Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 05 Jul 2020, 13:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to add Hebrew keyboard?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2020, 17:22    Post subject:  How to add Hebrew keyboard?  

Bionic-Pup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8396
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2020, 17:50    Post subject:  

Isn't that in First Run settings?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pcplague2


Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 35
Location: Barreiro (near Lisbon) - Portugal

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2020, 18:33    Post subject:  

I think that the name in keyboards is il (Israel).
Choose in Quick setup.
Attached picture.
Quick setup (Israel Kb).png
Description  Quick setup (Israel Kb)
png

 Download 
Filename  Quick setup (Israel Kb).png 
Filesize  189.77 KB 
Downloaded  30 Time(s) 

_________________
Paulo Pestana <- All the way from Portugal Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2020, 18:55    Post subject:  

OH, RIGHT. IT WAS CONFUSING - BECAUSE THERE WAS ONLY ONE LAYOUT.
BUT NOW I CANT SWITCH FROM HEBREW TO ENGLISH - WITH CTRL+SHIFT. I THINK THAT IT SHOULD BE IN SETUP - MOUSE \ KEYBOARD - GROUP\SHIFT-LOCK BEHAVIOR. OR SOMEWHERE THERE. DOES SOMEONE KNOW?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2020, 20:29    Post subject:  

I tried many times... it seems that I can either have an English layout or Hebrew; just like it looks - since I choose only one.
Where exactly am I suppose to choose it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pcplague2


Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 35
Location: Barreiro (near Lisbon) - Portugal

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2020, 16:26    Post subject:  

menu/ quick setup and see picture I sent in the other post
_________________
Paulo Pestana <- All the way from Portugal Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 05:37    Post subject:  

@pcplague2 - that's what I chose; and ended up with only Hebrew; or at least - no way to switch to English, or to know whether I have both.
I also tried the 2 advice from here - http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=49614:
― Changing the xorg.conf file ― it would automatically change back from "us,il" to "us" or "il" only.
― I also installed fbxkb-0.4-i486 - but it doesn't work; I don't see the flag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8396
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 06:35    Post subject:  

No knowing what you installed, remove it and install my attached pet.

You'll need to go into ~/Startup this time to test. Clk to switch.
locale_switcher.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  locale_switcher.pet 
Filesize  392 Bytes 
Downloaded  24 Time(s) 

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 06:52    Post subject:  

@Semme - I don't have this folder - ~/Startup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8396
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 06:58    Post subject:    

On Bionic64? Yeah, you do. "!תתעורר אחי"

Remove fbxkb-0.4-i486 and install this.
Code:
rox ~/Startup

Note the symbol on the title bar.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 09:05    Post subject:  

@Semme - hah; is that by Google-Translate or native?
Don't know why it didn't work before. Anyway - I think we have progress. In /root/Startup/ ― there's a file called xkb_switcher. Now after reboot ― the text switched to English, as you can see ― thought in the Country Setup - it's Hebrew. But I still don't see a way to switch to Hebrew. I don't see anything on the Taskbar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8396
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 09:52    Post subject:  

Leave country setup wherever you want. The switcher is for typing within applications.

If it doesn't show up after clking, rt-clk the script and change permissions to execute, then clk to start.
switcher-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   8.52 KB
 Viewed   50 Time(s)

switcher-3.jpg


_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 11:35    Post subject:  

@Semme - nop; doesn't work. I installed the compatibility layer; reinstalled Switcher; rebooted; clicked on xkb_switcher in Startup; nothing appeared.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrAccident


Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 361

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 12:30    Post subject:  

@Semme - it works! I Installed fbxkb again; the keyboard switched to Hebrew again, without the ability to switch back; I uninstalled it, restarted, it remained in Hebrew; I installed your Switcher again, restarted x ― and suddenly Alt+Shift works. Actually - I did the following again: Setup -> Mouse / Keyboard -> Advanced Configurations -> Group Shift/Lock behavior -> Alt+Shift. Maybe this time it worked. Anyway - it's one of those things, that suddenly it just works.
About the flag ― I didn't notice you've given 2 different links: to your Switcher and the fbxkb...deb file.
So now - everything works!
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8396
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2020, 12:48    Post subject:    

@-a-boy. I knew I wasn't nuts.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1399s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0249s) ][ GZIP on ]