BusterDog + build system (no-systemd)

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#316 Post by fredx181 »

trister wrote:So, the problem is that if I'm in a hurry and start one of the apps that uses /mnt/home it kind of messes up /mnt/home path and all the apps are useless -and I need to restart the system and keep in mind to be more patient next time

OK, I see, here's a way to create the /mnt/home symlink very early in the boot process by creating a separate initscript (instead of doing it from /etc/rc.local)
Comment out in /etc/rc.local, so becomes this:

Code: Select all

# By default this script does nothing.
#if [ -f /mnt/live/tmp/modules ]; then
#/usr/local/bin/mountlink
#else
#/usr/local/bin/mnt-backing
#fi
Place attached script "lnmounts" in /etc/init.d (after removing fake.gz and making executable) and activate it:

Code: Select all

insserv lnmounts
Check in /etc/rc2.d/ if symlink S02lnmounts is created

If you changed the order of frisbee (as in above post) can you let me know if you still see the message "IP address acquired ..." ? (if not, it started too early, which is not a big problem, but just like to know how it's turning out on a fast computer).

Fred
Attachments
lnmounts.gz
Remove fake .gz, make executable, place in /etc/init.d and activate with: insserv lnmounts
(711 Bytes) Downloaded 102 times

trister
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun 01 Mar 2015, 21:16

#317 Post by trister »

Thanks fred
I tried it along with various versions of re-ordered rc2.d but I always get the same result as before :

I have an initial delay after logging with slim and then all stuff happen (/mnt/home/ get ip etc...).

It seems that indeed it is a speed issue. I will copy the frugal install in another slower PC and I will check. If it is this I will just have to live with it -or I could go back to StretchDog in this PC :)

Thanks again for your time fred

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

Bug fix

#318 Post by fredx181 »

Bug fixed for:
- "upgrade kernel" .deb packages
- and initrd1.xz (for porteus-boot) in pre-fab kernel tarballs Here (kernel-stretch-*, kernel-ceres-*(=buster) and kernel-sid-*)

Bug description: When using save folder there's a check for posix compatibility, if not, there should be a message "A Windows filesystem (FAT, NTFS) or other non-posix compatible filesystem has been detected".
This message didn't appear due to a mistake I made when editing linuxrc (init script in initrd1.xz) a few weeks back, resulting in continued boot with a savefolder that's not usable.
Not affected when you use a savefolder on a posix compatible (ext2/3/4) Linux filesytem of course.

To fix when recently made a build with mklive-buster, replace the initrd1.xz in "live" with the one inside kernel-ceres-i386-pae.tar.gz or kernel-ceres-amd64.tar.gz (according to architecture)
Similar for Stretch and Sid (kernel-stretch-* , kernel-sid-*), replace initrd1.xz (or extract all contents of tarball in "live" folder).

Update "upgrade kernel" or "upgrade-kernel-buster-bpo" packages with synaptic or apt.

Fred

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

Shortcut to snap window to edge of screen

#319 Post by recobayu »

Hi Fred and All..
I just explore about keybinding in my Busterdog, and from here:
http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Actions#If, I got something interesting.

We can make our openbox like cinnamon/windows 10/stickyjwm. That is the window can snap into edge screen by press win + arrow.
In stickyjwm (http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 72#1017372) I use wmctrl, but in openbox, I use the config from openbox it self.

Here what I do.

First, we edit the file:

Code: Select all

/root/.config/openbox/rc.xml
and add this code between the <keyboard> and </keyboard> tag
after that, we reconfigure the openbox by type:

Code: Select all

openbox --reconfigure
After that, we can play around by press win + arrow.

Code: Select all

<!-- add shortcut like cinnamon/wdz10/stickyjwm -->
<!-- win + arrow -->
<!-- by: recobayu -->
	<keybind key="W-Up">
		<action name="If">
			<query target="focus">
				<maximizedvertical>true</maximizedvertical>
			</query>
			<then>
				<action name="If">
					<query target="focus">
						<maximizedhorizontal>true</maximizedhorizontal>
					</query>
					<then>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<y>0</y>
							<height>50%</height>
							<width>100%</width>
						</action>
						<action name="MaximizeHorz"/>
					</then>
					<else>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<y>0</y>
							<height>50%</height>
						</action>
					</else>
				</action>
			</then>
			<else>
				<action name="MaximizeVert"/>
			</else>
		</action>
	</keybind>
	
