --with-print-command=cmd.. so I guess to print to default printer we use lpr "$1"... ok but I can't print a simple txt file , cups is throwing "No usable font available"

Any idea how to set that? Do I need to adjust a config?

Thanks
Quote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
You just need to modify the lprshell script to pass the print job on to CUPS.

The simplest thing to try would be replacing /usr/bin/lprshell with a symlink to /usr/bin/lp.


I'll try that first

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 23:42    Post_subject:  

ok... cups is still pending... need to kill job methinks
Code:
Canon_MP490_series-14     (stdin)     root     4k     Unknown     pending since
Sun Jul 25 02:36:54 2010


No, it's aborted now, must have timed out.

That is with lprshell removed and symlinked lprshell to lp

Thanks, but this is non-urgent. If you continue to help fine but like I said, non-urgent, I'll definitely get back to it.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 23:44    Post_subject:  

Can you send me an Xdialog app that has a print option?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 00:07    Post_subject:  

Just type "Xdialog" in a term and the options get printed to screen in a big Xdialog window with 2 buttons.. OK and Print.

All it did for me was feed a sheet of paper through the machine when I clicked Print. Now it does nothing.

Cheers

EDIT My big problem now is that I can't print from command line.. but Printer works great in all apps otherwise.

Here's the full error message
Code:
(1) This Xdialog binary compiled with: lprshell -P<printer>
    as the print command. If <printer> is "" (an empty string), the -P
    option is not used.
and here's what CUPS says...
request id is Canon_MP490_series-17 (0 file(s))


That's after I made the symlink.. well it's not an error, just cups isn't handling it for me.
Code:
Canon_MP490_series-17     (stdin)     root     4k     Unknown     processing since
Sun Jul 25 03:08:20 2010
"No usable font available"


It's that font error now.

So... it would appear that CUPS is not accepting stdin. However printing from Nicoedit, Geany etc is all fine.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 00:36    Post_subject:  

I tested this in Quirky with CUPS 1.3.11. After setting up the symlink from /usr/bin/lprshell to /usr/bin/lp, Xdialog printed fine.

I then tested it in Lupu 5.01 and got the same errors as you.

I then dropped CUPS 1.3.11 into Lupu and it worked fine.

Once again, CUPS 1.4.x disappoints me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 00:51    Post_subject:  

The problem appears to be that Lupus' implementation of CUPS 1.4 won't print a raw text file through the lp or lpr commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 01:12    Post_subject:  

Hmmm.. then it looks pqd is the answer for me then.. Thanks for all your help

I'm in lupu-503 (pfix=ram) and configured CUPS fine in Netsurf... same problem, even prints blank to pdf. Sad

Cheers


EDIT
I'm going to have a dig around in the Nicoedit source, look for clues

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0766s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]