Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 24 Aug 2019, 00:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Samba is ignoring my configuration!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
][V][

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2019, 21:47    Post subject:  Samba is ignoring my configuration!  

Hi everyone,

could someone please help me to find out if I am doing something wrong or something is wrong with "puppy bionic" and also "puppy disco"

For years I have been using puppy on an old machine (5,6.05,7.5) for a simple use, just as an server,

I have a samba configuration that was working just fine, but 2 weeks ago I wanted to try "bionic",

every thing seemed to be working fine except for 2 things,

one of them is not really important to me ("mplayer" seems not to save configuration and with every start comes with some sort of default configuration)

the other one is "samba", having exactly the same problem, I use the same configuration that was working just fine with other versions of puppy but "bionic and disco" for some reason will not keep my configuration and always uses the default "smb.conf"

This is my configuration that was working for years up to now,

smb.conf:
================================================
#this is a very simple smb.conf to get you started

#coutesy rcrsn51 and gcmartin

[global]

workgroup = WORKGROUP

netbios name = Dell

server string = Puppy Samba Server

hosts allow = ?.?.?.?/255.255.255.0, ?.?.?.?/255.255.255.0

hosts deny = 0.0.0.0/0

security = user

map to guest = Bad User

name resolve order = bcast hosts wins

include = /etc/samba/smbshared.conf