	<keybind key="W-Down">
		<action name="If">
			<query target="focus">
				<maximizedvertical>true</maximizedvertical>
			</query>
			<then>
				<action name="If">
					<query target="focus">
						<maximizedhorizontal>true</maximizedhorizontal>
					</query>
					<then>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<y>-0</y>
							<height>50%</height>
							<width>100%</width>
						</action>
						<action name="MaximizeHorz"/>
					</then>
					<else>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<y>-0</y>
							<height>50%</height>
						</action>
					</else>
				</action>
			</then>
			<else>
				<action name="MaximizeVert"/>
			</else>
		</action>
	</keybind>

	<keybind key="W-Left">
		<action name="If">
			<query target="focus">
				<maximizedhorizontal>true</maximizedhorizontal>
			</query>
			<then>
				<action name="If">
					<query target="focus">
						<maximizedvertical>true</maximizedvertical>
					</query>
					<then>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<x>0</x>
							<width>50%</width>
						</action>
						<action name="MaximizeVert"/>
					</then>
					<else>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<x>0</x>
							<width>50%</width>
						</action>
					</else>
				</action>
			</then>
			<else>
				<action name="MaximizeHorz"/>
			</else>
		</action>
	</keybind>

	<keybind key="W-Right">
		<action name="If">
			<query target="focus">
				<maximizedhorizontal>true</maximizedhorizontal>
			</query>
			<then>
				<action name="If">
					<query target="focus">
						<maximizedvertical>true</maximizedvertical>
					</query>
					<then>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<x>-0</x>
							<width>50%</width>
							<height>100%</height>
						</action>
						<action name="MaximizeVert"/>
					</then>
					<else>
						<action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
						<action name="MoveResizeTo">
							<x>-0</x>
							<width>50%</width>
						</action>
					</else>
				</action>
			</then>
			<else>
				<action name="MaximizeHorz"/>
			</else>
		</action>
	</keybind>

	<keybind key="W-F5">
		<action name="Reconfigure"/>
	</keybind>
Oh ya, we can reconfigure the openbox by press winkey + F5 (I include that in the keybind).

Thank you for your Busterdog build. With this Busterdog, I have a Libreoffice 6.4.4.1 from buster-backports repo in this 32bit Busterdog.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#320 Post by fredx181 »

Very nice stuff, thanks recobayu !

Fred

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

#321 Post by recobayu »

I look at here:
http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:WindowsInt ... WindowsKey
and I got this shortcut is better than mine in the previous post. Here the script:

Code: Select all

    <keybind key="W-Up">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="GrowToEdgeNorth"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-Down">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="GrowToEdgeSouth"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-Left">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="GrowToEdgeWest"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-Right">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="GrowToEdgeEast"/>
    </keybind>

    <keybind key="W-S-Up">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="ShrinkToEdge">
		<direction>north</direction>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-S-Down">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="ShrinkToEdge">
		<direction>South</direction>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-S-Left">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="ShrinkToEdge">
		<direction>West</direction>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-S-Right">
      <action name="UnmaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="ShrinkToEdge">
		<direction>East</direction>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    
    <keybind key="W-C-Up">
     <action name="MoveToEdgeNorth"/>
   </keybind>
   <keybind key="W-C-Down">
     <action name="MoveToEdgeSouth"/>
   </keybind>
   <keybind key="W-C-Left">
     <action name="MoveToEdgeWest"/>
   </keybind>
   <keybind key="W-C-Right">
     <action name="MoveToEdgeEast"/>
   </keybind>
    
    <keybind key="W-F5">
      <action name="Reconfigure"/>
   </keybind>
I very like this busterdog. I make it like MX linux. I change theme. But I use openbox. The advantage of busterdog is the capability to run several apps like in puppy linux. use gtkdialog, use sfs load, and it also can do an `apt install` job but still in very low memory usage, it is about 150mb ram usage if I do not use palemoon. and with palemoon, it is about 650mb of ram..
Thank you, Fred..

NB:
Why this busterdog doesn't appear in distrowatch? Maybe it can be in number 1 like mxlinux.
Last edited by recobayu on Thu 25 Jun 2020, 04:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#322 Post by fredx181 »

Some packages upgraded:
(also upgraded in Stretchdog and Bionicdog repos)

- gtkdialog (now v0.8.9)
There was a problem with the <terminal> widget, turned out to be a bug in 01micko's github repo, see here for more info:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 57#1059157 (thanks, SFR)
And mcewanw included the fix in: https://github.com/DebianDog/Gtkwialog

- youtube-viewer (now v3.7.6)
Quote from "trizen", the maintainer at github:
This release include a fix for "No streaming URL has been found" issue.
Install with synaptic or with apt from terminal.

