Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 05:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
can I install kppp and konqueror to puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2006, 16:41    Post_subject:  can I install kppp and konqueror to puppy  

I have installed puppy office puppy 202 on my desktop and would like to add kppp rather than gppp. Is that possible and how would I do that? I have foxfire and ltmodem already working, but do not know how to tell what speed I am signed on at. As I have a dial up, I frequently need to try several times if I am not getting a good connection. If there is another way to tell what speed my connection is, that would also solve my problem.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2006, 17:23    Post_subject:  

There is a full KDE, but the file is over 500 MB, too large for dialup:
http://dotpups.de/puppy-releases/Megapuppy003-Puppy2/megapup003-README.htm

You might prefer mini-KDE, which is less than 50 MB:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=10546

It has konqueror, but not kppp.
But that should be easy to install with the mentioned slackware-packages.

Certainly there are smaller tools to give you information about your connection, wait what others suggest Smile
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2006, 20:17    Post_subject:  

The mini-kde sounds fine to me, but I am in no real hurry so I'll wait and see what I get.

Thanks for the quick response.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon 09 Oct 2006, 10:27    Post_subject:  

Hello my good Friend MU
I know this is Not the linux way of doing things but I managed to run KPPP as a stand alone dialer without installing kde,I did this by isolating the libs needed to run it and other components.
I get error saying:
Code:


kppp: ERROR: Error: standard icon theme "crystalsvg"  not found!
DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Could not open network socket
DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Could not open network socket
DCOPRef::send(): no DCOP client or client not attached error

but the kppp dialer starts and runs ok.maybe if you have time you can do something with it to create a dotpup.

files needed to run kppp:
kppp (usr/bin)
libkdecore (usr/lib)
libkdeui (usr/lib)
libkio.so.4 (usr/lib)
libkdesu.so.4 (usr/lib)
libkwalletclient.so.1 (usr/lib)
libDCOP.so.4 (usr/lib)
libidn.so.11 (usr/lib)
libqt-mt.so.3 (/usr/lib/qt/lib)
libGL.so.1 (/ /usr/x11r6/lib)
libXxf86vm.so.1 (/usr/x11r6/lib)
I hope this can help anyone who just want kppp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon 09 Oct 2006, 11:52    Post_subject:  

Hi,


Just a quick update - I have gotten Gnomeppp to run and it does have a line which reveals the speed of the connection. It is just a little harder to find than what you get with kppp.

Thanks for the help and it the dotpup for kppp ever becomes available I would surely use it.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2006, 01:10    Post_subject:  

To create a dotpup for kppp it would be overkill for just a ppp dialer.if you have the mini kde installed chances are you already have :
libkdecore.so.4.2.0 (which is over 3MB)
libkdeui.so.4.2.0 (which is more than 2MB)
and chances are your pupppy version already have qt installed so all what you need is the application kppp in /usr/bin and the following files which are less than 600K
libDCOP.so.4
libidn.so.11
libkdefx.so.4

Please note that you have to create symlinks to all the files I mentioned above,for example you will need to link /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.4 from /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.4.2.0
if you know how to write a script that can do bulk symlinks for those files would appreciated very much if you post it.
for someone to install kppp alone it wouldn't (IMHO )a wise choice,I did it just to see what makes it work.
but if anyone wants these files and know of a site that i can upload the zipped files mentioned above (the tar.gz file is more than 6MB) please post back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q

Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2006, 02:14    Post_subject:  

EZ4arabs
Don't you think it would be ""WISE"" to wait a while till you get more familiar with linux and how to do jobs in a professional manner before you screw someone's system?!
it takes more than copying few files from here to there,that is not how linux works,its not windows that you just register a dll or vxd to get the program running.
that error you posted above:
Quote:

DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Could not open network socket
DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Could not open network socket
DCOPRef::send(): no DCOP client or client not attached error

IS NOT TO BE IGNORED just because the application ""seems"" to work just fine....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2006, 09:44    Post_subject:  

Quote:

Quote:

DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Could not open network socket
DCOPClient::attachInternal. Attach failed Could not open network socket
DCOPRef::send(): no DCOP client or client not attached error

IS NOT TO BE IGNORED just because the application ""seems"" to work just fine....


