Battery Monitoring Dotpup for JWM

Stuff that has yet to be sorted into a category.
Message
Author
kirk
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 19:04
Location: florida

#16 Post by kirk »

Just tried the dotpup. Works for me!

I'm running 2.12 beta. When I ran "Batmon" from the DotPups menu, a window popped up saying that the zdrv file was being copied to the same place as my pup_save file. It just sat there for a while, probably because there's just a couple Mbytes left on that partition. So I clicked in the corner to close the window and the computer rebooted. When I ran "Batmon" from the DotPups menu again, the percent of battery showed up in the task bar.

Maybe a 2.12 bug?

Thnaks!

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#17 Post by plinej »

Might be, I'm in 2.11 right now.

Rickrandom
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat 21 Jan 2006, 05:35
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

#18 Post by Rickrandom »

I installed the dotpup, but just got the -%.

I tried in a terminal modprobe battery and modprobe ac (both seemed OK) and batmon.sh (some errors).

I've restarted JWM a couple of times.

I got confused about what to click, etc. Any suggestions?

Puppy 2.10, frugal install.

brad_chuck
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 03:47
Location: Appalachian Mountains

#19 Post by brad_chuck »

I updated the main post again with some updated work. This time the main executable will alternate between battery status and free memory. By default it switches about every 10 seconds or so.

Also I fixed the script so that the problem with the

brad_chuck
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 03:47
Location: Appalachian Mountains

idea

#20 Post by brad_chuck »

Rickrandom, Try the new batmon-0.0.2.tar.gz first then if that does not work copy and paste the exact error message and I will try to work it out.

I just had an idea..... What do you guys think?

If we made the batmon into a front for a shell script that could control it

so say you could do something like

Code: Select all

while [ 1 ] ;do
batmon -bg #000000 -fg #ffffff `batmon.sh`
sleep 10
batmon -bg #000000 -fg #ffffff `getfreemem.sh`
sleep 10
done
this way you could just update the shell script and bam it would do your bidding. Flash when battery is low or when it goes below freezing whatever.

Temperature , stock prices.........

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#21 Post by plinej »

Sounds good to me Brad. I'll be happy to test it out.

brad_chuck
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 03:47
Location: Appalachian Mountains

Thanks

#22 Post by brad_chuck »

Thanks it will take me a few days... I have a lot to do this weekend.

I think the best way to do it it to is like this

Code: Select all

script.sh | executable
Then the script would do something like

Code: Select all

while [ 1 ];do
echo "#000000"
echo "#ffffff"
echo "`batmon.sh`"
sleep 10
echo "#000000"
echo "#ffffff"
echo "`freemem.sh`"
sleep 10
done

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#23 Post by BarryK »

This is great! I won't put it into 2.12 yet, as it's "under heavy development"!

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#24 Post by BarryK »

This is great! I won't put it into 2.12 yet, as it's "under heavy development"!

JB4x4
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun 30 Jul 2006, 22:44
Contact:

#25 Post by JB4x4 »

Tried out the 0.2 version and my battery now reads without any extra work, Thanks.

Just my opinion: Not sure if I care for the switching feature, I myself would prefer two separate readouts (one for battery / one for free space).

Keep up the good work though.

JB

brad_chuck
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 03:47
Location: Appalachian Mountains

This should work for you

#26 Post by brad_chuck »

When I get the above idea working you can set it up however you like...


For now this is an exe that does not change.. it just stays on battery.
Attachments
noswapbatmon.tar.gz
(8.51 KiB) Downloaded 572 times

User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#27 Post by pakt »

Thanks, brad_chuck!

batmon.pup 0.2 works great with Puppy 2.12beta on my Dell Inspiron 510m laptop.

Here is a hack of batmon.sh to display the CPU temperature. Useful for seeing the effect of running CPU frequency scaling or for monitoring cooling status.
Requires: modprobe thermal to work.

Could also be used alternating: freemem/battery charge/CPU temp

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#batmon.sh hack for displaying CPU temperature, by pakt

cd /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/
for a in `ls`
do
if [ "`grep C /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/$a/temperature`" != "" ]; then
temp="`cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/$a/temperature | grep "temperature:" | sed -n 's/temperature:            //p'`"
fi
done
echo -n "${temp}"
Note that the $a variable is necessary. The folder name varies from machine to machine. On my Dell 510m it is THM, on a Thinkpad it is THM0.
Paul
Attachments
batmon_temp.png
batmon.sh hacked to show CPU temp
(2.29 KiB) Downloaded 1859 times
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux

Rickrandom
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat 21 Jan 2006, 05:35
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

#28 Post by Rickrandom »

I still have the -% displayed, with version 0.2 (I think - I'm not very good with tar and all that stuff :oops: ). It swaps between free memory and the -%, so I assume that it's v0.2.