Fred

enrique
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun 10 Nov 2019, 00:10
Location: Planet Earth

#323 Post by enrique »

One last time. THANK YOU. Downloading both debs as I have interest in both.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#324 Post by fredx181 »

Some packages updated in repo's:
By rcrsn51:
- peasyscan, see info Here
- peasyfwmon (Peasy Firewall Monitor)

- straw-viewer (v0.0.4 now), very similar to (gtk-)youtube-viewer, but gtk3 based
Includes a fix for "No streaming URL has been found" issue.
This will replace youtube-viewer (if installed), straw-viewer may be more reliable than youtube-viewer because it depends on the invidious API https://invidio.us/
(latest youtube-viewer (v3.7.6) is packaged with my API key in /root/.config/youtube-viewer, which may be blocked sometimes, I suspect because of maximum user limit)

Install with synaptic or apt (from terminal)

Fred

enrique
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun 10 Nov 2019, 00:10
Location: Planet Earth

#325 Post by enrique »

fredx181
Wao. For some time I had unreliable methods to Youtube downloads. And every time fredx181 is keeping us up to date and with even new methods.

I had even got out of confusion. Many of us in the past posted weird behavior, well some unexplained used of bandwidth by gtk viewer. Well after following fredx181 and doing my own learning I found it has nothing to do with gtk-youtube-viewer. What happened is that youtube-dl is very persistent. So If we start a download and stop it, youtube-dl will try to download the full video anyway. So there the difference, I found then easily use taskmanager to kill youtube-dl if I need to stop halfway download for sure. In conclusion now that I know where my lost bandwidth was, I am a very happy user of all this methods, smtube, youtube-dl, gtk-youtuve-viewer, smplayer and the new straw-viewer. Thanks.

keniv
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 21:00
Location: Scotland

#326 Post by keniv »

Hi All,
I have a manual frugal install of BusterDog on a 4GB flash drive formatted as ntfs. It has a 1GB save file. I had other stuff on this drive which I have now deleted and I now want to increase the size of the save file to 3GB. When I go to Menu>DDogSpecial>Resize Save File I find "Resizing mounted save file is not possible". How do I dismount the save file in order to increase its size? Please don't tell me I should use a save folder. I have had hit and miss experiences in trying to get save folders to work in the past whereas save files always seem to work for me. The other thing is I do not want to lose the contents of the 1GB save folder I have now.

Regards,

Ken.

dancytron
Posts: 1519
Joined: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 19:20

#327 Post by dancytron »

keniv wrote:Hi All,
I have a manual frugal install of BusterDog on a 4GB flash drive formatted as ntfs. It has a 1GB save file. I had other stuff on this drive which I have now deleted and I now want to increase the size of the save file to 3GB. When I go to Menu>DDogSpecial>Resize Save File I find "Resizing mounted save file is not possible". How do I dismount the save file in order to increase its size? Please don't tell me I should use a save folder. I have had hit and miss experiences in trying to get save folders to work in the past whereas save files always seem to work for me. The other thing is I do not want to lose the contents of the 1GB save folder I have now.

Regards,

Ken.
Boot without the save file and expand your save file from there.

If using Grub4Dos and porteus boot, add an entry into the menu.1st file like so (change for your path obviously):
title BusterDog (sda2) No Changes from=/BusterDog/
root (hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)/BusterDog/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/BusterDog/
initrd (hd0,1)/BusterDog/live/initrd1.xz
edit: If it were me, once you are booted with no save file, I'd make a backup of the save file before you do anything else.

keniv
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 21:00
Location: Scotland

#328 Post by keniv »

@dancytron

Did as you suggested above and I now have a 3GB save file which appears to be working ( I upgraded BusterDog. The upgrade included Palemoon which now shows as 28.10 ). I'll keep the backup of the 1GB changes.dat file until I'm sure everything is definitely OK.

I guess the

Code: Select all

noauto from=/BusterDog/
in BusterDog is equivalent to

Code: Select all

pfix=ram
in the puppys. Very useful. Thanks for your help.

Regards,

Ken.
Edit Now not sure about this having worked. Checked version of palemoon and it was back at at the version I had before I upgraded. I then upgraded palemoon via the option in palemoon. It has updated again to 28.10. I have rebooted and this time palemoon is still 28.10. I'll keep an eye on It.

dancytron
Posts: 1519
Joined: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 19:20

#329 Post by dancytron »

keniv wrote:@dancytron

/snip

I guess the

Code: Select all

noauto from=/BusterDog/
in BusterDog is equivalent to

Code: Select all

pfix=ram
in the puppys. Very useful. Thanks for your help.

/snip
It's removing the "changes=XXX" that makes it ignore the save file.

enrique
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun 10 Nov 2019, 00:10
Location: Planet Earth

#330 Post by enrique »

keniv

Because you have just a 4GB flash. I have a suggestion that had work for me.

change.dat is your equivalent "PuppySave". change.dat is a file that holds ext image. This has no compression.

