Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 12 Dec 2019, 00:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BusterPup 8.0 CE (Beta-1)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
TiredPup


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Posts: 40
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2019, 14:42    Post subject:  

Quote:
TiredPup, would you please tell how you got all that information?


Open a terminal, type inxi -F.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2019, 15:33    Post subject:  

TiredPup wrote:
Quote:
TiredPup, would you please tell how you got all that information?

Open a terminal, type inxi -F.

Also, while in Pup-SysInfo, go to menu bar -> Sys-Apps -> Inxi

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 964
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2019, 15:57    Post subject:  

radky wrote:
I boot with legacy grub and only one pupsave, so nothing in the boot process seems unusal to me.

I think recent updates of Peebee's Disco Dingo include the updated init. Do you observe the same behavior in Disco Dingo?
When I boot with grub4dos from pendrive (legacy boot) I do not have any problem either. The boot messages come at the normal pace.
Is it something with efi/grub2 or the speed of ssd?

Disco Dingo 19.04+12 (good version?) is a different problem, same on efi/grub2 as on grub4dos:
If there is not yet a pupsave, the boot stops just before X.
So I have to boot nox on the first boot, then go to X in a second step, then make a pupsave on first shutdown.
After that, everything goes well, also with multiple pupsaves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 867
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2019, 17:09    Post subject:
Subject description: inxi !!
 

radky wrote:
TiredPup wrote:
Quote:
TiredPup, would you please tell how you got all that information?

Open a terminal, type inxi -F.

Also, while in Pup-SysInfo, go to menu bar -> Sys-Apps -> Inxi

THANKS, TiredPup and radky!
Quote:
System: Host: puppypc8744 Kernel: 4.19.56-buster i686 bits: 32 Desktop: JWM 2.3.7
Distro: Puppy 8.0
Machine: Type: Laptop System: Dell product: Latitude E6410 v: 0001 serial: BBSZSM1
Mobo: Dell model: 04373Y v: A03 serial: /BBSZSM1/CN1296112K0119/ BIOS: Dell v: A11
date: 11/30/2011
CPU: Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5 M 560 bits: 64 type: MT MCP
L2 cache: 3072 KiB
Speed: 1526 MHz min/max: 1199/2667 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1323 2: 1302 3: 1313
4: 1320
Graphics: Device-1: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics driver: i915 v: kernel
Display: server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
resolution: 1280x800~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Mobile x86/MMX/SSE2 v: 2.1 Mesa 18.3.6
Audio: Device-1: Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.56-buster
Network: Device-1: Intel 82577LM Gigabit Network driver: e1000e
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 5c:26:0a:3c:77:eb
Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 5c:ac:4c:75:28:12
IF-ID-1: tunl0 state: down mac: 00:00:00:00
Drives: Local Storage: total: 585.00 GiB used: 59.61 GiB (10.2%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Crucial model: M4-CT128M4SSD2 size: 119.24 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: HGST (Hitachi) model: HTS545050A7 size: 465.76 GiB
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 63.0 C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info: Processes: 142 Uptime: 2h 54m Memory: 3.73 GiB used: 1.02 GiB (27.3%) Shell: bash
inxi: 3.0.34

_________________
Dell E6410: BusterPup, Ermine, Xenial, etc
Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4455
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jul 2019, 02:55    Post subject:  

Radky:

I couldn't get wireless on Simplecom to work in BusterPup 8.0 CE (Beta-1).

I am posting from your lovely Dpup Stretch

with perdido's pet

rtl8812au_rtl8821au-4.3.20_k4.1.48

Working with Simplecom.

Explanation here...no reboot

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1008926#1008926

I had to give up Vodaphone after a fortnight because I had real problems in my area.

As the nbn IS STILL COMING I have decided
to ditch my Telstra landline also because it is S.........
and use my ALDI mobile hotsot....WINNER.

Hellstra >>>>Stuff them...dumbest ISP in OZ.
Scumbags, liars and total idiots.

I have had hell with the landline in the last 3 weeks...
tested 5 modems...when one works it then decides to go down...arghhh!
after a bit.

:::::::;

I also need this to work.

