No sound on ibm thinkpad 600 (Solved)

What works, and doesn't, for you. Be specific, and please include Puppy version.
sammy

No sound on ibm thinkpad 600 (Solved)

#1 Post by sammy »

hello, i am a newbie here
i installed puppy on the hdd of my acer aspire 1304 and it works flawless, no probs with the hardware whatsoever, and wireless works great.
now i want to install it on a ibm thinpad 600 (128ram - 266mhz) too, but if i run the alsa wizard it doesn't recognize my soundcard. i did some search on google and found the thinkpad uses the Crystal 4237B chip
can anyone please help me with this please? (i am using puppy 2.01)
thanks

tempestuous

#2 Post by tempestuous »

In your bios set "QuickBoot = OFF".

sammy

#3 Post by sammy »

i did set the quick boot off, but it remains the same
i also tried pup 2.12 zdrv, and placed the 2.12 sfs file in the home directory,
again no success

when i poweroff, the system says can't find mixer, chmod 666 /dev/mixer

please help
sammy

paulh177

#4 Post by paulh177 »

i have exactly the same problem/error on an Acer Aspire 5612WLMi with realtek HDA. (see thread here)
It works fine with Puppy 2.02

zode

#5 Post by zode »

Problems getting sound to work with Linux on Thinkpad 600 models are quite pervasive.

After spending more time on my Thinkpad 600E (2645-IB1) than I wanted to, I found that I could get sound to work on two distributions: Damn Small Linux 2.3 and newer, and Puppy 1.0.6. I could never find a combination of parameters that made sound work under a distro that used a 2.6-based kernel. DSL 2.3 through 3.1 use a 2.4-based kernel, as does Puppy 1.0.6. I don't know what the latest Puppy version is that used a 2.4-based kernel.

I could not get sound to work under any version of Puppy 2.x. I think I tried Puppy 1.0.8 and that didn't work either.

Anyway: you may want to try this, which worked on my Thinkpad:
0. Download Puppy 1.0.6.
1. Boot Puppy 1.0.6.
2. Open a console session.