DCOP is KDEs internal communication protocol.
If kppp works, and no other KDE application is needed, also no protocol should be needed to let more than one application communicate with each other.
So yes, in this case you could ignore it.

There is a quite small solution (26 MB) for KDE-libs already:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=69365#69365
So just kppp might have to be added.

EZ4arabs, a smaller dotpup just for kppp also might be interesting to see, how far you can strip things down Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2006, 10:04    Post_subject:  

[quote="MU"]
Quote:

EZ4arabs, a smaller dotpup just for kppp also might be interesting to see, how far you can strip things down Smile

Mark

I tried it on 2 versions of puppy (barebones2.01 and meanpuppy) the first didn't have qt installed so libqt-mt.so.3 was added to /usr/lib/qt/lib and that file alone is more than 6MB
but for meanpuppy kppp runs without any other kde compnents or even directories like opt .
for those who want to try it please remember that you have to create symlinks as follow:
link libkdecore.so.4 to libkdecore.so.4.2.0

link libkdeui.so.4 to libkdeui.so.4.2.0

link libkio.so.4 to libkio.so.4.2.0

link libkdesu.so.4 to libkdesu.so.4.2.0

link libkwalletclient.so.1 to libkwalletclient.so.1.0.1

link libDCOP.so.4 to libDCOP.so.4.2.0

link libidn.so.11 to libidn.so.11.1.3

link libkdefx.so.4 to libkdefx.so.4.2.0

link /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3 to /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3.3.4

link /usr/x11r6link /lib/libGL.so.1 to /lib/libGL.so.1.2

link /usr/x11r6/lib/libXxf86vm.so.1 to /usr/x11r6/lib/libXxf86vm.so.1.0

so if the user have the basic kde installed I think the dotpup wouldn't be more than 800kb or so.

here is the zip file if you have time see what youcan do with it

http://d.turboupload.com/de/1081680/b1aowkfjtg.html

Thank youMark for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 14 Oct 2006, 11:30    Post_subject:  

ok thanks EZ Smile
Here is a dotpup. 3.5 MB, 11 MB extracted:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Internet/Kppp.pup

It does not include libqt-3.3.x, as you can install that with Pupget as a shared library used by other programs, too.

My dotpup extracts everything to /usr/local/Kppp, so there is no danger to overwrite something.

A startscript and menu-entry "Kppp" (with Big "K") is included.
It will display all potential errors, for example if libqt is not installed.
If you just see errors about DCOP, ignore them.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 08:32    Post_subject:  

I saw this thread and for heck of it installed Kppp. It connects fine, but wont unconnect. After connection it minimizes to tray and stays there, wont maximize again. Even if you kill it, the connection remains. Even if you run it in terminal and then kill the terminal.

I will say that I have been having problems with my connection going dead but not disconnecting with both GKdial and wvdial usually after a few minutes of being online. I would have to manually disconnect then reconnect. figured it was my isp playing games, but so far havent had the Kppp connection go dead on me but only used it one day so maybe my isp was having a good day. As to other fuctionality as a ppp gui frontend, personally think qtwvdial is more friendly and better mannered if you are going to have qt installed anyhow. Still nice to have lots of options and I will probably continue to use kppp if it continues to give relief from my connection problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 08:57    Post_subject:  

Embarassed My goof. I had option checked for kppp to dock into panel. Well it doesnt have KDE panel so that was causing weirdness. Unchecked that and works fine though be nice if somebody could mention how to not have to go through that error on startup about missing DCOP thing and that Kppp message thing when it disconnects. Those are just two more unnecessary things to click off. Reminds me of those annoying script errors in that other operating system. Oh well at least it disconnects cleanly now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0848s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]