Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 05 Jul 2020, 14:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Has Palemoon suddenly become a resource hog? (No, seems not)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2020, 14:51    Post subject:  Has Palemoon suddenly become a resource hog? (No, seems not)
Subject description: - but watch out for user agent issues
 

Quite apart from the general slowing-down of t’internet in recent days due to heavy use by those in virus ‘lockdown’, I seem to be suffering serious slowing down of my own regular box since downloading the latest PM version about a week ago, even when I have killed my internet connection.

Today I was very surprised to see, via Topview, 115 processes continuing to run - most of which were completely unfamiliar! - after I had shut down PM altogether.

(Background: I’m currently running Dpup Stretch 7.5 frugal on a PentiumD box - nominal max 3800 MHz, 2006 BIOS, with 3026MB RAM + 255 MB swap. I reluctantly switched over from an earlier box running my favourite Puppy 4.3.1 with original Seamonkey 1.1.18 about a year ago, when the latter had begun to fail to access so many bloated websites. Although I added Ublock Origin with fairly tight restrictions at that time, I’ve also been quite peeved to note a huge increase in consumption on my data usage account since then ... but maybe that’s a subject for a different thread).

I’ve also been dismayed to see reams of apparently redundant, but persistent, small files being created in peculiar places within my filing system, since starting to use PM.

So, wot’s goin’ on with PM? I’m very keen to hear about others’ experiences - and especially, any fixes.

Last edited by dogle on Mon 13 Apr 2020, 08:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 15005
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2020, 15:43    Post subject:  

Hi dogle.

I haven't used PaleMoon in a while, so I won't answer that part of your question.
I'm sure one of our "PaleMoon experts" Smile will show up shortly!

But I see that you have only 255 MB of swap space: that's not enough.

Recommended is at least 500 MB, ideally 2.5 times your amount of RAM.

So my suggestion would be to create a swap partition of approx. 8 GB on a hard
drive that's not too populated. It's easy to do using the gparted utility.

Although surprising on the face of it, since you have 3 GB of RAM, some websites
are terribly image- and video-rich nowadays, and they gobble up resources on your
box like crazy. Anything too big for the RAM is absorbed by the swap -- unfortunately
the swap is much slower than RAM, but it saves your box from crashing.

As to your system running +/- 115 processes with no PM running, I'd say that's normal.
On my box, I see 42 processes running in htop, and I've set it up so as not to show all.
Linuxes need a minimum of processes to run, you know! Wink

IHTH

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2175

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2020, 16:38    Post subject:  

Not an expert but with one window open (this one), the home tab and nothing else, Pale Moon's showing about 447 MB in Conky and 183 processes running, which isn't too bad for 2020.

With 3 GB of Ram though you should be able to run it OK; that's what my old machine had. Pale Moon has an *add-on which puts any inactive tabs to sleep so that they don't continue to use resources when you're not actually loading them; I'll see if I can find it.

I agree with musher that you need more swap though. Ideally you should have at least as big a swap partition as you have RAM; I have less because I have nearly 6 GB of RAM and don't need much of it.

[*Found it; it's called Lull The Tabs.]

https://addons.palemoon.org/addon/lull-the-tabs/

_________________
Gigabyte M68MT-52P motherboard, AMD Athlon II X4 630, 5.8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a 250 GB Hitachi hard drive running Ubuntu 16.04.6, MX-19.2, Peppermint 10, PCLinuxOS 20.02, LXLE 18.04.3, Pardus 19.2, exGENT 200119, Bionic Pup 8.0 and Xenial CE 7.5 XL.

Last edited by Colonel Panic on Wed 08 Apr 2020, 10:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wiz57


Joined: 03 Feb 2019
Posts: 99
Location: Chickasha, OK

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2020, 18:24    Post subject:  

I run Palemoon on my ScPup 32 bit frugal installs on this little Acer Aspire
One AO150 netbook, 1.6 gHz Intel Atom N270 CPU, 1 gig RAM, 120 gig HD,
with all puppies I use only a 512 meg swap file. So far, haven't noticed a
slowdown with Palemoon. FWIW---I also use a "community developer
release" of Palemoon called New Moon for Windows XP, which I also use
on this netbook.
Perhaps it is your choice of Puppy which is causing the slowdown???
I tend to gravitate towards Slackware and it's offsprings, which is why I
prefer ScPup, current favorite is ScPup 20.01 with LXQt desktop.
Wiz Smile

_________________
ScPup 32 and LxPupSC 32 (ScPup w/LX desktop)
Good Pups for Lazy Slackers
Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13953
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Apr 2020, 00:01    Post subject:  

What add-ons you got installed and using?
Extensions?
Plugins?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01101001b


Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 121
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Wed 08 Apr 2020, 17:19    Post subject: Re: Has Palemoon suddenly become a resource hog, or what?
Subject description: - and if so, what to do about it?
 

dogle wrote:
Today I was very surprised to see, via Topview, 115 processes continuing to run - most of which were completely unfamiliar! - after I had shut down PM altogether.

(currently running Dpup Stretch 7.5 frugal on a PentiumD box 3800 MHz with 3026MB RAM + 255 MB swap.

Palemoon has its moments. Some versions work ok and others are a headache. I'm sticking to 28.8.2 because it works pretty well on my system (DPupBuster 8, 64bit /Athlon II X2 250 Processor + 8 GB ram and NO swap. I found swap had no use in my system, so I ditched it) and shows me YT the way I like it (no polymer).

At this very moment, Palemoon (with 27 tabs opened) is using 588MB of ram (perhaps nMatrix addon has something to do with that).

All in all, a total of 30 processes running (PM included) using only 1413MB / 8GB of ram.

