Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Jun 2019, 02:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Why can't Firefox playback half of YT videos?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [60 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2936
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2019, 06:44    Post subject:  

I use Seamonkey 2.48 with Tahr605.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
a_salty_dogg


Joined: 15 Dec 2013
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2019, 19:07    Post subject:  

@ nubc

There's also a (more recent?) "ffmpeg-3.2.2-32bit-static.pet", built by rockedge and available from him via the first post in this thread.

All needed dependencies are downloaded during the installation and it worked for me OOTB in both Tahr 6.0 and in Mikeslr's wonderful Tahr 6.06.

(Though of course, as Mike Walsh cautions above "Mind you, that's not to say it'll work for anybody else..." Wink )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2936
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2019, 20:30    Post subject:  

The answer to the user's problem is probably VP codec (html5/webm) related. Older youtube videos were encoded with VP8 codec whilst newer ones are encoded with VP9/10 codecs. Older ffmpeg packages did not include the VP9/10 codec so yes, updating the ffmpeg package will probably sort out the problem.
BTW - There is always an alternative way of doing things. Most (if not all) youtube videos are also encoded to the mp4 format. You can either stream or download a video using its mp4 download link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1291
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2019, 18:16    Post subject:  

Probably some issues are incorporated by google itself to sabotage firefox.
Toward the bottom of the article youtube and google are accused of sabotage.,

Former Mozilla exec: Google has sabotaged Firefox for years
"Not the first accusations

And Nightingale is not the first Firefox team member to come forward and make such accusations. In July 2018, Mozilla Program Manager Chris Peterson accused Google of intentionally slowing down YouTube performance on Firefox.

He revealed that both Firefox and Edge were superior when loading YouTube content when compared to Chrome, and in order to counteract this performance issue, Google switched to using a JavaScript library for YouTube that they knew wasn't supported by Firefox.

YouTube page load is 5x slower in Firefox and Edge than in Chrome because YouTube's Polymer redesign relies on the deprecated Shadow DOM v0 API only implemented in Chrome. You can restore YouTube's faster pre-Polymer design with this Firefox extension: https://t.co/F5uEn3iMLR
— Chris Peterson (@cpeterso) July 24, 2018

At this point, it's very hard not to believe or take Nightingale's comments seriously. Slowly but surely, Google is becoming the new Microsoft, and Chrome is slowly turning into the new IE, an opinion that more and more users are starting to share [1, 2, 3].

Reminds me of the time Microsoft used private APIs to make IE better. Google is the new Microsoft. The tables have turned :p
— Federico Ramirez (@gosukiwi) July 24, 2018"

And don't forget, google is your friend.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2030
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:01    Post subject:  

8Geee wrote:
What video chip-set in the computer are you using? i915, radeon, etc. Pup Sys-Info will find name.
8Geee


Looks like 915G

I already have ffmpeg installed. Before I checked, I installed ffmpeg 3.2.2 32-bit static, but I don't know where it installed.

Last edited by nubc on Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:08    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
8Geee wrote:
What video chip-set in the computer are you using? i915, radeon, etc. Pup Sys-Info will find name.
8Geee


Looks like 915G

I already have ffmpeg installed. Before I checked I installed ffmpeg 3.2 static, but I don't know where it installed.


If you installed it via the puppy package manager you can find the list of files for ffmpeg in /root/.packages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2030
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:20    Post subject:  

s243a wrote:
nubc wrote:
8Geee wrote:
What video chip-set in the computer are you using? i915, radeon, etc. Pup Sys-Info will find name.
8Geee


Looks like 915G

I already have ffmpeg installed. Before I checked I installed ffmpeg 3.2 static, but I don't know where it installed.


If you installed it via the puppy package manager you can find the list of files for ffmpeg in /root/.packages


It's not clear which version you suggest is listed, but ffmpeg 3.2.2 32bit static is listed in /root/.packages. PPM shows ffmpeg 2.2.9 i686 as "found package." PPM also shows ffmpeg 3.2.2 as "installed package," and recommends not to do that.

Last edited by nubc on Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:32; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5069
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:28    Post subject:  

@ nubc:-

Look in /usr/bin. You should find ffmpeg and its associated binaries in there.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2030
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:35    Post subject:  

Properties of ffmpeg in usr/bin show 33 MB and this text
Quote:
ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (GNU/Linux), statically linked, for GNU/Linux 2.6.32, from '4@%esi 4@%edi', stripped

I don't know what the associated binaries are, but I made the symlink to avconv. I tried a YT video and got the HTML5 error. Maybe I need to reboot. Or maybe I need to uninstall both ffmpeg, and reinstall 3.2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 20:59    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Properties of ffmpeg in usr/bin show 33 MB and this text
Quote:
ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (GNU/Linux), statically linked, for GNU/Linux 2.6.32, from '4@%esi 4@%edi', stripped

I don't know what the associated binaries are, but I made the symlink to avconv. I tried a YT video and got the HTML5 error. Maybe I need to reboot. Or maybe I need to uninstall both ffmpeg, and reinstall 3.2.2


I found the following (but it's a 2016 thread)"
Code:

Create a symbolic link libavcodec-ffmpeg.so.56 -> libavcodec.so.56 ?

