Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 21 Aug 2019, 03:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Opera will not launch due to "insufficient priviledges."
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2036

PostPosted: Sun 12 May 2019, 20:42    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
s243a wrote:
I actually thought that the original poster wanted to run as root but regardless of how the original poster wants run run the browser it wouldn't be hard to included multiple startup and/or .desktop scripts/files.

In the pet version it would be easy for the original poster to modify the .desktop file if he/she wanted.


No, absolutely; not hard at all. Oscar does this very same thing in some of his recent 'clone' packages.

The 'wrapper-script' that's needed to start these Chromium-based browsers contains a 'run-as-root' section, and a 'run-as-spot' section. You merely comment/comment out the section that you do (or don't) want to use.

Easy enough to do, though it's easier for Oscar to do this, since he primarily runs 32-bit hardware. With the 64-bit versions, it's 'run-as-spot' or nothing, since they mostly refuse to run any other way.....with the odd exception, like Opera (as I've discovered).

(I'm not entirely sure how old a version of Chromium this release of Opera is based on, since the insistence on 'running as a user' came in round about Chromium 62/63.....and we're now up to 74.)


Mike. Wink


Opera is running as root for my on TazPup64 and I recently downloaded the latest version (.deb) from their website.

_________________
Find me on minds and on pearltrees.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12452
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 12 May 2019, 23:25    Post subject:  

Quote:
If I opt for the .pet package, I think that after downloading it, all I have to do is open it and it will install itself in the proper place. Am I right? But what about the .sfs package? How should this be handled?

You only need one of them.
They are just two different ways of installing a program into Puppy Linux.

The pet will install Opera.
In Rox file manager, left click on the pet and it will install.
It becomes part of the Puppy file system, well until you choose to uninstall it.

The Opera sfs package will work if you have xenialpup64 as a frugal install.
Place the Opera sfs package in /mnt/home location.
Run SFS-load-on-the-fly program
Select the Opera sfs
Select load
It will load and put a menu entry in menu>Internet
select unload to remove it.

SFS packages do not actually install. They load or unload into Puppies layered file system.
The SFS-load-on-the-fly program gives you control of what package does what.
If a sfs package is set to load. It will auto load on next boot up.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Mon 13 May 2019, 17:55    Post subject:  

Mike,

The .sfs file has been duly spotted in your Drive. So, after your latest input, my task now becomes to
Quote:
D/load the SFS package, load it in, and it should fire up from the Menu entry

With the downloading completed, I turned my attention to "load it in." Alas, past experience on such matters is non-existent as I have never dealt with .sfs files before. Running a search on what an .sfs file is and how to load it left me rather confused due to the multiplicity of options mentioned and their dependency on the type of puppy installation. With respect to the latter, I have always run puppy as a (remastered) live CD and I do not intend to change it because of the high degree of security it affords. Consequently, I would appreciate some help with respect to how/where to load the .sfs file and how to activate/deactivate it as needed. Should it be necessary to work with the .sfs file from the command line, it would be OK since I am reasonably familiar with it. Conversely if you could point out any concise info regarding how to carry out the above, it would help as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12452
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 13 May 2019, 21:29    Post subject:  

Did you not read my last post?

For SFS-load-on-the-fly operation.

If booting from a live CD.
The sfs package has to be stored someplace.
If you have made a save and the save is on hard drive, flash drive, etc....
Place the sfs package at the same location as the save.

Not sure about this one. Things may have changed.
If booting the live CD with no save.
The sfs package will need to be on the CD.
As it boots, It should get loaded with the other Puppy sfs packages on the CD.

You may be able to manually load the sfs package by using a terminal command line.

Sfs_load can also be run from command line. Type 'sfs_load --help' from the terminal to get the usage.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5267
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 14 May 2019, 05:28    Post subject:  

@ kpfuser/bigpup:-

I've just done this. Running with "pfix=ram" to simulate a pristine boot (same as a LiveCD), do the following:-

Copy the SFS to /root. (Use the 'Files' icon on the desktop to open the user directory; copy the SFS to here.)

Right-click, select 'sfs_load'. After a few seconds, it'll bring up a window, telling you it needs to be copied, with a selection box to choose the location. Hit the 'drop-down', then you want the last entry, 'NO COPY'.

The next window says it's temporary, and will be unloaded on next boot. 'RUN' or 'QUIT'?

Posting from it now.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Tue 14 May 2019, 17:43    Post subject:  

OK gentlemen,

The latest instructions did it. Now opera is loading/launching as described.

Thank you very much for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5267
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 14 May 2019, 17:53    Post subject:  

kpfuser wrote:
OK gentlemen,

The latest instructions did it. Now opera is loading/launching as described.

Thank you very much for your help!


Glad to hear it..! You're very welcome.

SFS packages have multiple advantages, once you get the hang of them.....not least being the ability to upgrade an app/program, 'on-the-fly', in the middle of a session, without needing to re-boot/restart 'X', or anything like that.....

They're really one of Puppy's 'secret weapons'..! Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0502s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]