Just FYI, here is a list of the addons I use:

Context Search X
Google Translator for Pale Moon
I don't care about cookies
Mouse Gestures Suite
nextpage
ScriptBlock
Toolbarize Menu Button
uBlock Origin
ηMatrix

Hope you find a solution to your problem! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Wed 08 Apr 2020, 19:39    Post subject:  

Thanks everyone for your very helpful observations, and for a personal message warning me of a sudden splurge in PM bugfix revisions.

For the record, I'm running PM 28.9.0 with no plugins, just extensions 'active stop button' and UBlock Origin 1.16.4.10 set to 'block media elements >10kB'.

(I see the latest PM version is now at 28.9.0.2).

I do agree that my legacy swap partition is stupidly small by today's standards and that's something I'll be addressing shortly, although right now I rather doubt that that has been the root of my problems ('cos it doesn't seem to see much use).

Thus far the emerging consensus seems to be that this slow performance is not a PM problem at all, but more likely a consequence of all the unnecessary garbage which dimwitted and uncleanly website skiddies are now seeking to fling in our direction.

So, if there are no contrarian views expressed over the next day or so I'll mark this thread accordingly, and seek to address the problem of garbage-suppression in a new one.

PS - since my OP I've been developing a dark suspicion that a (more than usually) buggy - or corrupted - version of AbiWord (3.0.1) might be at least part of the problem. I often leave it running, and it has been prone to lots of misbehaviour - any comments on that one most welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 2019
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2020, 00:16    Post subject:  

I have releaved in recent days of covid19 that when the network is overcharged palemoon (my main browser) is unable to stream videos while firefox can. I think this depends on my provider and sites filtering the network requests.

EDIT: further testing: starting palemoon with a new profile solves the problem of streaming videos when it is not possible sometimes with the main profile. Have I a corrupted profile or is it a filtering issue? I'm surfing now with a new profile and I'll report any issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 2019
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2020, 13:20    Post subject:  

Using palemoon I have had again problem streaming youtube with the new profile after 4-5 hours of use and when the network is overcharged (late-evening). Restarting palemoon solves the problem. When you close palemoon you have to wait 1-2 minutes before starting it again because of hidden processes. The latest palemoon has issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2262
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2020, 19:35    Post subject:  

I believe you should still be able to force the previous YouTube UI by adding ?disable_polymer=1 to the end of each URL (you'll have to do it manually, though, because I think it 'goes away' if you click on a link to any other video/YT page). Even better, if you can find an extension or userscript to automatically add it to every YouTube URL.

I'm not sure if it still works, because I haven't tried watching any YouTube videos in a while.

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 2019
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2020, 03:15    Post subject:  

I have googled and come at the conclusion that it's a user-agent issue. I have installed from ca-archive the User Agent Switcher extension and I have loaded a list of user agents choosing Firefox 55.0 64 bit user agent. The problem seems solved. I'll report any issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 15005
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2020, 15:00    Post subject:  

Can the user control the size of the cache in PaleMoon?

A larger cache means less download of material from
often visited sites, IOW more speed.

Just a thought.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 2019
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2020, 15:38    Post subject:  

I have set palemoon to delete the cache when I close it. The problem is solved changing the user agent: now palemoon has an its own default user agent which is an issue. Using firefox as user agent the problem is solved: this evening I haven't experienced any problem streaming videos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Mon 13 Apr 2020, 08:25    Post subject:  

Salute, watchdog.

I couldn't comment on YouTube problem because I don't download any video material - at least not intentionally - but I and others have also had PM useragent issues. ( I was caught unawares by the developers' intentional useragent twiddling going back to 2016, my thanks to anikin for drawing attention to Moonchild's sharp remarks back then, in the main PM thread here ) -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93807&start=245

Yes, musher0, that is a user option, good thought.

My PM has been behaving quite well just recently, so it seems that the slowdown which I experienced after version change was purely coincidental and I'll just have to sniff elsewhere for the cause of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 2019
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 13 Apr 2020, 11:28    Post subject:  

I have to reopen my issue on videos streaming sometimes not working. Changing user agent does not completely solve the problem. Restarting palemoon I have captured some error code of hanging processes:

Code:
# defaultbrowser
WARNING: At least one completion condition is taking too long to complete. Conditions: [{"name":"MediaShutdownManager: shutdown","state":"(none)","filename":"/home/PM4Linux32/REPO/Pale-Moon/platform/dom/media/MediaShutdownManager.cpp","lineNumber":76,"stack":"MediaShutdownManager shutdown"}] Barrier: profile-before-change
FATAL ERROR: AsyncShutdown timeout in profile-before-change Conditions: [{"name":"MediaShutdownManager: shutdown","state":"(none)","filename":"/home/PM4Linux32/REPO/Pale-Moon/platform/dom/media/MediaShutdownManager.cpp","lineNumber":76,"stack":"MediaShutdownManager shutdown"}] At least one completion condition failed to complete within a reasonable amount of time. Causing a crash to ensure that we do not leave the user with an unresponsive process draining resources.
WARNING: No crash reporter available
[13712] ###!!! ABORT: file /home/PM4Linux32/REPO/Pale-Moon/platform/dom/media/MediaShutdownManager.cpp, line 76
[13712] ###!!! ABORT: file /home/PM4Linux32/REPO/Pale-Moon/platform/dom/media/MediaShutdownManager.cpp, line 76
Segmentation fault
#


I have googled and there are several bug reports about crashing MediaShutdownManager not solved at Mozilla. It could be a sound issue.

When video streaming not working and many tabs open, I now open another instance of palemoon with different profile and this works.

Code:
/path-to/palemoon --new-instance -profile /path-to/profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0609s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]