Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 11 Dec 2019, 14:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Raspberry Pi Buster Raspup RC
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [130 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Thu 14 Nov 2019, 05:35    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Brown Mouse

Can you show me the contents of /tmp/iface?

The script looks in order.


This is all that's showing.

wlan0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8739
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 14 Nov 2019, 06:30    Post subject:  

@ Brown Mouse

Ok, the init script is trying to work but there seems to be an error with IPv4 (bbwireless doesn't support IPv6 just yet) so I need to investigate that. May be something to do with country codes that doesn't affect Australia. Try setting your wireless country code? I saw something about this specific to pi 3 (see below)

Thanks for the kernel log (/var/log/messages). I get identical errors but mine goes on to connect with an IPv4 address, such as 192.X.X.XX

This from raspi docs -
Quote:
On the Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ and above, you will also need to set the country code, so that the 5G networking can choose the correct frequency bands. You can either use the raspi-config application and select the localisation option, or edit the wpa_supplicant.conf file and add the following. (Note you need to replace 'GB' with the ISO code of your country. See Wikipedia for a list of country codes.)

Code:
country=GB


https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/wireless/wireless-cli.md

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Thu 14 Nov 2019, 10:06    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
@ Brown Mouse

Ok, the init script is trying to work but there seems to be an error with IPv4 (bbwireless doesn't support IPv6 just yet) so I need to investigate that. May be something to do with country codes that doesn't affect Australia. Try setting your wireless country code? I saw something about this specific to pi 3 (see below)

Thanks for the kernel log (/var/log/messages). I get identical errors but mine goes on to connect with an IPv4 address, such as 192.X.X.XX

This from raspi docs -
Quote:
On the Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ and above, you will also need to set the country code, so that the 5G networking can choose the correct frequency bands. You can either use the raspi-config application and select the localisation option, or edit the wpa_supplicant.conf file and add the following. (Note you need to replace 'GB' with the ISO code of your country. See Wikipedia for a list of country codes.)

Code:
country=GB


https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/wireless/wireless-cli.md


Thanks for the info'Mick.
Have read up on it,decided to opt out of making any software changes to the PI itself as it may have an impact on running other OS's on it.
Ill stick with 'Barry's simple network setup'for now but should you require any further help for testing your network tool just give me a shout.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 566
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Nov 2019, 12:40    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse wrote:

Maybe when you booted up the first time after you’d created the save folder,you chose the option that boots without loading the save folder?
In the setup menu tab,there is a gui to set the default boot option.


Yes I think that must be it. I was not expecting the little blue box when I first rebooted so perhaps I chose an option other than the save folder. Thanks for the pointer to Setup>Default Boot Option. As I have not found how to uninstall my non-working "get-iplayer" using the PPM I thought I try building a new save folder without it. Now when I boot up I get a choice of which save folder to run with just like non-arm pups. Using the default boot option I've set it to my second save folder.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lizardidi

Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri 15 Nov 2019, 02:32    Post subject:  

How is the vivaldi browser perform on a raspberry pi zero? Is there any performance difference between root and spot user??
Testing the raspup RC edition, when launch vivaldi-downloader, bout 50% of the time i unable to connect to the vivaldi server. Wifi is connected, but not data connection occur.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 566
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 15 Nov 2019, 11:34    Post subject:  

Hi All,
As I said in earlier posts I installed get-iplayer from the PPM but it did not work. As I can't uninstall it I thought I would try and get it to work. Below is the output I get when I try to search for a programme.
Code:
# get_iplayer --type radio fire
Can't locate Env.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Env module) (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/local/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/perl/5.28.1 /usr/local/share/perl/5.28.1 /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/perl5/5.28 /usr/share/perl5 /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/perl/5.28 /usr/share/perl/5.28 /usr/local/lib/site_perl /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/perl-base) at /usr/bin/get_iplayer line 49.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/bin/get_iplayer line 49.
#


I do not really understand this but this looks to be what is missing in order to be able to compile get-iplayer. If these are required for compilation then it might also explain the fact when I installed it it did not show any missing dependencies etc. If the above is rubbish then please ignore it.
Is there anything I can do to get-iplayer to work.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5501
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 15 Nov 2019, 12:31    Post subject:  

i-Player: nothing to get, nothing to install. Just go to the BBC website and click iPlayer on the top line. I guess you could call it cloud-based. It's entirely proprietary. Unless you're a very crafty coder, it's not for d/l or saving but offerings are available to watch for the due period proscribed by Auntie. You have to sign-up and confirm you're a TV license holder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 566
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 15 Nov 2019, 15:10    Post subject:  

@Sage

There is a version in the PPM and it can be downloaded but does not work. There is also a version for raspbian stretch which does work. I believe it also works on raspbian buster. However, I've found out how to uninstall using the ppm and I have now removed it.

Regards,

Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5501
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 15 Nov 2019, 17:05    Post subject:  

Curious? Auntie guards her property jealously. Even some Smart teles out of contract stop access to the iPlayer. Sure those d/ls are legal? And they keep changing them anyway, so...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dud

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat 16 Nov 2019, 16:02    Post subject:
Subject description: More ping tests
 

Release Candidate downloaded.

In general use it seems slick and stable but wireless has still got some issues.

I repeated the ping tests from upthread using the new command line network setup.

