Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 09:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Printing in Puppy: cups-install-v0.3.pup (with Gutenprint)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2007, 01:42    Post subject:  

Mstar wrote:
I believe the answer is here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=15094

I fought this same battle for two weeks, then installed smbspool as per the post and CUPS immediately began working.

YMMV, but it worked for me.


smbspool didn't help , the localhost thing still won't open... Rolling Eyes

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
Torymon

Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 96
Location: The Great State of Mississippi,USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 May 2007, 23:23    Post subject:  

What printer are you trying to setup?
You may need additional "filters" like 'pnm2ppa'
Google "foomatic" and/or "generate .ppd files" and see if you can
get the proper drivers/filters/whatever..
I have a Hewlet-Packard Deskjet 820Cse. It's NOT in the puppy wizards
and Pakts CUPS script won't help by itself.
I HAVE to install "pnm2ppa" FIRST, then make sure I put the .ppd file in
my root directory, then run Pakt's CUPS script.
With "pnm2ppa" already in place, the script runs right through and
brings up a browser window with the administration page. From there,
I select 'Manage Printers' - 'Add Printer' and select the appropriate items.

Which reminds me... Does anyone know if you still HAVE to make the
name a one word entry?
I haven't tried it... I remember it used to be you HAD to make that
first one a "one-word" entry with NO spaces. I'm just curious.

(Thanks again Pakt!!! The script has really smoothed up!! Great Work!!)

But, Jason, let me know what printer you're trying to get working,
if you don't have Internet, I'll try to get the .ppd file and pnm2ppa
(if needed) and post them here in a follow-up.
PPD files are small and pnm2ppa tar file is only 187K.
Hope I can help, just let me know!

Pakt... U DA MAN!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2007, 15:52    Post subject:  

Firstly the solution to the address problem is try
http://localhost:631/admin

never works for me without the admin.

Anyway cups is working fine here ,can print from windows 2000 also , samba is not needed to do this just network to <host>:631/printers/<name_of_printer> with IPP installed on the client..(added in network settings)

On the subject of size....the dotput is compiled to use ghostscript 9.15 but gsview is compiled to use 8.51 or 8.53 depending on the puppy version.
This results in two sets of ghostscipt files for each version for everything to run...ie duplication of around 5mb worth of files compressed.
Could a version of gsview compiled for 8.15 be included in the package perhaps...there doesn't seem to be a way to share one of the versions (went crosseyed trying)

Thanks for the effort to make this a straghtforward and 'worth-its-weight-in-gold' package,

regards

mike

update...looked at the cups site and it seems like the two ghostscript (esp 8.15 / gpl 8.57) versions are to be merged ..available soon...not sure how this affects the puppy cups implementation but the streamlining I mentioned will happen with this change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lowdog

Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2007, 12:46    Post subject: hp psc 1401
Subject description: Great!
 

Finally Got my Printer to work in puppy with this version thank you!!!!!!


Lowdog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jun 2007, 02:14    Post subject:  

Quote:
There is no uninstall feature in this dotpup.


Well, that makes it rather less palatable. I sure like to be able to back out packages, especially when loading something big like cups into something small like Puppy, where I don't know whether it is going to help me before I try it.

So, I guess I won't try it, even though I'm getting tired of taking a thumb drive upstairs to my wife's XP machine to print something.

I realize it was suggested to back up the pup_save first, in case it doesn't work. But there are other reasons to want to back out packages, for example when this revision is superceded by another, or because some day the standard Puppy print setup may be good enough.

Shouldn't developers be using the petget packager these days?

Sorry to be a nag about this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jun 2007, 03:35    Post subject: Strange Behavior  

Hi, Im using 2.15ce with CUPS. I develop at home and take the resulting pup_save.sfs files over to a community centre cybercafe where I work, both locations are networked with dhcp.

Ive (think Ive) noticed that CUPS seems to automatically pick up printers that are installed on other computers on the network, and I cant seem to remove them when I take them up to the cybercafe. Is there a way of clearing all of the cups configuration and printers to make a fresh install? Would re-installing this package do it?

Also, I want to share a quick tip for creating a quick desktop shortcut for this package. Its a little batch file that will launch dillo with "localhost:631" already in the browser, and its really quick.

www.ecomoney.eu/puppy/misc/printing.sh

Perhaps it can be included in the next cups package?

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jun 2007, 12:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
Ive (think Ive) noticed that CUPS seems to automatically pick up printers that are installed on other computers on the network, and I cant seem to remove them when I take them up to the cybercafe. Is there a way of clearing all of the cups configuration and printers to make a fresh install? Would re-installing this package do it?


Yes its keen to pick up printers...perhaps maually editing printers.conf in /etc/cups might do the trick.....I noticed when trying to delete jobs I get permission denied...probably needs a change in the cups.conf file

Quote:
I realize it was suggested to back up the pup_save first, in case it doesn't work. But there are other reasons to want to back out packages, for example when this revision is superceded by another, or because some day the standard Puppy print setup may be good enough.


What about testing ram only ie pfix=ram.....should work nicely with xp...install internet printing (ipp) and choose this method with the setup printer wizard putting the full cups printer address ...I used the adobe postscipt driver which seems to produce a better quality print than the original manufacturer one.....or via samba if you are using that.
If the package was updated it would more than likly overwrite existing file and add new ones.

mike

mike[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jun 2007, 19:58    Post subject: cheers  

Thanks MikeB about the hint with the /etc/printers.conf. Were testing a new version of the software for the cybercafe so there are updates practically everyday. I assume if I symlink the printers.conf file to something outside the pup_save file, I can just run a software update by replacing the pup_save and not have to set up the printing on all ten machines! Very Happy
_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2007, 07:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
I assume if I symlink the printers.conf file to something outside the pup_save file, I can just run a software update by replacing the pup_save and not have to set up the printing on all ten machines!

probably though I notied that the cups.conf file format does change between versions...suck it and see.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0728s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]