[SOLVED] Firefox 49, no H.264 support @ forums.gentoo.org
but you can probably apply the same principle if you know what version of ffmpeg firefox is looking for.

If you let us know which version of firefox you're using then maybe we can figure it out. However, I will point out that the version of ffmpeg your using must be compiled with H.264 support. As an alternative to the ffmpeg approach apparently this codecs can also be found in the plex media server but I would take the ffmpeg approach.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2030
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 21:37    Post subject:  

I ran ffmpeg from terminal and got version 3.2.2-static

I searched for libavcodec.so.56, libavcodec.so.57, libavcodec-ffmpeg.so.56, and libavcodec-ffmpeg.so.57 but apparently they do not exist on my system. I do find libavcodec.so.54

Code:
root# ffmpeg
ffmpeg version 3.2.2-static http://johnvansickle.com/ffmpeg/  Copyright (c) 2000-2016 the FFmpeg developers
  built with gcc 5.4.1 (Debian 5.4.1-3) 20161019
  configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-static --disable-debug --disable-ffplay --disable-indev=sndio --disable-outdev=sndio --cc=gcc-5 --enable-fontconfig --enable-frei0r --enable-gnutls --enable-gray --enable-libass --enable-libfreetype --enable-libfribidi --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --enable-librtmp --enable-libsoxr --enable-libspeex --enable-libtheora --enable-libvidstab --enable-libvo-amrwbenc --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libx265 --enable-libxvid --enable-libzimg
  libavutil      55. 34.100 / 55. 34.100
  libavcodec     57. 64.101 / 57. 64.101
  libavformat    57. 56.100 / 57. 56.100
  libavdevice    57.  1.100 / 57.  1.100
  libavfilter     6. 65.100 /  6. 65.100
  libswscale      4.  2.100 /  4.  2.100
  libswresample   2.  3.100 /  2.  3.100
  libpostproc    54.  1.100 / 54.  1.100
Hyper fast Audio and Video encoder
usage: ffmpeg [options] [[infile options] -i infile]... {[outfile options] outfile}...

Use -h to get full help or, even better, run 'man ffmpeg'
root#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2019, 03:18    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
I ran ffmpeg from terminal and got version 3.2.2-static

I searched for libavcodec.so.56, libavcodec.so.57, libavcodec-ffmpeg.so.56, and libavcodec-ffmpeg.so.57 but apparently they do not exist on my system. I do find libavcodec.so.54

Maybe try a newer version of this lib (part of ffmpeg) such as libavcodec-extra58 or if using an earlier version make sure they are the "-extra" version. I found these libs by looking at the dependencies for firefox at https://packages.debian.org/sid/firefox

Edit 1 If you have libavcodec.so.57 on your system then my guess is the extra version from strech should be compatable with your system.
https://packages.debian.org/stretch/libavcodec-extra57

I can verify that all youtube html video formats work on dpup strech because I use firefox on dpup strech; so therefore this version should be new enough. The version of libavcodec.so.57 that you have on your system might not be compiled with all the html5 video codecs. Also note that I might be using an older version of firefox than you so I can't guarantee this verson of the codec is new enough.

Edit 2 To find even oder versions of libavcodec-extra look at the bottom right of the page where it says "similar packages"

Edit 3 I worry that if you have multiple versons of this file on your system that firefox might not find the right one. Consider removing all but the one from libavcodec-extra57 or altenativly either use LD_PRELOAD or a modified LD_LIBRARY_PATH at firefox startup to make sure it finds the right version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2030
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2019, 06:16    Post subject:  

@ s243a
As I said above, a search of my system files does not find libavcodec.so.57. How can I remove it if I can't even find it? Okay, what if I download extra57, what do I do with it?

@nic007
Do you imply that Seamonkey 2.48 can playback HTML5 videos?

@666philb & mikeslr
Why am I the guinea pig (again)? Shouldn't the developer of Tahrpup be the guinea pig? Although it's a community edition, the Ubuntu variant is a main branch of Puppy. I don't think it's expecting too much that a Puppy be able to play Youtube videos. Pale Moon is obsolete before it is published. How does that happen?

Last edited by nubc on Fri 19 Apr 2019, 08:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2936
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2019, 08:24    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
@ s243a
As I said above, a search of my system files does not find libavcodec.so.57. Okay, what if I download extra57, what do I do with it?

@nic007
Do you imply that Seamonkey 2.48 can playback HTML5 videos?

@666philb & mikeslr
Why am I the guinea pig (again)? Shouldn't the developer of Tahrpup be the guinea pig? Although it's a community edition, the Ubuntu variant is a main branch of Puppy. I don't think it's expecting too much that a Puppy be able to play Youtube videos. Pale Moon is obsolete before it is published. How does that happen?


When you click on a youtube link in your browser a new youtube page opens with their embedded html5 player playing the video via streaming. My understanding is that this is independant from which encoders (if any) may be installed on your machine as long as your browser is new enough. When you are not using their embedded player you need the codecs. I may be totally wrong though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2030
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2019, 09:19    Post subject:  

Installing libavcodec-extra57 may have fixed it. I haven't encountered the error so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [60 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0522s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]