PI4 4GB at 1920x1080 resolution:

PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=0 ttl=64 time=52.121 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=1 ttl=64 time=68.126 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=2 ttl=64 time=22.678 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=3 ttl=64 time=103.047 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=4 ttl=64 time=46.169 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=5 ttl=64 time=35.911 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=6 ttl=64 time=35.736 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=7 ttl=64 time=130.156 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=8 ttl=64 time=17.842 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=9 ttl=64 time=279.568 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=10 ttl=64 time=83.594 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=11 ttl=64 time=56.505 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=12 ttl=64 time=54.187 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=13 ttl=64 time=72.308 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=14 ttl=64 time=87.479 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=15 ttl=64 time=271.969 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=16 ttl=64 time=9.294 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=17 ttl=64 time=40.594 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=18 ttl=64 time=382.386 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=19 ttl=64 time=214.575 ms

--- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
20 packets transmitted, 20 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 9.294/103.212/382.386 ms

- as you see it's much improved but still too slow for most purposes.


And the PI4 4GB at 1366x768:

PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=0 ttl=64 time=109.215 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=1 ttl=64 time=250.982 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=2 ttl=64 time=39.240 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=3 ttl=64 time=51.670 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=4 ttl=64 time=7.113 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=5 ttl=64 time=141.016 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=6 ttl=64 time=59.483 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=7 ttl=64 time=41.501 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=8 ttl=64 time=67.134 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=9 ttl=64 time=51.474 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=10 ttl=64 time=54.486 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=11 ttl=64 time=133.284 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=12 ttl=64 time=116.060 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=13 ttl=64 time=32.445 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=14 ttl=64 time=33.531 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=15 ttl=64 time=56.821 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=16 ttl=64 time=98.551 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=17 ttl=64 time=88.588 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=18 ttl=64 time=38.172 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=19 ttl=64 time=9.441 ms

--- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
20 packets transmitted, 20 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 7.113/74.010/250.982 ms

again the lower resolution performed slightly better


But when a PI 3B+ was substituted (at 1920x1080) I got:

PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=0 ttl=64 time=1.842 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.958 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.851 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=3 ttl=64 time=1.804 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=4 ttl=64 time=1.901 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=5 ttl=64 time=1.824 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=6 ttl=64 time=1.806 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=7 ttl=64 time=1.803 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=8 ttl=64 time=1.844 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=9 ttl=64 time=1.770 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=10 ttl=64 time=2.074 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=11 ttl=64 time=1.805 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=12 ttl=64 time=1.779 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=13 ttl=64 time=1.794 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=14 ttl=64 time=3.257 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=15 ttl=64 time=1.791 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=16 ttl=64 time=1.835 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=17 ttl=64 time=1.815 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=18 ttl=64 time=1.946 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=19 ttl=64 time=1.772 ms

--- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
20 packets transmitted, 20 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 1.770/1.913/3.257 ms

Which is perfectly useable.

The comparison values for Raspbian are upthread if needed.

Even with the speeds shown I was able to transfer small files via Samba so that issue is resolved.

Cheerio,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dud

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat 16 Nov 2019, 19:14    Post subject:
Subject description: Save filesystem
 

Hi Micko,

When creating a save file the defaults work fine.

When the file is placed on another partition - in my case the other part of the micro SD, it is not found.

- this from a one-off situation, not exhaustively checked.

Cheerio,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8739
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 17 Nov 2019, 04:02    Post subject:
Subject description: Save filesystem
 

Dud wrote:
Hi Micko,

When creating a save file the defaults work fine.

When the file is placed on another partition - in my case the other part of the micro SD, it is not found.

- this from a one-off situation, not exhaustively checked.

Cheerio,


This is expected behaviour. The save file/folder is coded to the file bootmenu.txt on the first partition at save time. No searching is performed unless you select that option in the boot menu.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
spotted

Joined: 25 Jan 2018
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 18 Nov 2019, 02:17    Post subject:  

@ Dud
If you hash out all the labels in bootmenu.txt except the .4fs you want to use, you will never see the blue box again. With my wireless keyboard I cannot use the blue box, no drivers available yet.
I guess if you have more than one .4fs then you will have to hash out the one you dont want then reboot, not a problem
Dont laugh, just dont laugh, I was locked out of the savefile for 2 days before the penny dropped that what is in the blue box is what is in the bootmenu.

Here is my bootmenu.
DEFAULT raspupsave-813.4fs
#LABEL raspup
PMEDIA usbflash
#LABEL "raspup pfix-ram"
PFIX ram
#LABEL "raspup pfix-copy"
PFIX copy
#LABEL search
SEARCH_DRIVE all
#LABEL "ram disk shell"
PFIX rdsh
LABEL raspupsave-813.4fs
PMEDIA usbflash
PUPSFS mmcblk0p1:/puppy_raspup_8.1.3.sfs
PSAVE sda2:/raspupsave-813.4fs

Thanks for the lx terminal Micko, cant see the cpu meter you nicked from fatdog !!
Has anyone been able to get a video downloader working on their pi?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8739
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 19 Nov 2019, 05:38    Post subject:  

@spotted

Menu >> Setup >> Set Default Boot Option

The GUI offers to boot the entry chosen as default.. can be changed at each boot if desired.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
spotted

Joined: 25 Jan 2018
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed 20 Nov 2019, 10:43    Post subject:  

Yes micko, after I had the savefile sorted I went into 'rasp pi boot' to try to have it boot to a 'raspupsave' (not a .4fs one) from another SD card. Could not get the boot process / rasp pi boot to pick up the imported 'raspupsave', deleted it.
Next project is to read up on f2fs filesystem to see if it works with raspup to see if I can use wiper to trim the SSD.
go figure booting from a micro SD card write, speed 22mbs, is 8 seconds faster than a USB3 bridge 400 mbs, (supposedly), SSD to boot.
Thanks for all your work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [130 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0812s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0171s) ][ GZIP on ]