Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 00:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Tinkering w/ Haze WM
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [77 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
samira


Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 12:25    Post subject: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

I leave this forum for a day or so and mazewm is released.. Good work goingnuts..
By the way, i just remembered that mlvwm has the ability to have interactive menus based on the particular application it's running. So here I'm wondering if haze & maze WM has that same ability to do so?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 783

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 12:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
So here I'm wondering if haze & maze WM has that same ability to do so?
I believe they have although I haven't tested. No active effort has been done to remove this feature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
samira


Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 13:26    Post subject: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

So i was thinking..
If the custom menu bar feature was available, definitely we can create menus for each application (for convenience and uniformity).
However, this leads to:

1. Slower startup, due to the fact that mlvwm/haze/maze has to read multiple custom menu entries for each application with a graphical menu. And,

2. Redundancy, having a menu bar with the menus related to the particular application, when the app already has a in-window menu bar (eg. leafpad, galculator, etc.. Though for apps like firefox & abiword, their in-window menu can be disabled). Unless, there is a way to disable their in-window menus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
samira


Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 13:30    Post subject: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

P/S: though it would be so cool to have custom menus just like in a mac.. I bet there would be alot of people thinking maze wm pc's are some kind of hybrid macs..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4376

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 16:28    Post subject: Re: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

samira wrote:
So i was thinking..
If the custom menu bar feature was available, definitely we can create menus for each application (for convenience and uniformity).
However, this leads to:

1. Slower startup, due to the fact that mlvwm/haze/maze has to read multiple custom menu entries for each application with a graphical menu. And,

2. Redundancy, having a menu bar with the menus related to the particular application, when the app already has a in-window menu bar (eg. leafpad, galculator, etc.. Though for apps like firefox & abiword, their in-window menu can be disabled). Unless, there is a way to disable their in-window menus.
I have done this stuff in jwm already - instant package manager, partition manager, image browser (though maze/haze/mv would need scaling support for image browsing or a really slow script to autogenerate them)... works great now that jwm has a -reload function to update menus without restarting. The package manager is previewed in jwm_tools and the drive manager was posted to scottman's akita thread.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 783

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 18:01    Post subject:  

If I understand right (I have never used a mac) the window manager menubar change menus depending on which applications window is in focus. So if you start gtkedit the menus on menubar would be File, Edit, Format, Help - and clicking on Help would give menu About. Changing window focus to rxvt would probably give no rxvt-related menus on the menubar.

I cant evaluate the coolness of this but if above describes the scenario correct...its complicated. All apps should communicate with the window manager and also being controlled by it. And they should have no menus them self.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
samira


Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 00:08    Post subject: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

Exactly, it would involve some major overhauling of source code for multiple applications.
I tested maze wm on browserlinux last night, i noticed that the menubar is blue. So is the menubar colour option available in .mazewmrc already?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4376

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 00:42    Post subject:  

goingnuts wrote:
If I understand right (I have never used a mac) the window manager menubar change menus depending on which applications window is in focus. So if you start gtkedit the menus on menubar would be File, Edit, Format, Help - and clicking on Help would give menu About. Changing window focus to rxvt would probably give no rxvt-related menus on the menubar.

I cant evaluate the coolness of this but if above describes the scenario correct...its complicated. All apps should communicate with the window manager and also being controlled by it. And they should have no menus them self.


for gtk apps we can monitor window-state-event for GDK_WINDOW_STATE_FOCUSED and change the symlink for the top bar to its jwm menu

ex.
...
<include>/root/.jwm/topmenu</include>

when mygtkdialog gets focused, use the event to ln -sf /path/mygtkdialogtopmenu /root/.jwm/topmenu && jwm -reload

(use $HOME instead of root in the scripts)

Note: this will only change the opened menus, the icons and text on the tray will remain until jwm -restart (still flickers AFAIK), but this should be fine if a unified interface is used ... File|Edit|... and so on

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 783

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 07:29    Post subject:  

Menubar, menus, windows, text & desktop background can be color-styled. Mazewm is mlvwm+hazewm+my additional styling options & system sound (&bugfixes)...(&new bugs Smile ).

