Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 01:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Printing in Puppy: cups-install-v0.3.pup (with Gutenprint)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2007, 09:04    Post subject:  

Not sure how much of this info needs updating - editing welcome
- anyway have put a link to the new .pup

great stuff

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Cups

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2007, 10:09    Post subject:  

This cup's install .pup dosen't seem to do anything for me...! , What was suppose to happen after it opened the default browser..?

The browser launches , And it shows http://localhost:/631 in the title bar but i get an error message in the middle stating:

Quote:
UNABLE TO CONNECT.

1. Are you able to browse other sites..?

2. A firewall may be blocking ..... ( i forget the rest )



If i try the command:

Code:
hp-toolbox


nothing happens.. But it seems as though the hp-toolbox.py exists in my
Code:
/Home
directory..

And my printer still dosen't show up in the printer wizard...

So what's going on here...?? Last time i checked you didn't need to be on the internet to access http://localhost:/631 ... Confused Rolling Eyes

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2007, 11:09    Post subject:  

jason.b.c wrote:
This cup's install .pup dosen't seem to do anything for me...! , What was suppose to happen after it opened the default browser..?

My guess is that you don't have enough space left in your pup_save file so not all of CUPS got installed.

You might reboot with "puppy pfix=ram" from CD and rename your pup_save file (so you have a safe backup of it), then create a new pup_save file to test the CUPS dotpup on. See if it works then.
jason.b.c wrote:
So what's going on here...?? Last time i checked you didn't need to be on the internet to access http://localhost:/631 ... Confused Rolling Eyes

The browser is not trying to access the internet - it is trying to connect to the CUPS printer web interface in your PC, but it can't find it because something went wrong with the installation.

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2007, 11:28    Post subject:    

How much space do i need to have in the puppy save file...?? Mine is 768mb's if i'm not mistaken , And i had to resize my partition from 1 GB to 1.5 GB..

I don't really have much of anything installed or saved up in my puppy system because it dosen't have internet access ( i mean , what would be the point - right..? )

I just don't understand how i Don't have enough space..? Confused

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2007, 11:35    Post subject:  

jason.b.c wrote:
I just don't understand how i Don't have enough space..? Confused

As I wrote, that was just a guess as to why you had a problem installing CUPS. As far as I remember that is the only problem anyone has had with the dotpup before.

I really don't know what could be wrong.

Perhaps someone else reading this thread may have a clue...?

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2007, 12:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
The browser launches , And it shows http://localhost:/631 in the title bar but i get an error message in the middle stating:



Try http://localhost:631

You do not need the "/" prior to 631

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2007, 13:31    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
Try http://localhost:631

You do not need the "/" prior to 631

Thanks, trapster, for catching that Smile

Strange though, because the CUPS dotpup doesn't add the "/"...

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2007, 14:03    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
Quote:
The browser launches , And it shows http://localhost:/631 in the title bar but i get an error message in the middle stating:



Try http://localhost:631

You do not need the "/" prior to 631


Oh did i get that wrong..? Laughing

I wasn't for sure if i was remembering that correctly , I was almost certain i remembered seeing a "/" at the end there in the title bar...


I'll try it again here soon...

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
3nCrypt

Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 06:20    Post subject: SMB on CUPS  

I've used CUPS before, but have forgotten the proper syntax.

I have a network shared printer running at home off a Windows XP Pro SP2 computer.

- I choose "Unknown Network Device (smb)" in the Admin area.
- I enter this for Device URI: smb://anonymous:anonymous//PCNAME/SHARENAME

Nothing happens when I click on Print Test Page. Am I entering something wrong in the Device URI box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
3nCrypt

Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2007, 18:28    Post subject:  

Now I don't know if this helped or not but I read some things online that your smb.conf file has to be edited to point to your home workgroup so I edited it to use "HOME" as that's my Windows Workgroup name.

I still can't get CUPS to work, but now LinNeighborhood sees the Workgroup and systems on there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 22:23    Post subject:  

I still cannot get this thing to work..

I have some 464.58 mb's of free space in the puppy partition , The printer is plugged in during install , and:

Quote:
http://localhost:631


does in fact show up in the browser when it is launched , Why dosen't it work...??

I even tried installing it in a puppy live session , And it still wouldn't work...


Quote:
Unable to connect


Is the message i see ( even in the live session )...

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 22:18    Post subject:  

*BUMP*
_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 22:43    Post subject:  

i don't know if this is your problem, but i seem to remember that you must use the exact address that is in the config file ... so if it is configured to allow 127.0.0.1 and you use localhost, it will not work

does http://127.0.0.1:631 work?

or maybe http://127.0.0.1:631/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2007, 06:44    Post subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
i don't know if this is your problem, but i seem to remember that you must use the exact address that is in the config file ... so if it is configured to allow 127.0.0.1 and you use localhost, it will not work

does http://127.0.0.1:631 work?

or maybe http://127.0.0.1:631/


Nope..! , Still no luck here..., I still get the error...

Has anybody at all had this trouble..?? Does this dot.pup actually work correctly..??

I'm starting to wonder if the pup is corrupt or something.. ( the download )

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
Mstar

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2007, 16:10    Post subject:  

I believe the answer is here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=15094

I fought this same battle for two weeks, then installed smbspool as per the post and CUPS immediately began working.

YMMV, but it worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0846s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]