Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 23:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Defaults-Wizard v0.1.2
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2006, 02:27    Post_subject:  Defaults-Wizard v0.1.2
Sub_title: A GUI to change the default apps
 

There are a bunch of files in /usr/local/bin/ that look like 'defaultbrowser' or 'defaulttexteditor'. Most things should be set to run them, rather than seamonkey or geany. That way you can edit those files to change the defaults easily.

Until now, you had to do it by hand. This should change that. It searches /usr/local/bin/ for any file matching the name default* except defaulthandler, which is a more complicated file. It then makes a popup with a list of each such file and what it currently runs. There will be a button next to each one that you can click to change the app. It will pop up a file-chooser dialog, so you can browse or type the filename. Then it replaces it in the file, and goes back to where it started in case you want to change more.

defaults-wizard-v0.1.2.pup
defaults-wizard-v0.1.1.pup
defaults-wizard-v0.1.0.pup

To run it, open a terminal and type defaults-wizard, or choose it in the start menu under "Setup" for JWM and under "Setup > Wizards" for IceWM. It also adds a defaultswizard.desktop entry in /usr/share/applications/.



_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2006, 02:48    Post_subject:  

nifty, will add it to Muppy Smile
Thanks, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2006, 03:03    Post_subject:  

I was in bed and almost ready to sleep when I realized I never said how to run it Embarassed

Open a terminal and type defaults-wizard

It doesn't add itself to the menus yet either. I don't like messing with them, but I probably should for this one. I'll update it for that tomorrow evening.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2006, 07:10    Post_subject:  

Nice one, Pizzasgood - another handy utility to put in Puppy Cool

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2006, 20:02    Post_subject:  

Awesome Pizza!! A definite "MUST HAVE!" for anyone just coming into Puppy!

Thank you so very much for this! Though I really learnt a lot about Linux because of little things like this in Puppy, editing default files, or making desktop icons by hand, etc., this will come in so handy for all of the very new people just starting out into exploring our OS say, from Windows XP/98se, etc.

Again Pizza, THANKS!! Smile

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2006, 22:42    Post_subject:  

Thanks Smile

I added entries in the start menu under "Setup" for JWM and under "Setup > Wizards" for IceWM. It also now adds a defaultswizard.desktop entry in /usr/share/applications/.

defaults-wizard-v0.1.1.pup

Installing this over the old one is fine.

EDIT: I re-uploaded it because the part that edited the icewm menu was messed up. If you already used that one, open /root/.icewm/menu and remove the menu at the very bottom called "Wizards". Then you can download the fixed version (same name) and re-install to get it correctly. Sorry 'bout that.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2006, 23:36    Post_subject: change from Geany to Leafpad
Sub_title: greater usage with common options
 

good idea Smile

hard for a beginner
for example to change from Geany to Leafpad
I have to know Leafpad is in usr/local/bin

so this might have greater usage with common options
(which would mean a different layout)
Not sure what widget to suggest . . .

Very useful
Many thanks

Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2006, 02:00    Post_subject:  

For anything much more complicated, I'll have to learn PuppyBasic (not a bad thing).

Options are hard, because they may or may not be installed, and there's no telling where. Sometimes they look installed, but it's a symlink.

Not that it couldn't be done, but this is all I'm doing for the near future. As of now, I'm only working on Pizzapup, other than maintenance-type-things.

Though I might adjust the file-choosing slightly, to first pop up a text-entry box with a button for the "browse" box that currently comes up. That wouldn't be until the weekend at the earliest.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2006, 00:17    Post_subject:  

Hello Pizzasgood,
I installed version 0.1.1 and restarted jwm and it was in the menu so I opened it.
I clicked on Gxine and it opened a box. So I clicked O.K as I wasn't planning to change any thing and just wanted to get out of your package.
Now I can't open Gxine even if I click on the icon in usr/local/bin/gxine which is the location linked from the desktop.
I am also running the XFce desktop and it still works from there?
but not in jwm anymore?

So how do I fix it and maybe you need to make your package so that it doesn't delete links if someone presses OK instead of clicking on the "X" to close your program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2006, 00:47    Post_subject:  

Whoops. I remembered to take care of hitting cancel and 'x', but I forgot about that possibility... Embarassed

I'll go fix it.


EDIT: If you run the wizard again, it should still be there. It should show a '/' rather than saying 'gxine', but if you click it, it should let you change it. Gxine is at /usr/local/bin/gxine.

I noticed it doesn't have a cancel button though, so I'm going to add that too. You can click the 'x' to get out though.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2006, 01:53    Post_subject:  

I added a cancel button, and have it set up to output an error message when it tries to load a default* that has a blank entry (an error that only happened from running an unfinished version, but it took forever to figure it out because it wasn't making any kind of error message due to how that particular line was written).

If you just click okay, it will still replace the application with a / (or a /bin/ or whatever directory you're in). As there is now a cancel button, this shouldn't be a problem. I might adjust that next time I upgrade it, but for now this is fine. If you mess up, you just click it again and choose the correct app.

defaults-wizard-v0.1.2.pup

If you want to fix your error by hand instead, just open /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer in a text editor and replace it with this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec gxine "$@"


XFCE might have linked directly to gxine rather than the defaultmediaplayer file.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2006, 04:58    Post_subject:  

Thanks Pizzasgood,
I will try and fix it when i get home from work.
I like the fact that you included a cancel button and how to manually edit the file to fix it. Thanks Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2006, 09:04    Post_subject:  

Hello Pizzasgood,
I opened the location of Gxine and pasted in the text you posted as a fix and that fixed it.
The file for Gxine was empty.
So thank you for the fix. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2006, 16:57    Post_subject:  

Great. Smile
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
EdFromHouston

Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan 2007, 01:58    Post_subject:  

I installed a live cd with Puppy 2.13 and version 0.12 defaults wizard quit working. In Puppy 2.12 your extension worked great.

Now when the second screen opens in defaults wizard and I try to type in the location box, your screen disappears from the desktop[s] both a and b in icewm and jwm.

Does it need to be updated or do I have something set wrong or something missing?

Ed

Edit:
That's a clean install of puppy 2.13, programs like firefox, thunderbird, etc...

Have a good night.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0821s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]