Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Feb 2020, 17:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BusterDog + build system (no-systemd)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 16 [227 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 263
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 20:42    Post subject:  

I read all your responses. So to make everyone happy I did took live folder and deleted
Code:
LxPupBuster3/live/modules/99-firmware-BusterDog-2019-01-10.squashfs
LxPupBuster3/live/initrd.img
LxPupBuster3/live/initrd1.xz
LxPupBuster3/live/k-4.19.0-6-amd64.squashfs
LxPupBuster3/live/vmlinuz1


And replaced with the my previous working BusterDog files.

It did not change results. Still wlan0 is not active. But drivers are up.
Code:
lspci
0d:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Limited BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)


Code:
lsmod | grep brc
brcmsmac              577536  0
cordic                 16384  1 brcmsmac
brcmutil               16384  1 brcmsmac
mac80211              835584  2 b43,brcmsmac
cfg80211              774144  3 b43,mac80211,brcmsmac
bcma                   61440  2 b43,brcmsmac


Guys do not worry I can use a Ethernet to WiFi adapter to study the advantages of the new apps in the BusterDog Full. We can find out latter why. I got upset today and I need the rest. So I guess it is Movie Time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mauros


Joined: 02 Dec 2019
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 23:39    Post subject:  

enrique wrote:

Code:
lspci
0d:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Limited BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)



It is supported by firmware-brcm80211 (non free).
After installation reinsert the module:
Code:
# modprobe -r brcmsmac ; modprobe brcmsmac

https://wiki.debian.org/brcm80211
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 263
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2019, 08:41    Post subject:  

@mauros I will read that link you provide. But the fact is that it does work so it is not an issue of a special driver.

@Fred

I can not understand why!! But on an initial/virgin wlan0 do not show up.

Good News - Even when that fail happens, if Ignore the issue and use PeasyWifi to Create new Profile and then force the connection, guess what? It will connect. And from them on wlan0 exist.

So If I did not have Peasywifi, I bet you I am missing a Linux command to force the wake up of wlan0. Looking inside PeasyWifi may allow me to understand what I need to do manually if I had to.

Now the question is why the boot system create the situation where the brcmsmac module/driver loads but fail to load the firmware
Code:
[   60.814359] brcmsmac bcma0:1: firmware: direct-loading firmware brcm/bcm43xx-0.fw
[   60.814435] brcmsmac bcma0:1: firmware: direct-loading firmware brcm/bcm43xx_hdr-0.fw


Curiously after Peasywifi get the connection it seems that subsequent boot will load the firmware? This is intriguing to me.

Listen as Peasewifi do allow it to function properly I guess you can see this as a False Error then. I guess Just ignore until some one else have an issue too.

Edit1:

Just for you knowledge my driver even in Ubuntu had shown an error. I do not recall what it was in Ubuntu. But with BusterDog it reads:
Code:
[   30.960496] b43: probe of bcma0:1 failed with error -524


Maybe it has to do with what mauros talk about.

Quote:
Please note: at least BCM4313 is not fully supported. Some models appears to work (users reported success), but some don't, and there's no indication that this is going to change. For example: http://marc.info/?t=138817851800006&r=1&w=2


Just in case there are other errors/warnings in my boot sequence that I also ignore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12976
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2019, 09:47    Post subject:  

Like I said before, please post
Code:
dmesg | grep -i firmware

Then we could see exactly what is going on.

That firmware is coming from the package firmware-brcm80211. How are you loading it? Is it coming from Fred's firmware squashfs module? Did you install the package separately?

Quote:
But on an initial/virgin wlan0 do not show up.

Does not show up where?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 263
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2019, 10:11    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 I did explained. let me try one more time.

I just Boot.
Code:
dmesg
***
[   20.792411] bcma: bus0: Found chip with id 0x4313, rev 0x01 and package 0x08
[   20.792444] bcma: bus0: Core 0 found: ChipCommon (manuf 0x4BF, id 0x800, rev 0x24, class 0x0)
[   20.792471] bcma: bus0: Core 1 found: IEEE 802.11 (manuf 0x4BF, id 0x812, rev 0x18, class 0x0)
[   20.792522] bcma: bus0: Core 2 found: PCIe (manuf 0x4BF, id 0x820, rev 0x11, class 0x0)
***
[   20.805292] bcma: bus0: Bus registered
***
[   23.643658] b43: probe of bcma0:1 failed with error -524
[   23.643670] Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PNLS ]
***
[   23.756771] brcmsmac bcma0:1: mfg 4bf core 812 rev 24 class 0 irq 17
***
Too the end of boot...


