Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 11:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
RemoteDesktop tuning
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Spindoctor


Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 12:36    Post subject:  RemoteDesktop tuning  

Hi!

I just used RemoteDesktop with WinXP for the first time - it works great.

There are just some things I couldn't find out yet.

1) Is it possible to switch between the Windows environment and the Puppy environment in fullscreen mode?

2) The keyboard map seems not alright. The "?"-Button gives "_" for example. Can I fix it?

3) Is it possible to save the settings?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICQ Number 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 13:44    Post subject: Re: RemoteDesktop tuning  

Spindoctor wrote:
1) Is it possible to switch between the Windows environment and the Puppy environment in fullscreen mode?
No, but there is a way to get exactly that same effect.

When you use full screen mode, full control of the keyboard and mouse is passed to the remote computer, that means that non of the keys go to your WM.

The alternative is to execute the rdesktop without the full screen option but to specify the following parameters
-D --> Do not use window decorations
-K --> Keep trapping special key combinations

AND specify a geometry a little bit smaller than your current screen resolution so it does not cover your tray, for example, if your tray is size 24

rdesktop -g 1024x744 -a 24 -K -D mywindowscomputer

[quote="Spindoctor"]2) The keyboard map seems not alright. The "?"-Button gives "_" for example. Can I fix it?

Spindoctor wrote:
3) Is it possible to save the settings?
What I do is create one script per server I need to connect, the only thing that script has is the rdesktop command.
_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 17:54    Post subject: Re: RemoteDesktop tuning  

rarsa wrote:
Spindoctor wrote:
1) Is it possible to switch between the Windows environment and the Puppy environment in fullscreen mode?
No, but there is a way to get exactly that same effect.

When you use full screen mode, full control of the keyboard and mouse is passed to the remote computer, that means that non of the keys go to your WM.
CTRL-ALT-RETURN does the trick for me. I don't specify geometry I just use
-f to get fullscreen

2)funny keyboard stuff might be cured by forwarding your keyboard map using
-k en-gb
for example.

heres a line I use:
rdesktop -f -a 15 -k en-gb -T kangaroo -x broadband ***.***.***.***

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 18:13    Post subject: Re: RemoteDesktop tuning  

HairyWill wrote:
CTRL-ALT-RETURN does the trick for me. I don't specify geometry I just use
-f to get fullscreen

Yeehah! I never knew about CTRL-ALT-RETURN to access my local desktop when online. Thanks for the tip, HairyWill. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Spindoctor


Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sun 29 Oct 2006, 08:25    Post subject:  

cool, thank you all!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICQ Number 
kirk22

Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2007, 10:56    Post subject:  

Here's another question along similar lines ....

Is it possible to use a script to load rdesktop sessions into different workspaces on IceWM?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0554s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]