In the other hand, 01-filesystem.squashfs, is where ButserDog is store. And do have compression.

If you do a Remaster. Then most of the installed libraries currently store at change.dat will move to 01-filesystem.squashfs. This process save space as you see.

Now this is just for you to consider, Remastering is a process that requires even more ext space and most likely you need a external HDD to save a backup of the current files. Be careful and ask for help.

enrique
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun 10 Nov 2019, 00:10
Location: Planet Earth

#331 Post by enrique »

fredx181
I like to use mklive-buster or even mklive-strech to make a Debiandog but without X, yes no GUI. I will like to add Midnight Commander and have Network, SSH and maybe Linx. Well I have a few more. This is just to use as Rescue or Quick Edit other Puppy while testing. See I hope to boot in less than 25 sec and no shutdown time as I do not intend to save.

Now the question. Can you help me decide what shold be the basics packages I should install. In general what do I need do that my wifi works?

Network controller: Broadcom Limited BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter

Thanks in advance.

keniv
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 21:00
Location: Scotland

#332 Post by keniv »

@enrique
If you do a Remaster. Then most of the installed libraries currently store at change.dat will move to 01-filesystem.squashfs. This process save space as you see.
I've never tried a remaster. The most ambitious thing I've done is to change a
kernel. I think this was because a puppy I was using would not shut down properly. I might try it but I lack confidence. Might be easier to get a bigger flash drive.

Regards,

Ken.

enrique
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun 10 Nov 2019, 00:10
Location: Planet Earth

#333 Post by enrique »

keniv "May the Force be with you,"

You only need the force with you and ..... a little time. Well the force can be easy, but the problem is the time that consume our projects. See with enough time you can get anywhere.

Never be afraid. Only do it after you have backup everything. This means you need a good External HDD to keep your backups and make space for all the compilation.

Now be aware I am not remastering. See the Title "BusterDog + build system (no-systemd)". I want to use the bulid system to make a Busterdog Server no Gui.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#334 Post by fredx181 »

enrique wrote:I like to use mklive-buster or even mklive-strech to make a Debiandog but without X, yes no GUI
I don't have experience with that, so cannot help really (maybe someone else can?), I'd say experiment by leaving out every GUI / X application and probably even gtk2/gtk3.
In general what do I need do that my wifi works?
I guess that would be: wireless-tools, wpasupplicant, rfkill, net-tools and the firmware of course for your wifi card.

EDIT; anyway you need to make some changes in the chroot before creating the main .squashfs, e.g. disable auto startx (remove code at the bottom of /etc/profile) and maybe more I can't think of right now.

Good luck!

EDIT: @keniv, using 'quick-remaster' is very easy and fast, it creates a backup of the main 01-filesystem.squashfs and (if chosen) creates backup of save storage.
Install latest version from synaptic or with apt.

Fred

User avatar
rockedge
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed 11 Apr 2012, 13:32
Location: Connecticut, United States
Contact:

#335 Post by rockedge »

Hello enrique,

I have done it with a WeeDog64 built with Void Linux for running as a headless Web / ZoneMinder server. Set up with only the fundamental and minimal packages but equipped with a newer kernel version and some nifty command line tools and editors plus the parts needed to do it's main job as a Zoneminder installation.

Such an Puppy Linux distro is also possible to build by using woof-CE to it's fullest capabilities. After some experimentation and research it should be possible to configure a run of woof-CE to create close to the same type of OS but in a Puppy Linux flavor. There could be some limitations due to the concept of what a Puppy Linux is and what it was designed for and how it is built, as to how minimal one can create one. I have had great success running Puppy Linux Tahr and Xenial's headless and remotely, plus others from Lucid to Bionic (UPUP 3.9.9.2 Raring Ringtail). Although the Puppy's would run from the shell a simple xwin brought back the X desktop right away. But there is all that overhead and why carry it if it never is intended to use?

But with something like WeeDog and Void Linux one can create a plug file that will build from very basic minimal to fully loaded multi-user desktops. A Zoneminder CCTV/Network camera system doesn't really need any extra graphical servers or any application that uses one, so the operating system can have a really small footprint and yet be very powerful.

With Void one can build an OS that will boot and has a terminal and can connect to a network.


I might have an example plug file that will create a minimalist WeeDog32-Void or WeeDog64-Void that I can post as a guide or to get some ideas. It would be really great if some one took the time to write a complete HOW TO with examples on how one modifies woof-CE to create the different Puppy variations and at different levels of sophistication.

**

Post Reply