TP-LINK TL-WN725N wouldn't work either..

I found some discussion here.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1008926&sid=ae20fc30e042494541a309c95dd27334#1008926

I can't remember which pet worked for TP-LINK...sorry perdido.

Maybe

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1008399#1008399

or

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1008619#1008619


""""""""

I will give another try with Buster and just plug the usbs in...
one at a time fresh...reboot to try the other...no Saves...

if nothing works I will try the pets by perdido to see if I can get a result.

What I didn't do was

"

Both of perdido's pets work without a reboot needed for this Simplecom.

rtl8812au-5.1.5_k4.1.48.pet

rtl8812au_rtl8821au-4.3.20_k4.1.48.pet

for Simplecom NW601 Wireless USB

were tested by me twice -- booting in a pristine Stretch,

I Turned off the start screen.
Enabled firewall and
Next did the sound level
And I had no Lan cable in the desktop at bootup.

The usb device was not connected either.

I installed the above pet by perdido.
Different clean boots...different Pets to see if this method
worked each time for each file.

I did not Save and Reboot

Instead I hit ...Control -Alt - Backspace together
to go to the prompt.

Then I typed >>>> Xwin and hit >>> Enter

and came back to the desktop

I then plugged in the Simplecom wifi usb.

Then I Setup Networking >> Wired or Wireless

and Selected Frisbee

Which came up with Wireless networks showing very quickly

Added my password...and it took about 10 seconds to
be enabled and connected.

Thanks to all for the help....Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4455
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jul 2019, 04:06    Post subject:  

Solved for TP-LINK TL-WN725N does work.

Fresh boot....no saves....

I found it best to again boot to desktop...

Hit ...Control -Alt - Backspace together
to go to the prompt.

Then I typed >>>> Xwin and hit >>> Enter

and came back to the desktop

I then plugged in the Realtek wifi usb.

Then I Setup Networking >> Wired or Wireless

and Selected Frisbee

Which came up with Wireless networks showing very quickly

Added my password...and it took about 10 seconds to
be enabled and connected.

Thanks to all for the help....Now to try Simplecom.

Sorry for poor testing.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4455
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jul 2019, 00:58    Post subject:  

Just to confirm that Simplecom in Radky Buster Pup
will not connect.

Just to clarify..........
I downloaded your extra firmware when I downloaded the Buster ISO
and it shows up loading when booting.

I used
Simple Network setup
Network Wizard setup
and Frisbee

With either a my xwin restart cheat ....No reboot
or with a Save file and reboot.

All were tested on usb with seperate clean boots for all Simplecom Pet files.

::::

I tried all previous pets by Perdido that work in
DPup Stretch RC4.

Probably too different a Kernel change...but no matter,
give it a shot is my mantra.

I have not downloaded RC5 because of my Frail and Fail internet.

Pets tested were...

rtl8812au-5.1.5_k4.1.48.pet

rtl8812au_rtl8821au-4.3.20_k4.1.48.pet

rtl8812au_rtl8821au-4.3.20_k4.9.96.pet

:::::

In Radky Stretch they all work

with my cheatt xwin restart and only plugging in after reaching the desktop..so do not plug in beforehand or it fails.

They all want to load 8812au module in Network manager, however
I cancelled and just used Frisbee instead with success.

In Simple Network setup and the Network Wizard setup the wireless modules can be seen, however once again just try Frisbee as it just works.

Once aagain all were tested on usb with clean boots for all Simplecom Pet files and again my Cheat no reboot method worked well.


::::::

Ha! ha! posting with the Realtek wireless USB I wrongly whinged about
>>> TP-LINK TL-WN725N

Oops!!!!! Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry19662018

Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 653
Location: Rakaia

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jul 2019, 01:59    Post subject:  

For those with really old machines a series 3 kernel maybe better so here is one I made - it is a cutdown version add what you want.

https://archive.org/download/busterk3.14.0/Buster-k3.14.0.iso

_________________
Puppy Linux Wiki: http://wikka.puppylinux.com/HomePage

https://freemedia.neocities.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mfb

Joined: 22 Mar 2016
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jul 2019, 04:24    Post subject:  

Hi again radky.

