Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Nov 2019, 08:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Grub4dos problem
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 131
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 15:43    Post subject:  Grub4dos problem  

I installed xenialpup64-7.5 on a machine that already had MX-17 installed on another drive/partition. Puppy boots just fine, but if I try to boot MX-17, I get the following error message:

"Error 22: No such partition found"

Here is the menu.lst file that xenialpup generated:

Code:


# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.9.2
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
#splashimage=/splash.xpm
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy

title Puppy xenialpup64 7.5 (sdb1/xenialpup647.5frugal)
  uuid acc8ebc4-d8fa-47aa-badc-b8b65d66197c
  kernel /xenialpup647.5frugal/vmlinuz   psubdir=xenialpup647.5frugal pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
  initrd /xenialpup647.5frugal/initrd.gz

# Full installed Linux

title MX 17 Horizon (sda11/boot)
  uuid 7f7ce203-070f-4ea5-a001-66fa8e547287
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.0-1-amd64 root=/dev/sda11 ro
  initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.15.0-1-amd64

# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
  map (hd1) (hd0)
  map (hd0) (hd1)
  map --hook
  errorcheck off
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /bootmgr
  chainloader /bootmgr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /ntldr
  chainloader /ntldr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd   /io.sys
  chainloader /io.sys
  errorcheck on

# Advanced Menu
title Advanced menu
  configfile /menu-advanced.lst
  commandline


Can anyone familiar with grub4dos steer me in the right direction to fix this? (The uuid for /dev/sda11 is correct.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 972
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 16:45    Post subject:  

Not entirely sure, but maybe lose the 'root=/dev/sda11' bit, and try 'bdev=sda11' instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 131
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 17:09    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
Not entirely sure, but maybe lose the 'root=/dev/sda11' bit, and try 'bdev=sda11' instead.


Thanks for trying to help! Unfortunately, it made no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 972
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 17:37    Post subject:  

Only other things I can think of is to try 'rootnoverify (hd0,10)' instead of the blkid, and I found that antiX uses 'buuid' instead of just 'uuid'. The root=/dev/sda11 looks to be right, so maybe it is down to the first line.
It's been a while since I tried MX so this is guesswork.
Fredx181 or another of the DebianDoggers will probably be able to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrDuckGuy


Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 106
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 21:39    Post subject: Re: Grub4dos problem  

WoodLark wrote:
... trying to help! Unfortunately, ...
--- E D I T ---
OK, I did a little digging, and in another computer I have
a combination setup with several "full" installations
combined with several "frugal" installations. I had an
issue with some of the installs disappearing, as you
are now having. The issue no longer occurs, I added
a few commands that might have fixed it.

Here is a line of code that I would suggest you try:

#root (hd0,0) <-- GRUB legacy, ex: (hd1,0)

I found this in another discussion on this topic:
Full installs not booting with Grub4dos
generated menu entry
. Here is coded
example from the thread:
Code:
title Puppy Linux working - xenialpup64 7.5 full install in sdc5
#root (hd0,0) <-- GRUB legacy, ex: (hd1,0)
uuid 19b0847a-549d-49c9-8c98-25af56f1d0ee
kernel /boot/vmlinuz fullinstall root=UUID=19b0847a-549d-49c9-8c98-25af56f1d0ee pmedia=atahd
#                                root=/dev/sdc5
initrd /boot/initrd.gz   
Let's crack this problem! Hopefully you're on your
way to doing just that. Good luck with it! B'H.

==============================

I hope this is of some help. I have several frugal OSs
installed on a flash drive, with three partitions.

I recently had to edit menu.lst because I transfered the
frugal folders from one partition to another. So I had
to replace every instance of "SD1" with "SD2."

Then when I was ready to transfer the folders back
to the original SD1 partition, when I re-edited menu.lst
I made a mistake when saving it, and saved it to the
backup file.

The menu came up with the incorrect path for every
frugal folder. They all still booted, with the pathway
information pointing to an empty partition.