Try adding "Read Mlvwmrc-Xterm" to end of /usr/share/mazewm/.mazewmrc. Then copy Mlvwmrc-Xterm from the mazewm source folder sample_rc to /usr/share/mazewm-folder. Start mazewm and whenever you start rxvt (=xterm) your menubar change from standard window shown as second image below to the look shown below. When rxvt loses focus the menubar shift to normal and so on...

Writing the application menus is not hard and already build in - its the rewrite of all applications thats the hard thing. Is it at all practical to work with? If I work in several windows I like to have the action menu close to my workspace and not on top of desktop...

Might be that someone can do a simple application to show the path..
snap0002.png
 Description   Menubar when open rxvt window is in focus
 Filesize   493 Bytes
 Viewed   282 Time(s)

snap0002.png

snap0003.png
 Description   Normal menubar
 Filesize   803 Bytes
 Viewed   281 Time(s)

snap0003.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
samira


Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 07:54    Post subject: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

goingnuts: do correct me if im wrong..
the parameter for setting the menubar height is MENUBARHEIGHT 32, so if i want to set the colour, would it be MENUBARCOLOUR gray?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 783

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 08:19    Post subject:  

from /usr/share/mazew/.mazewmrc:
Code:
TITLE_ACTIVE_FG         white
TITLE_ACTIVE_BG         DodgerBlue4
TITLE_INACTIVE_FG      white
TITLE_INACTIVE_BG      gray
DECORATIONS_ACTIVE_BG   DodgerBlue4
DECORATIONS_INACTIVE_BG   gray
DECORATIONS_INACTIVE_FG   white
MENU_TEXTACTIVE         white
MENU_TEXTINACTIVE      gray
MENU_TEXTSELECTED      black
MENUBAR_BG             DodgerBlue4
MENU_SELECTED_BG      white

## Window buttons style like hazewm - must be "haze" to work
BUTTON_STYLE          haze

## The below is not used for anything
DECORATIONS_ACTIVE_FG   red

MENUBARHEIGHT  32

## Activate soundtheme - must be "yes"
SOUNDTHEME yes

## Desktop background - if not given no color will be set on rootwindow
DESKTOPCOLOR steelblue

so it would be MENUBAR_BG gray

but I like your syntax better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
samira


Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 08:26    Post subject: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

Apologies, didn't notice the parameter over there in the window layout section.. Though cant get the menu script working. Guess i'll need to find the convert executable..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 783

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 09:02    Post subject:  

The convert is included in my mlvwm091-hacked_starter.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
samira


Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 13:31    Post subject: Tinkering w/ Haze WM  

goingnuts: Thanks. Anyway, i do have some issues which i experienced, not sure if you had it also. When i exit x, at the command line, when i enter mazewm, i get a message saying 'cant open display'..that's normal when trying to run other WMs. When i run startmazewm, it starts without sound & menus. However when i try to run jwm & lxde after exiting x, it fails to run..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goingnuts

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 783

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 13:42    Post subject:  

Missing sound could be lack of minimp3/mpg123 which is the options in /usr/defaultaudioplayer.

No menus is normally if it cant find the mazewmrc/the pm_mazewm_xdg.sh did not complete...

mlvwm, hazewm and mazewm edit your /root/.xinitrc when started with the startXXXXwm scripts. If one exits wrong this modification sticks and is not good for jwm.

I had a lot of trouble having both hazewm, mlvwm + various hacks of mazewm installed at the sam time. Thats one of the reasons for specifying which mazewmrc to use in my startmazewm-script (/usr/share/mazewm/.mazewmrc).

I do hope you get the mess sort out - you might need a new fresh copy of standard /root/.xinitrc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [77 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0795s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]