My thanks as I report I'm now starting day 7 of full-time-use of your BusterPup 8.0 CE (Beta-1) with not the slightest hint of a hitch here.
anes018.gif
 Description   
 Filesize   37.24 KB
 Viewed   959 Time(s)

anes018.gif

screen shot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.32 KB
 Viewed   958 Time(s)

screen shot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jul 2019, 14:23    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Quote:
Just to confirm that Simplecom (NW601 Wireless adapter) in Radky Buster Pup will not connect.

@cthisbear,

As I recall, the Simplecom NW601 firmware is proprietary and forum member Perdido kindly compiled the required driver, which is available in his rtl8812au-5.1.5_k4.1.48.pet package.

For your convenience, I included Perdido's 8812au.ko driver in the zdrv of the stretch-7.5-uefi-k4.1.48.iso (/lib/modules/4.1.48/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/8812au.ko).

However, Perdido's 8812au.ko driver [compiled for k4.1.48] is not in the stretch-7.5-uefi-k4.19.X.iso, and is not included in BusterPup (sister of DpupStretch). I assume those releases would require an updated 8812au.ko driver for compatibility with the 4.19.X kernel.

Thanks for testing. Smile

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jul 2019, 14:35    Post subject:  

darry19662018 wrote,
Quote:
For those with really old machines a series 3 kernel maybe better so here is one I made.

Thanks! Smile

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jul 2019, 14:37    Post subject:  

mfb wrote,
Quote:
My thanks as I report I'm now starting day 7 of full-time-use of your BusterPup 8.0 CE (Beta-1) with not the slightest hint of a hitch here.

Thanks for the report! Smile

Beta-2 will contain updates and corrections, including adjustments of the 4.19.X kernel and important fixes in Woof-CE code.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4455
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jul 2019, 16:46    Post subject:  

" I assume those releases would require an updated 8812au.ko driver for compatibility with the 4.19.X kernel. "

radky: I thought that was the case.

Perdido might come around....who knows.

Thanks to both of you for the great work.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 867
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2019, 20:07    Post subject:
Subject description: foxpup's problem with text that comes just after grub..
 

radky (in part) wrote:
foxpup wrote (in part):
Quote:
I've noticed that the text that comes just after grub, from init I suppose, kicks in only after switch root...

I think recent updates of Peebee's Disco Dingo include the updated init. Do you observe the same behavior in Disco Dingo?
I just put Disco Dingo on the primary drive, did grub4dosconfig, and rebooted. All looked quite normal. I don't fully understand what foxpup was saying, sorry.
(This was on my usual Dell laptop E6410)
Code:

# ls -l /initrd/mnt/dev_save/dingo/
total 228848
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   1289947 Jul 13 17:04 initrd.gz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 203186176 Jul 13 17:07 puppy_upupdd_19.04.sfs
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   5528448 Mar 14 23:46 vmlinuz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  24334336 Mar 15 00:43 zdrv_upupdd_19.04.sfs

_________________
Dell E6410: BusterPup, Ermine, Xenial, etc
Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2019, 22:05    Post subject:  

sheldonisaac wrote:
Quote:
I just put Disco Dingo on the primary drive, did grub4dosconfig, and rebooted. All looked quite normal. I don't fully understand what foxpup was saying,

In BusterPup Beta-1, foxpup describes a normal boot sequence when he utilizes a pendrive and grub4dos with 'one' or 'multiple' pupsave files.

However, with recent iterations of the 4.19.X kernel, when foxpup boots his SSD drive (SAMSUNG MZYTY256) with EFI/grub2 and multiple pupsaves, the usual list of selectable pupsaves does not appear on screen, so no way to choose the desired pupsave file. He has no problem when booting with EFI/grub2 and one pupsave.

Interestingly, on his EFI/grub2 installation of BusterPup with multiple pupsaves, the list of selectable pupsaves appears as expected when he boots with the Dpup Stretch 4.9.X kernel (such as 4.9.149) or with older iterations of the 4.19.X kernel (such as 4.19.26).

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0924s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0222s) ][ GZIP on ]