So, I don't know if your uuid makes all that much
difference, I think there's another command you put
to tell Grub4DOS to find your install.

I'll try to look it up and update this post.

Hope this helped. Kelikaku B'H.
grub4dos-splashscreen000.png
 Description   Splash screen setup for Grub4DOS.
Anyone tried this yet? B'H.
 Filesize   193.99 KB
 Viewed   405 Time(s)

grub4dos-splashscreen000.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 131
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2019, 10:29    Post subject:  

I tried the suggestions in the previous post, and they had no effect.

However, it got me thinking; I realized I had overlooked what may be the root cause of the problem:

/dev/sdb (which is where grub4dos is located) is a 1TB drive with MBR partition table and boot sector.

/dev/sda (where MX-17 is located) is a 4TB drive and has a GPT partition table.

Could it be that grub4dos simply can not find the partition containing MX-17? Again, if this is the case, I haven't got a clue how to fix it (or if it can be fixed).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1278

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2019, 10:55    Post subject:  

Check if UUID is correct :
# blkid /dev/sda11
it shoud give the correct UUID

You can try these 2 solutions to see which one works ?

title MX 17 Horizon (sda11/boot)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.0-1-amd64 root=/dev/sda11
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.15.0-1-amd64

title MX 17 Horizon (sda11/boot)
uuid .....correct UUID here...
kernel /boot/vmlinuz fullinstall root=UUID=.....correct UUID here...
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.15.0-1-amd64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 972
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2019, 15:00    Post subject:  

Maybe 'root (hd1,10)' on the first line, as the drive is a secondary one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 131
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 08:55    Post subject:  

It looks like I owe everyone an apology. I have another computer which has exactly the same setup, including the same menu.lst. The full install boots perfectly on that computer, so I can only conclude that the boot sector on /dev/sda has become damaged somehow. Unless I can repair that, nothing I change in menu.lst is going to make any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 962
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 16:13    Post subject:  

WoodLark wrote:
I have another computer which has exactly the same setup, including the same menu.lst.
You did change the uuid, didn't you?
They will be different on different machines, even when the setup is the same.
Quote:
The full install boots perfectly on that computer, so I can only conclude that the boot sector on /dev/sda has become damaged somehow.
I don't think so.
There is no boot sector on gpt; gpt uses boot partitions.
I don't think you boot from sda anyway, you boot from sdb with grub4dos.

What filesystem is sda11? Could it be ext4 64bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 962
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 16:45    Post subject:  

Try using the uuid instead of /dev/sda11:
Code:
title MX 17 Horizon (sda11/boot)
  uuid 7f7ce203-070f-4ea5-a001-66fa8e547287
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.0-1-amd64 root=UUID=7f7ce203-070f-4ea5-a001-66fa8e547287 ro
  initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.15.0-1-amd64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3624

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 18:27    Post subject:  

uuid's can change. Perhaps use something like ...

find --set-root /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.0-1-amd64
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.0-1-amd64
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.15.0-1-amd64

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 131
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 15:09    Post subject:  

foxpup,

I had already tried what you suggested. No luck!

rufwoof,

I tried your method. It failed too, but with a "file not found" message.

So far, the only way I have been able to get MX to boot is to change the boot order in the bios so that it boots off /dev/sda.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 962
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Fri 22 Mar 2019, 08:29    Post subject:  

What bootloader is on sda? Grub2?
You can look for grub.cfg for inspiration.

But again this little question:
Quote:
What filesystem is sda11? Could it be ext4 64bit?

Grub2 can handle ext4 64bit, but grub4dos cannot.
Recent linuxes may create this ext4 64bit partition to install on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4159
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 22 Mar 2019, 11:57    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
Grub2 can handle ext4 64bit, but grub4dos cannot.
Recent linuxes may create this ext4 64bit partition to install on.


Sure, if you chose to format the partition during install.

@WoodLark See here for more info and solution:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111376

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0633s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]