Does this mean anything from typing batmon.sh?

/usr/local/bin/batmon.sh: line 19: let: per=((*100)/()): syntax error: operand expected (error token is "*100)/())")

Anyway, a couple of comments:

1. As any such feature takes up some screen space, I'd suggest it doesn't display the decimal place or MB, just M, for the free memory. 123M is plenty, 123.2MB takes up a bit more space, but seems unnecessary.

2. I'd agree with a previous poster, that swapping is less preferable to one fixed display. (I guess it sort of contradicts my other comment!)

Thinking further ahead, would it be possible for batmon to also perform a graceful shutdown if the % gets below a threshold? I usually use my laptop on mains power, but have left it on battery once or twice and found it dead when I've come back. Thus it hasn't saved to disk, so there is a risk of losing stuff.

User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#29 Post by pakt »

Rickrandom wrote:I still have the -% displayed, with version 0.2 (I think - I'm not very good with tar and all that stuff :oops: ). It swaps between free memory and the -%, so I assume that it's v0.2.
I also got the '-%' until I remembered to 'modprobe battery' and 'modprobe ac'.

The 'modprobe ac' is needed if you want the '-' sign to change to '+' when the laptop is running on ac power.

Hope that helps
Paul
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux

Rickrandom
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat 21 Jan 2006, 05:35
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

#30 Post by Rickrandom »

pakt,

Thanks for the suggestion, but modprobe battery and ac both seem ok (no errors) and there is no change to the -%, even if I restart JWM.

User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#31 Post by pakt »

Rickrandom, what do you get if you run:

# ls /proc/acpi/battery/

I get 'BAT0 BAT1'

If you get 'BAT0', then run:

# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state

What does that show?
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux

Rickrandom
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat 21 Jan 2006, 05:35
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

#32 Post by Rickrandom »

I get:

sh-3.00# ls /proc/acpi/battery/
BAT1
sh-3.00# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/state
present: no
sh-3.00# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT01/state
cat: /proc/acpi/battery/BAT01/state: No such file or directory
sh-3.00#
sh-3.00# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state
cat: /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state: No such file or directory
sh-3.00#

I managed to type BAT01 once

:?

User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#33 Post by pakt »

Rickrandom wrote:I get:

sh-3.00# ls /proc/acpi/battery/
BAT1

sh-3.00# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/state
present: no

sh-3.00# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state
cat: /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state: No such file or directory
sh-3.00#
Strange that you don't get BAT0. That should be your main battery.

Many laptops can be fitted with a second battery, e.g. in place of the CD drive to increase battery running time. I believe BAT1 is a reference to that second battery. In your case, as in most cases, it isn't present.

I really don't know why BAT0 doesn't show up. This is why you are getting '-%'.

This is what I get on my Dell Inspiron 510m:

Code: Select all

# ls /proc/acpi/battery/
BAT0  BAT1

# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state
present:                 yes
capacity state:          ok
charging state:          charged
present rate:            unknown
remaining capacity:      32000 mWh
present voltage:         16157 mV

# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/state
present:                 no
Paul
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux

marksouth2000
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed 05 Apr 2006, 20:43

#34 Post by marksouth2000 »

One cannot assume that a sole battery will be BAT0. The machine I'm typing this from has one battery, listed as BAT1.

I guess one needs to take the first entry returned from

Code: Select all

ls /proc/acpi/battery/
as being the main battery, rather than assuming BAT0.

brad_chuck
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 03:47
Location: Appalachian Mountains

The script does this

#35 Post by brad_chuck »

Rickrandom, can you type

Code: Select all

ls /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1
and post the output?

Then for all the files in that dir type

Code: Select all

cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/filename

About your ideas... They sound great. When I get more work done all this can be done with a shell script.

It is bad when your are using a live CD because as of right now your laptop will just turn off! Ouch!




marksouth2000, That is what the script does now. Whatever the first dir in /proc/acpi/battery/ is the one that it uses. I also have BAT1 ?????

Post Reply