Then I open terminal
Code:
dmesg | grep -i firmware
[    0.356421] ACPI: [Firmware Bug]: BIOS _OSI(Linux) query ignored
[   23.084287] [Firmware Bug]: ACPI(PEGP) defines _DOD but not _DOS
[   23.479554] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin
[   23.694977] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_me.bin
[   23.744538] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/BTC_rlc.bin
[   23.744623] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_mc.bin
[   23.744675] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_smc.bin
[   23.749674] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/SUMO_uvd.bin
[   40.663026] r8169 0000:07:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware rtl_nic/rtl8168e-3.fw


Then I force Peasywifi, Force meaning Connect even when there is no wlan0.
Code:
dmesg
***
[  128.313997] brcmsmac bcma0:1: firmware: direct-loading firmware brcm/bcm43xx-0.fw
[  128.314062] brcmsmac bcma0:1: firmware: direct-loading firmware brcm/bcm43xx_hdr-0.fw
[  128.382012] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcms_ops_bss_info_changed: qos enabled: false (implement)
[  128.382025] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcms_ops_config: change power-save mode: false (implement)
[  128.382263] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[  153.316535] wlan0: authenticate with 90:b6:ff:ff:ff:ff
[  153.318876] wlan0: send auth to 90:b6:86:ff:ff:ff (try 1/3)
[  153.320614] wlan0: authenticated
[  153.323257] wlan0: associate with 90:b6:86:ff:ff:ff (try 1/3)
[  153.326658] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 90:b6:ff:ff:ff:ff (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=1)
[  153.327272] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcmsmac: brcms_ops_bss_info_changed: associated
[  153.327278] brcmsmac bcma0:1: brcms_ops_bss_info_changed: qos enabled: true (implement)
[  153.327295] wlan0: associated
[  153.386815] brcmsmac bcma0:1: wl0: brcms_c_d11hdrs_mac80211:  txop exceeded phylen 159/256 dur 1778/1504
[  153.396744] brcmsmac bcma0:1: wl0: brcms_c_d11hdrs_mac80211:  txop exceeded phylen 137/256 dur 1602/1504
[  153.444056] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready


Then again
Code:
dmesg | grep -i firmware
[    0.356421] ACPI: [Firmware Bug]: BIOS _OSI(Linux) query ignored
[   23.084287] [Firmware Bug]: ACPI(PEGP) defines _DOD but not _DOS
[   23.479554] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin
[   23.694977] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_me.bin
[   23.744538] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/BTC_rlc.bin
[   23.744623] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_mc.bin
[   23.744675] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/TURKS_smc.bin
[   23.749674] radeon 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware radeon/SUMO_uvd.bin
[   40.663026] r8169 0000:07:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware rtl_nic/rtl8168e-3.fw
[  128.313997] brcmsmac bcma0:1: firmware: direct-loading firmware brcm/bcm43xx-0.fw
[  128.314062] brcmsmac bcma0:1: firmware: direct-loading firmware brcm/bcm43xx_hdr-0.fw


See after Peasywifi then the firmware is loaded. It is like if the firmware will not be loaded unless the driver has a valid connection setting!!! Why does the driver require a valid/active connection?? UHMMM!

Edit:
That firmware is coming from the package firmware/brcm

Edit2:
Notice how it read IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready I bet you is one of those IPv6 new changes. IPv6 is the one releasing wlan0 NOT the driver. HEHEHEHE. More conspiracy...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12976
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2019, 10:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
Force meaning Connect even when there is no wlan0.

Where are you getting the information that there is no wlan0?

To know for sure, run: iwconfig

Edit It may be that this wifi adapter is initially in a "blocked" state and is hidden from the kernel. So the firmware doesn't get loaded.

When you start PeasyWiFi, it runs an "rfkill unblock" operation which would enable the adapter. Then the kernel could load the firmware.

Then the wlan0 interface would appear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4289
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2019, 14:22    Post subject:  

@all, added to Busterdog repository (EDIT: and also to StretchDog repo): package yalarm , 'Yalarm Alarm scheduler'
Install deb:
https://github.com/doglinux/busterdog/raw/master/amd64/yalarm_0.0.1_all.deb
Or install 'yalarm' with apt-get or synaptic
Run from Menu > Accessories

See also 'Yad - Tips' thread, here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1045094#1045094
(and earlier posts about it)

EDIT: @enrique, I made this specially for you, so... if the alarm goes off, you must go for a walk, or: go to sleep, or: whatever different from sitting at the computer !!
(no, just kidding Very Happy (mostly talking to myself Wink )

Fred
2019-12-19-171733_765x404_scrot.png
 Description   yalarm
 Filesize   82.98 KB
 Viewed   373 Time(s)

2019-12-19-171733_765x404_scrot.png


_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 263
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 00:27    Post subject:  

@fredx181 I was reporting what I originally thought was an error of BusterDog Full. A driver load failure that prevented wlan0 to be "Active". What ever that means. I have limited to none experience with IPv6 as I did run my previous system with IPv6 disabled. Now It seems to me from the fact that you guys are not surprise that this may be normal. From what I notice the driver would not even load its firmware until IPv6 gives the ok. That is what it seems to me.

