File transfer between drives going slowly in Rox

Booting, installing, newbie
liutauriux

File transfer between drives going slowly in Rox

#1 Post by liutauriux »

So, I'm running bionicpup 64 8.0 from my slow usb because I wanted to move my files between my ssd and hdd. And I just wanna say, I'm not experienced with any kind of linux. And I just have a few questions. First off, I'm using Roxfiler and is there any kind of progress bar or way that I could track the progress of moving files? Right now I'm just clicking on the file that's being moved and going to properties to check how big it is. And from what I'm seeing, the files are moving at a snail's pace like about 10-20mb per minute and I was just wondering if there is something I could do to speed it up or should I just deal with it.

jafadmin

#2 Post by jafadmin »

You for sure have something weird going on. I just copied a 1 gig file from spinner to spinner with a "sync" in 11 seconds.

So it depends on your hardware, I'm guessing. (e.g.: processor, ram, disks, etc ..)

bigpup

#3 Post by bigpup »

For Bionicpup64 8.0 there are some updates to it, but they probably have nothing to do with your issue.
Qiuckpet icon on desktop access Quickpet.
Quickpet->Info->Bionicpup updates
Do a reboot of Bionicpup just to make sure the changes are saved and now being used.

Using Rox file manager.
Click on the desktop icon for each drive to mount it and open a Rox window showing what is on the drive.
Should have two Rox windows open.
Navigate in each window, to location on each drive, you want to be showing in the Rox window.
Now with two Rox windows open.
Use drag and drop.
Left click and drag from one Rox window to the other.
A menu will open giving choices of what to do. (copy, move)
If it is a large file or directory. A window will open showing progress.
(It may offer some choices as to how you want the copy or move to be done.
For a file it stays open until the process is done.