Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Nov 2019, 13:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Anyone still use DSL? [Closed]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1531
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 11:49    Post subject:  Anyone still use DSL? [Closed]  

I got asked the other day if anyone in the world still uses DSL (Dialup).

So I thought i'd ask here?

Last edited by scsijon on Sun 07 Apr 2019, 13:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6988
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 12:59    Post subject:  

Eh?
Doesn't DSL=broadband, so the opposite of dialup, surely?

_________________
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3585
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 14:46    Post subject:  

DSL is digital subscriber line, which the vast majority of telephone systems are nowadays.
There are two usual ways of using those lines. One is a permanently connected line (or ALWAYS ON) which is what tends to be called broadband - though strictly speaking that term refers to the data transfer. The other is DIAL UP which uses the same sort of line, but is not permanently connected.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5624
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 15:38    Post subject:  

I believe there are rural areas where dialup is still used. I have heard that there is a company that has a system in rural NZ where the users url request is sent to the server via dialup but the data is received via satellite dish.

So outgoing data is dialup and incoming data is radio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3585
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 15:46    Post subject:  

There are all sorts of combinations of connections. - in all sorts of places.
My Sky connection is a combination where the uploads are via the standard phone line, but downloads are via satellite.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 18:37    Post subject:  

I use Asynchronous DSL (ADSL), which certainly works over copper telephone lines to the exchange, but it is a very different beast than the 56Kbps dialup I used to use until around 2010...

http://www.plugthingsin.com/internet/dsl/

Mind you, my rural ADSL connection is rubbish slow generally anyway.

wiak

_________________
Tiny Linux Blog: http://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
tinycore/slitaz: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990130#990130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1282
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 14:19    Post subject:  

Yes!
And I am surrounded by fiber optic broadband.....DSL works for me and it is cheaper by far per month

Last edited by rockedge on Thu 04 Apr 2019, 17:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2088
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 20:24    Post subject:  

I used to have ADSL for many years at a 3Mb speed. But in the last few years ATT dumped the whole state of CT, and Frontier picked it up. ATT/CT was probably the worst-maintained state in the Union. It is not truly urban, but close to importannt business centers such as BoS & NYC. They refused direct fiber, and let their copper lines go unimproved/unmaintained/unreplaced for 40+ years. Ax such the copper lines are noisy, and even basic landline has static. Horrible. Had to go to semi-fiber (fibre to the box... such box about 1mi of wire away) that gets about 12Mb/sec. But, originally, by ATT, landline MUST exist. This year, thatrequirement was dropped due to high additioonal cost for essentially an unused service. It took a lot of bitchin and writing, but done. And people are dropping landline like a turd. With the savings, bumping up the speed a bit. (If you live within 300 yards/meters (1000 feet) of the box... 30Mb/sec).

I liked ADSL, it was cheaper, and didn't need a phone. U-Verse w/o phone is better speed at same price $20/mon.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3585
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2019, 06:53    Post subject:  

My ADSL is fibre to the cabinet, which is well over half a mile away, and copper to the premises. I'm lucky to get 6mbs on a cold day.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1955
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2019, 14:36    Post subject:  

Just curious:
I don't have DSL, but try to maintain the networking tools. A long time ago I added support for DSL to Frisbee but could never test it completely.

How do each of you access DSL from puppy?

Are there any tools I should look at to make them work better, or at all? I would need your help in testing any fix.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fabrice_035


Joined: 28 Apr 2014
Posts: 644
Location: Bretagne / France

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2019, 16:22    Post subject:  

xDSL (adsl/vdsl) or Fiber acces, it doesn't matter because the computer is connected to the box (this is a router) via wifi or ethernet.

A few years ago there was just an adsl modem but now everyone uses a router.

Example of an old adsl modem
http://frederic.bezies.free.fr/blog/?p=10394

(need send login/passord to connect, like analogic modem)

At the moment in France :

https://blog.ariase.com/box/dossiers/livebox4-orange-2016



Et beaucoup d'autres / and many others Cool

https://www.google.com/search?q=les+differentes+box+internet&source=lnms&tbm=isch

_________________
xenialpup 7.5 / Linux Kernel: 4.4.95 / Window Manager: JWM v2.3.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1955
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2019, 12:14    Post subject:  

Thank you for confirming that support for DSL modems is probably no longer needed. But I will leave it in Frisbee, for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1289
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 06 Apr 2019, 23:34    Post subject:  

We use DSL. There is a wireless DSL router/modem and copper lines. We get average 400 kb/sec download 100 kb/sec upload. The phone lines are used. It does not affect voice telephoning, and they are in use simultaneously with no problem. This isn't like the old dialup modems.

The wireless router appears no different on the LAN side than any other type of router. I don't know that it needs any special kind of support from Frisbee.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
Acer R11 Chromebook no pup
1999 Thinkpad 600e Lupu 528
Acer Iconia A1-830 tablet no pup
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1531
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 07 Apr 2019, 13:03    Post subject:  

@vtpup That is I think by your explanation, what we call in australia adsl and has?is being phased out here.

@all, I did say I was talking about dialup dsl, and from those who answered it confirms it's nearly gone which is what I answered at the time. I suppose, now i'll have a heap of replies saying it's here and here, but i'll marked the topic closed anyway.

To everyone who replied, thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1094s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0256s) ][ GZIP on ]