@rcrsn51 I am pretty sure there is more to this procedure that it is new to me. "wifi adapter is initially in a "blocked" state and is hidden from the kernel." or if ""rfkill unblock" operation which would enable the adapter." I do not know. But I will study your info provided. It is very appreciated. But I will post no more related to this as it is seems it is a false error. You guys seems to be fine with its operation.

I will be testing this alarm. And yes, your analysis that I spent a lot of time in PC is correct. There are many projects I do run using PC. It is my hobby and way to relax. I am fine, my comment on the other thread was an attempt to stop the negative Read Between the Lines type of comment I was receiving. It will not affect my future behavior on the forum or this tread. Well it will make me more passive. Thanks my friends.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4289
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 04:56    Post subject:  

enrique wrote:
@rcrsn51 I am pretty sure there is more to this procedure that it is new to me. "wifi adapter is initially in a "blocked" state and is hidden from the kernel." or if ""rfkill unblock" operation which would enable the adapter." I do not know. But I will study your info provided. It is very appreciated. But I will post no more related to this as it is seems it is a false error. You guys seems to be fine with its operation.

You can check with "rfkill list", for me it's unblocked:
Code:
root@live:~# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
1: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no

If it'd be hard blocked I need to unblock with the hardware switch on my laptop.
(maybe peasywifi can take care of that too, not sure)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12976
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 08:45    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
(maybe peasywifi can take care of that too, not sure)

Not unless it can activate a robot arm to reach out and flip the WiFi keyboard switch for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 263
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 09:07    Post subject:  

Ok this time will be last post. Just to clarify. I have a experience in Android Arm kernel, TL-WR703N Openwrt / AR9331 mips, various satellites boxes and Lubuntu with IPv6 disabled. In any of those I had experience with IPv6 nor have seen that a kernel Driver will load half its firmware. Just to see it finish loading firmware at user space time. So this is a surprise to me.

Then all this continue change of things by kernel.org and distros. Here in particular ifconfig. At the moment ifconfig will not show an adapter that is NOT Active. This and the fact that the drivers where not loaded confuse me. But this is all a misunderstanding.

if we use ip a instead then I can see all adapters and their status. So just doing ifconfig wlan0 up will allow brcmsmac to load its to missing drivers and then it show up in ifconfig. Finally to me it is funny see Ipv6 announcing status.
Code:
[  196.507734] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
***
[  197.507303] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
That is all. Sorry for the confusion. I wonder if we can still disable iPv6?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12976
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 09:17    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
To know for sure, run: iwconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mauros


Joined: 02 Dec 2019
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 13:09    Post subject:  

enrique wrote:
I wonder if we can still disable iPv6?

You can disable IPV6 but in some cases (i.e. using VPN service which masks IPV6) it will block your connection. Check it and make your choice.

1. Open with a text editor as root the file /etc/sysctl.conf (or create a new .conf file in /etc/sysctl.d directory and open it).

2. Put the configuration lines to disable it globally:
Quote:
net.ipv6.conf.all.disable_ipv6 = 1
net.ipv6.conf.default.disable_ipv6 = 1
net.ipv6.conf.lo.disable_ipv6 = 1

or to disable it for wlan0 only:
Quote:
net.ipv6.conf.wlan0.disable_ipv6 = 1

and save your flat file.

3. Run as root:
Code:
sysctl -p


To ensure it is disabled run:
globally:
Code:
cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/disable_ipv6

for wlan0 only:
Code:
cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/wlan0/disable_ipv6

returns "1" if you disabled it successfully or "0" if you don't.

If you have connection issues with VPN or other services, remove the configuration lines to re-enable IPV6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Diogenes08

Joined: 18 Sep 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 20:46    Post subject: BPO Kernel  

Hey, I am just wondering if there is any way/plans to install the BPO kernel, like there was in StretchDog/DevuanDog, ie upgrade-kernel2?
I recently got a new computer, a 2 in 1, and I am determined to use BusterDog on it. All works well, except the touchscreen, which from what I can gather, works on 4.19.8 and up.
Edit: Nevermind, once I installed to HD, the touchscreen worked perfectly out of the box. Thanks once again for making the distro that stopped me from nearly a decade of distro hopping.

Last edited by Diogenes08 on Sun 22 Dec 2019, 14:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mauros


Joined: 02 Dec 2019
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri 20 Dec 2019, 23:15    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:

Here's also a "package" for the 5.3 backports kernel with aufs included (built with aufs-dkms_5.3), contains 5.3.0-0.bpo.2-amd64.squashfs, vmlinuz1, initrd1.xz, initrd.img .
https://github.com/DebianDog/BusterDog/releases/download/v0.2/kernel_buster-backports_5.3.0-0.bpo.2-amd64.tar.gz
Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 16 [227 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1780s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0428s) ][ GZIP on ]